We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Goldsmid House
Nearby Hotels
US$233
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$143
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$132
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$227
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
9
10
6
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria stationroom facingfew minutes walkwifitube
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2015

This really is excellent basic accommodation, ideal for a stay in central London. Security is good and the staff delightful, so helpful. The room was spacious enough, with an immaculate en-suite and very comfortable bed. Plenty of storage space and hot water. A bonus was a large shared kitchen-diner with the facilities to cook meals if needed, lots of fridge/freezer space which is great in the hot weather. Some might bemoan the lack of TV, to me that just added to the peace & quiet. Good WIFI connection though. Location is just round the corner from Victoria station, but it was amazingly quiet. Plenty of nice places to eat at the end of the road.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sallie080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

I stayed at Goldsmid House for a total of 5 nights during 2 stays and was very happy with the accommodation. Security is excellent, the dorm rooms I had were spacious, clean, and quiet, wifi was strong and free, and the location near Victoria tube was convenient. Lots of restaurant options nearby. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank violetvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Spent 3 nights at the start of September. Given a room on the street-facing block on the top 8th floor. An excellent lift gets you up and down..

Found it strange that only 2 of the rooms faced inwards...plus the large kitchen and other non-bedrooms. (Not a great sleeper in new semi-noisy surroundings.)

A basic room with only 1 medium towel and a single pillow provided. Had a small towel with me luckily. Used it to stand on outside the small shower/wash basin/loo room while drying off.

Staff were very helpful and I quickly used the ground floor launderette room. Cheap: £2 to wash and £1 to dry. There was some left over liquid to "borrow". Didn't even need to use the whole time of the dryer.

As well as the strangely designed large Sainsbury's in Wilton Road, there is now a Little Waitrose in nearby Warwick Way.

A while since I used Victoria Station. Why are there dozens of Union Jack flags hanging down there?

The upstairs Wetherspoons is OK for lunch while waiting for the 2 PM entry to Goldsmids.

Room Tip: Ask for a inward facing room if available.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 464chrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

I stayed in Goldsmid House for two nights in early September - paying £51 a night for my room. How things have changed since my own university days - no communal bathrooms here! I was down in London on business and the most important thing to report is that I enjoyed two excellent nights sleep. The room was also spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard - not the road outside.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highland-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

First of all, the location of the hotel is brilliant. It's just a few minutes walk from Victoria, one of the biggest tube/train/coach stations in London. It is also within a walking distance of Buckingham Palace and (if you fancy a 20 minute walk) Trafalgar Square. There is a Sainsbury's supermarket just down the road and a Pret A Manger (for fresh sandwiches and soups) around the corner.

The building itself is very safe, as you can't get in without a key or staff permission. There are two buildings within the complex, and I stayed in the southern one (the one that is actually on a street), on the eighth floor. Although I've heard many complaints about the noise the Sainsbury's trucks make at night, I personally didn't hear a thing. The street isn't too busy, especially not at night.

On the beginning of your stay, you get a big towel (one of those that you can wrap around your entire body), a bar of soap, clean linen and enough toilet paper to last you until the next cleaning. The rooms are cleaned every seven days, and you get a new towel, soap linen and toilet paper every time. I was amazed by the cleanliness of the room, both when I first got there and after having it cleaned a week later. It was flawless.

The room itself is very basic, but enough for a traveler on a budget. The bathroom is quite small, but again, has all that you need - a sink, a toilet and a shower. There is a big desk in the room with more than enough power sockets. The wardrobe is also very spacious and is designed to easily fit a standard large suitcase. The biggest downfall for me was the bed. Although you get a lovely duvet (which, although I stayed there in August, was perfect as the weather was a bit chilly) and the pillow is okay, the bed itself is quite uncomfortable and it takes some time to get used to it. Now, for a traveler like me, this was just a small problem, but as this hotel is a student dorm during the school year and people actually live here, I think the hotel should invest in better beds.

There is a shared kitchen on each floor (for eight people to use). It is well equipped, with not only basic items like a fridge and a stove, but also a microwave, a toaster, an ironing board and enough dishes and cutlery. The visitors are asked to clean up after they've used the kitchen, so I guess the cleanliness is kind of a matter of luck (whether your neighbors are willing to wash their dishes or not), but I believe the kitchen also gets cleaned by the staff, the same way as the rooms do.

All in all, I think that Goldsmid House is perfect for every traveler on a budget. It's cheap (compared to most other hotels in London), clean and central. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KsenijaSiljic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews