We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning food & location”

Laurent at Cafe Royal
Ranked #53 of 25,458 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$15 - US$77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: Laurent at Cafe Royal is the new Grill and Sushi Bar by Laurent Tourondel. At home on the first floor of the five star Hotel Cafe Royal on Regent Street, Laurent is open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails late into the night. Located where Soho, St James and Mayfair meet this is the perfect spot for business lunches, a weekend brunch or to begin or end a night out in the West End.
Reviewed 10 June 2018

I have now eaten at this restaurant twice and both times the food has been exceptional. Dining begins with the arrival of warm popovers, so much nicer than bread, which are light and addictive. The sushi is divine - the wagyu beef variety particularly stands out.

With any main course I would thoroughly recommend ordering a side dish of the roasted aubergine, which has a delicious caramelized top and bottom to each piece. Having tried both the spatchcock chicken and swordfish as main course dishes, I would happily order both again.

I love the setting with the smokey mirrored ceiling and the lit back bar, which makes even the dullest of days appear sunny. I love the revamp to the hotel and this new restaurant is the icing on the cake!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume M, General Manager at Laurent at Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for choosing Laurent at Cafe Royal for your dining experiences, we are thrilled that both times we met your expectations. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the Popovers, sushi and aubergine. It's also exciting to hear that you enjoy the design of the restaurant and hotel.

We hope to see you for a third time!

Kind regards,
Guillaume Marly
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

The new restaurant at café royal has a great ambiance accompanied with amazing food and cocktails. I would advise the fillet as well as the peach coktail. The complimentary bread/Yorkshire pudding is something you do not want to pass either!

Thank Yann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume M, General Manager at Laurent at Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Yann,

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Popover, the American twist on a yorkshire pudding. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Guillaume Marly
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Had a good selection of the menu...Sushi, wagyu beef and shared desserts!... OMG I've never had such an amazing dinning experience!
The service was incredible! The sommelier kept recommending spectacular wine, and the waitress Marion was delightful!
Would definitely recommend and will come back!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume M, General Manager at Laurent at Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Daniela,

What a pleasure to read that you had the most amazing dining experience with us. Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. The team will be exceedingly happy once I share your feedback with them.

Kind regards,
Guillaume Marly
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Wonderful evening: top class atmosphere, outstanding service, different but delicious food and overall grand experience. Highlights were the service, especially from Sommelier, Sam who chose a perfect wine to pair with dessert; and the outstanding food. We had sushi, octopus, steaks and the couples-crepe for dessert. At each course was something we didn't expect and a pleasant surprise. Atmosphere and cocktails made for great conversation - highly recommended for a classy dinner date or any quality dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank randalljlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume M, General Manager at Laurent at Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We're extremely happy that you liked the service, atmosphere and food. I am eager to share your amazing comments about Sam with him and the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again for a classy dinner date.

Kind regards,
Guillaume Marly
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

I have been to Laurent for dinner with my family.
It was a memorable evening and we were really impressed by the whole experience.
The meat was great and we could have definitely taste the quality. The highlights for me were the dish they serve at the beginning of the meal, something super cheesy and delicious and the peanut and chocolate dessert.
We will definitely be back!

Thank Valentina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume M, General Manager at Laurent at Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Valentina,

We're extremely happy that the evening was memorable for you and your family. The dish at the start of your meal is our American Popover, definitely a dish to remember! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guillaume Marly
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laurent at Cafe Royal also viewed

 

Been to Laurent at Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing