We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique hotel with style. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #31 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here, recently. My husband on business in the city & for me... a happy & homely place to relax...

The entrance, to the Kensington Hotel, draws you in like a magnet... So warm & welcoming with a character all of its own... A unique hotel with style!!!
It is elegant & 'classy', but casual too.
The soft subtle tones of the decor blend & help you to feel relaxed & comfortable in your surroundings.
All so clean & neat & perfect.
So many places to sit... Even a sheltered & cosy outdoor terrace as you enter!
So much care & attention to detail has been given...
The lounges flow one into another... & then there is the surprise of the warm wood panelled bar.

The well chosen staff are knowledgeable, accommodating & friendly...
They take an interest in you!
And what beautiful food the chef prepares & so attractively presented.
Mr Francesco Sardelli, General Manager, who although new in the hotel,
already 'looks part of the furniture'... And what a 'smiling delight'!
So unassuming, personable & enthusiastic...
He so capably draws together, into 'the warmth', his staff & hotel guests.

A great deal of thought has been put into everything involved in this successful hotel...

We'll most definitely be back!!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgiana P, Operations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share this fantastic feedback with us at The Kensington.
We are absolutely delighted to read that you had such an excellent experience and that you enjoyed our warm and friendly service, well appointed spaces and beautiful food prepared by our team led by Executive Chef, Steve Gibbs.
Francesco and the rest of the team have received your compliments with much gratitude and this will serve as a wonderful motivator for us all to continue striving for service excellence.
We greatly appreciate your recommendation and very much look forward to welcoming you back again for another pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 686 of 3,118 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016

My husband and I had a great time staying at the Kensington hotel. Good location with a quick walk to the tube. Our room was lovely and always smelled amazing - and I am very sensitive to perfumes so I was really surprised that I loved the smell of the hotel. The lobby, restaurant and bar are beautifully decorated and just really nice places to sit and have a drink. The bar had really good drinks and the restaurant was delicious. We never heard any noise from our room.

The only negative thing I would say is that one night at the bar we noticed that only our bartender was working while the other bar staff were not helping at all. He was a sweet Irish kid who was working his tail off while the other staff talked amongst themselves. I could tell he was "in the weeds" and needed some help. He, however, was great. He recommended drinks and made them perfectly.

Most of the other staff during our stay was really lovely. Especially Luca who was our waiter when we eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgiana P, Operations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Kensington and for sharing this great feedback with us.
It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a memorable experience with highlights including our good location, the well appointed public spaces and friendly service delivered by our wonderful waiter , Dean, in the K bar.
We greatly appreciate your recommendation and it would be our pleasure to have you return in the near future.

Kind regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

All of the staff was wonderful - the doorman, the concierge, the front desk, the restaurant. Very friendly and excellent customer service. Offered hot towels upon check-in, which is a very nice touch, especially for the overseas travelers.

Neighborhood is great - in walking distance of various museums, restaurants and shopping. The South Kensington station is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Had a lovely late night dinner in the hotel's restaurant, Town House - the ambiance was perfect and the staff was great. It was like being in a elegant and cozy library - books on along the back shelves, a lit fireplace, and comfy chairs and couches instead on regular dining chairs. Looking out the window and the background jazz music made it feel like we were back in the 1920's.

Had a great stay and would definitely come back - thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e209411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgiana P, Operations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of The Kensington. We are absolutely delighted to receive such warm compliments about your recent stay and read that you enjoyed the location, the ambience and most of all the warm service.

We are truly grateful for your warm recommendation to our future guests and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely welcome by the reception staff who were friendly and efficient. Spotless room - it was very small but only to be expected in central London. Doorman always acknowledged us and asked if we needed anything . The only let down (apart from the ordered newspaper not being delivered) was the service at breakfast. We had to queue for some time and then wait a long time for tea and coffee. Then an even longer wait for somebody to take our order. We did mention it and were told it was busy. It really wasn't that busy with loads of empty tables, they just weren't being cleared. However, overall it was a very nice hotel with excellent staff and I would definitely return .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anniegrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgiana P, Operations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Kensington.
We are very grateful for your recommendation and glad that you enjoyed the friendly and efficient service delivered by our reception staff.
I was disappointed to read that you experienced some issues with your breakfast service. Please rest assured this is not indicative of our usual high standards. Your concerns have been raised with our Restaurant Manager.
We are delighted to read that you wish to return and it would certainly be our pleasure to have you stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Operations Manager

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We come to the Proms frequently and have always stayed at an hotel near the V&A.Last time we found it a bit noisy so we cast around for another hotel and from reading reviews we lit upon The Kensington.We did not start off too well as when we arrived at 2.30 our room was not ready (check in time is 2.00).However,after a short wait in the comfortable lounge we were taken to our room and offered a free drink in the bar for our inconvenience.The room was spotlessly clean but appeared a little on the small side.(Other reviewers had made mention of room dimensions).However,as we were staying the night(3 actually) in the room and not living in it,being on the small side is not a problem-all you really need is cleanliness,quiet and a comfortable bed.These three you will get at the Kensington.My wife was so taken with the pillows,she had a look at the label to see where she could get some!The bed was just as comfortable.As for being quiet,the room was the quietest I have been in in central London.Traffic noise was minimal and the air conditioning was only the very faintest background hum.Most other hotel rooms I have stayed at in London have had such noisy air con that you have to open the windows,and then you get deafened by traffic.Not the Kensington-peace and quiet!The room had all the extras you could want.The only minor criticism I have is that storage space for clothes is a little limited.There is a lack of drawer space for the likes of shirts etc.The bedside cabinets could easily be adapted to accommodate drawers for shirts,knickers etc.
We had also booked the full breakfast.A full English is one my delights on a short holiday.The Kensington does not disappoint here.Cooked to order and all fresh,high quality ingredients.There is also a full continental on offer.As the charming female Italian maitre d would say,"Perfect".
If you want a quiet,comfortable hotel with a touch of luxury in this part of London then you need look no further than The Kensington.Highly recommended.
Throughout our stay,all the staff were extremely courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the one room but imagine all rooms are as comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NICHOLAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgiana P, Operations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimenting review of The Kensington following your recent visit to London.
It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a memorable experience with highlights including our quiet and comfortable rooms, delicious English breakfast and the warm service delivered by our wonderful team.
We greatly appreciate your recommendation and it would be our pleasure to have you return in the near future.

Kind regards,
Georgiana Pusnava
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,081 in London
3,577 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,081 in London
3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,081 in London
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $329 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Doyle Collection, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing