We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only go out of necessity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City View Hotel Roman Road
Ranked #447 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Not a great place. Room is small the beds aren't comfy and overall just poor. They are trying to get as many people in as possible to maximise profit. I only went there as local hotels were unavailable. Would not recommend to anyone unless you are deeply desperate.

Stayed: May 2015
3  Thank Manlikemonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel quite late at night and the whole atmosphere was quite strange. When we first entered the hotel to check in, we were greeted by a fairly nice guy, who just wanted us to pay for the room straight away which we thought was quite unusual, but when we got up the 2 flights of stairs to our room, we could see why! The first thing I noticed is that the beds (if I can call them that) where extremely low, it was like sleeping on a mattress on the floor. There was a fridge in the corner with a TV on top of it, both quite outdated, but the TV worked which was a bonus. We had been left 2 towels (it was a triple room) upon closer inspection there was a hair just sitting on top of it, I was nearly sick. The laminate flooring in the room looked like it had been layed by a 6 year old 20 years ago, there were gaps in the floor. There was mould / damp along the wall under the window, next to one of the beds which wasn't nice. We were woken up at 6:30am by the fire alarm, when we asked staff about this, his response was 'oh somebody must have been smoking in their room' there was no apology. Breakfast was included in the price, but we couldn't bring ourselves to eat it so we left early and went for breakfast in Brick Lane. During the whole stay there was a horrible stench of cannabis coming from down stairs. Overall, I can honestly say this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: April 2015
1  Thank _GemmaAlex_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015

When I say "The Hangover" style I mean the scene when they wake-up in the hotel without remembering anything. That is how I felt, but it was just ok since we actually had a night partying and drinking and so forth. We chosed the city view hotel basically because it was cheap (85 pounds for a three bed room), it was the last available and mostly because the check-out was at 12 so we could rest a little after coming back at 5:00.
The room was very small with the bath included. Clean but not maintaned. I would not recommend for a couple, but I recommend it for a group of friends.
Did not wake up in time to try the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peteryopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. If you have a little self esteem and respect, please forget about the low price and do not book in here! The showers are absolutely filthy, the breakfast almost made me vomit after the 3rd day( I don`t think the sausage has any meat in it at all ), the room is so small and it does not even have a carpet on the floor. It looks so cheap with all the full of dust artificial flowers, and from the outside it looks like a bad horror movie. I would say more, but it brings back such awful memories that I `d rather let you read the other reviews and convince yourselves I am right ! It will ruin your entire holiday

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veridiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Horrible horrible horrible. There was a very strong smell in the room like paint and gave me such a bad headache. The bathroom and toilet were horrific and had dirt and grim all around the sink and shower. I actually felt dirtier after the shower. I didnt stay the 2 nights as it was that bad and will never go there again

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
17 km away
Best Western Plus London Wembley Hotel
6.3 km away
Venture Hostels
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
16.8 km away
Premier Inn London Hanger Lane Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Best Western London Peckham Hotel
6.4 km away
No photo provided
The Grange
#332 of 580 in London
1 reviews
7.2 km away
The Antigallican Hotel
The Antigallican Hotel
#223 of 580 in London
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Hotel Roman Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel Roman Road

Address: 113 Roman Road | Tower Hamlets, London E2 0QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $65 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — City View Hotel Roman Road 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your City View Hotel Roman Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing