We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Marquis of Westminster
Ranked #1,305 of 25,017 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Pimlico
Description: Independently owned & managed pub The Marquis of Westminster reopened in February 2013 following a complete refurbishment. Often described as Pimlico’s village pub, The Marquis is back to doing what we do best, traditional home made British food including wonderful world famous fish and chips, sausages & mash, Sunday roasts and burgers! With a pub, a fantastic restaurant and one of the best function rooms in London, we have created a super-pub, which still has the feel of a British local. Local Pimlican Christopher Hayes bought The Marquis from family friends and re-opened it in June 2006; his parents and grandparents were also pub owners in Pimlico at The Coach and Horses, so Chris is proudly continuing this family tradition in the local area. Together we have grown the business so that it now features well on Trip Advisor’s places to eat in London. For those that have not been here before, the people have spoken so come see what we are up to and why many believe us to be London’s best pub. Whether its a pint of ale, traditional British pub food, or an awesome party we have something for everyone!
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Super friendly staff in this nice pub. Unfortunately when we arrived, they were out of fish and chips, chicken, and sausage and mash. As a tourist I was hoping to try one of those but instead ordered a cheeseburger. Meat was juicy and had a great grill/char on it. Would like to go back to try the fish and chips some day.

Thank Anitajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Marquis o, General Manager at Marquis of Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you very much, Anita.
We hope to have you back soon for our wonderful fish and chips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

While staying at a nearby hotel we were looking for a local pub/restaurant for an evening meal. We found the Marquis through the Internet and made an online booking for the upstairs restaurant.
On arrival we quickly checked in and as we arrived early evening there was a choice of tables. Drinks order was soon taken and we were then left to chose four meals from the menu. We were quite boring as three of us opted for Haddock and chips and also a flat iron steak. Drinks were a bottle of wine, soft drink and a Guiness.
When the meals were brought to our table they had been freshly prepared and hot (no complaints there) All the meals were excellent and absolutely no complaints.
The restaurant quickly filled up and we were glad to have pre booked a table.
There were three girls looking after everybody and although they were rushed off their feet they did a great job.
I have to paricularly mention a young Italian girl who was really friendly, had time for a quick chat and a great ambassador for the restaurant. I am sure the other two were just as good but they were doing other jobs.
The total cost was about £95 including a tip so quite good for the location we were in.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Marquis o, General Manager at Marquis of Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Many thanks for the glowing review, Tim!
We hope to see you soon again.

The Marquis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Friday for drinks with a friend. Was full with nice ambiance. We only had fried chicken wings with fries which was ok.

Thank Jued12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Marquis o, Owner at Marquis of Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Usually pub food in England is a fairly safe option. To be fair the service was fine and attentive but the food was below average even for British pub standard. The bangers was too soft and lacked firmness. The whole dish was also too saltish. Had the sticky date pudding but did not even finish the pudding as the base was too hard. Looks like it was a frozen pudding that was microwaved insufficiently. The cider on tap was excellent though. Reasonable prices.

Would recommend only for drinks but not for a meal.

Thank Sydsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Marquis o, Manager at Marquis of Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Sausage and mash is one of our faves here at The Marquis, we're sorry to hear that it wasn't your cup of tea. Next time you come in for a couple of ciders then maybe try something else from the menu, the fish and chips is really nice. All of our food is made fresh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Don’t let this neighborhood style pub and restaurant fool you. Full bar/pub on the ground floor. The dining room is accessed via a circular winding staircase that was easy climbing ( even with my granddaughter on my shoulders.
The limited depth of the menu is more the overcome by the presentation of very tasty.
Wait staff is both knowledgeable and eager to please. Best of all the prices are the best around.

Thank sailme88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Marquis o, Manager at Marquis of Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi there, thanks for visiting us and thanks for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marquis of Westminster also viewed

 

Been to Marquis of Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing