We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drink with excellent staff and customer service.”
Review of The Pickled Hen

The Pickled Hen
Ranked #6,743 of 24,651 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
Description: The Pickled Hen is a modern take on the great British gastropub. Set in the heart of Marylebone in London, United Kingdom, this cosy pub is great for relaxed drinks and trying some traditional British food…..with a pickled twist! Start or end your day near Marble Arch with us! We're located inside of London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

My wife and I recently spent 3 days in London before heading to Ireland. What a treat to stay at the Marrriott Marble Arch and have this restaurant available. The breakfast and out server Joey were outstanding. There was nothing that he couldn’t do to ensure our comfort. The hostess was also very accommodating and made sure we were comfortable and happy with our service. The evening staff was just as professional with suggestions for food and drink. It made for a truly enjoyable time after the hectic days of sight seeing, etc.

1  Thank Cjksc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed S, Manager at The Pickled Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Cjksc1

Thank you for your kind words and I am pleased to see you have enjoyed your experience at The Pickled Hen and your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ahmed Shawky

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018

This place use to have TVs where you can watch football games as the hotel rooms don't have any premium channels for sports. Now they have no TVs and the Sheesha place offer a very basic sheesha with a very expensive price. So don't have Sheesha there of you like smoking, go across the street and it's 50% cheaper. I am not sure who decided to take the TVs out of this place but it is certainly a bad decision.

Thank A Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed S, Manager at The Pickled Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear A Q,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, this only helps us to improve our services to meet your expectations. Following the recent full refurbishment and repositioning our offering as a Gastro British Pub we have reduced the number of available screen based on our customer's feedback. However, we are still viewing the important sports events and would be delighted to arrange with you directly for any future games.

should you wish to discuss any future visits or your feedback in regards to pricing, please feel free to contact my office directlty and I will be delighted to assist you.

Kind regards

Ahmed Shawky
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott and The pickled hen is part of the hotel.

Restaurant is contemporary and has beautiful decor.

We only had breakfast so cannot comment on the other food available.
Reasonable priced menu board, £7 for eggs benedict, £2.50 for coffee.

Very expensive for buffet breakfast £22 approx. The food looked well presented, however we thought this was too expensive for the breakfast we wanted.

We had a query regarding the egg benedict ordered but this was immediately sorted by the lovely, Gabriela.
Friendly and pleasant customer service by her and the other waiting staff.
They even provide extra toast whilst we waited for our main breakfast, which was a kind thought and appreciated.

you won't be disappointed....thank you x

2  Thank collins241013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, General Manager at The Pickled Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear collins241013,
Thank you for coming to The Pickled Hen for breakfast! We think our ala carte menu is very reasonably priced as well, and are happy you found the lovely Gabriela to be accommodating and thoughtful. She is, indeed.
If you find yourself wanting a bottomless breakfast in the future, please give our breakfast buffet a try. The £22 cost covers as many trips as you want to make between the hours of 6:30am until 11:00 am. (7:00 - 12:00 on the weekends) and includes coffee or tea. The choices include fresh pastries and fruit, cheeses, smoked salmon,deli meats, beans, bacon, bagels and various breads, and other goodies. Plus a professional chef at the helm to make you a custom omelette or eggs any way.
Either way, thanks so much for visiting and for the review! Hope to see you soon.
Thanks, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

The staff are brilliant. "Would you like your Earl Grey Tea?" Gabriela asks as I walk in with my daughter. She goes out of her way to make us feel welcome. We are regulars and love the breakfast! My fave is avocado on toast with poached egg and my daughter is a fan of the fresh waffles!
We come back time and time again because we are well looked after. Excellent all round.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, General Manager at The Pickled Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Ester S,
We think Gabriela is brilliant, too! The avocado on toast is an excellent choice! Have you tried our Eggs Benedict yet? Just as amazing!
We look forward to seeing you and your daughter soon!
Thanks,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Great pub food, great beer. I ate a good chicken and a good Blue point beer. Hugo Will treat you good. This place looks like a proper Pub

4  Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Manager at The Pickled Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dead Ali A,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Its great to hear you enjoyed our Blue Point Lager, its one of my favorites too. Hope to see you again soon.

Peter
Manager, The Pickled Hen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pickled Hen also viewed

 

Been to The Pickled Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing