We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No.8 Hostel Willesden
Ranked #285 of 948 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 9 December 2016

There's a bar with special offers, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, and the place is roasting hot because of the heaters everywhere. All that for a flipping fiver - amazing considering this is London really. Decent budget choice all in all.

Room Tip: I was in the big dorm so can't say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2016

I always find it amusing when people claim to have stayed in hostels around the world and then give a bad review because the other guests in the room were noisy or there was hair in the shower....
Anyway, I stayed in a private room due to working night shifts, so I just needed a bed for a couple days.

This hostel seems to double up as social housing for the less fortunate but despite there being a bit of bartering going on with interesting characters at reception the hotel was quiet and I slept well.
The sheets needed changing and there was a dirty bowl in my room on check in but the girl changed it immediately when I told her.
The bed is a bit like a child's cot and the room feels a little bit like a prison cell but I had no intention of entertaining guests in the room.
The bathrooms were fairly modern and always clean.
It's not a great part of London but you're so close to the tube that it doesn't matter.

It's a decent price for London and i can't comment on the dormitories or nightlife in the building but if you're just looking for a good sleep it really does do the job at an affordable price.
Be sensible and don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank adamshaw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

It's a cheap hostel, the building is from the Victorian era.
I've been sleeping there for a week and it's totally worth its price:

It's not at the very center of London, but you can get to Baker Street station in a few tube stations, so in my opinion location it's not that bad. There is a really nice pub in the ground floor where you can hang out with the nice people of the hostel!

However, my room didn't have the heating system on and it was very cold. A roomate tried to speak to reception about the matter and they just offered him another room to stay.

In my opinion, it's a good option to have some cheap place in London to sleep if your plan is to spend a lot of time outside in the city.

Room Tip: As long as you can afford another room, try not to book the 20 bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I've been here for 3 days and after reading the reviews I expected the worst. I paid 12£ for 2 nights without the key deposit. For this price it could not have been better. Really friendly staff and you even had your own bathrooms,no shared shower rooms which I liked.
It's pretty close to the city center so that was great as well.

The only thing that could be better is that there are only two bathrooms per floor which is not really much.

I saw way dirtier hostels,if you expect to stay in a 3* resort you shouldn't come there but if you look at the price the facility was definitely clean.
I would come again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

relaxing clean great facilities defo stay her again well recommended good customer service plus bar downstairs decent price.
plus they show sports very friendly good music and also shops are very close

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank eellalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,077 in London
143 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#140 of 948 in London
296 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#61 of 948 in London
2,191 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 948 in London
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.8 Hostel Willesden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.8 Hostel Willesden

Address: 305 High Road | Willesden, London NW10 2JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 948 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $18 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.8 is a Unique Brand of Hostels developed and delicately integrated within Traditional Old English Pubs. For Facilities, Customer Service & Affordability it must be No.8! At No.8 we take pride in our Customer Service and ensure that all of our Guests get everything they want from their time in London. We are a Youth Backpackers Hostel and cater exclusively for 18-38 yr old backpackers, Photo IDs will be required on Check In. We have Live Entertainment on Weekends within our Traditional English Pub, along with the usual range of pub entertainment and banter! - Free High-Speed WiFi - Full Facility Kitchen, Dining Space & Outdoor Deck - Secure Storage Facilities & 24 Hr Key Card Access - Laundry Facilities (Wash & Dry) - Large Lounge - Pool Table, Foosball, Chess Table, Couches, Satellite TV & Darts Board etc - Traditional English Pub & Beer Garden - Live Entertainment on Weekends! - Free Cancellation on All Bookings prior to Arrival - Reception: Sunday-Thursday 8am-12.00am and Friday-Saturday 8am-2am - Backpackers Hostel for 18-38 year olds only - ID on Check In Required. - £20 Key Deposit (Fully Refunded On Check-Out) Whether it is your first time in London or you are a seasoned traveller, No.8 has everything you need (and a few extras) to ensure that your stay in London is definitely Enjoyable & Comfortable! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing