We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Crown Jewel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tower of London

Tower of London
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.39*
and up
Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour
Ranked #3 of 1,596 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of London's most famous landmarks, the historic Tower houses the Crown Jewels, the prison cell of Sir Walter Raleigh, known as the Bloody Tower, and the Chapel of St. John and the Royal Armories.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Crown Jewel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I spent couple of hours visiting the Towel of London and it was a great experience. I really enjoyed the tour and the narration of the story behind it. And of course, the best part was that I got to see those magnificent jewels of the present and past Queens. It's definitely worth seeing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMB303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43,972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28,930
    11,606
    2,748
    471
    217
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Quite a lot of money to get in and you have to pay extra for the audio guide thingy but it was worth it and we spent over 4 hours interested and educated! Good day out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was a family trip as a birthday present for me and had a great day. Being older, things always strike me as being expensive now, but we booked in advance via GoldenTours.com and I think £16.57 for an Adult ticket and £8.29 for a child is good value. Take the Beefeater tour (Yeoman Warders Tour). You might be lucky and have the same guide as us. Fabulous and entertaining talk right through the tour. We were there on Saturday 14th December and it wasn't at all crowded. Plenty of room and time to see every thing. It would be a different matter during the Summer Season, though.
I last visited 50 years ago and I'm glad I got round to going back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saracen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

When maintaining the site they don't stick with that period in time. To expensive. No parking nearby.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1JAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the price of admission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I'm not sure why the Tower of London gets a bad rap for being "overrated". Yes it's fairly small compared to some castles, but has an immense amount of history. The crown jewels alone are worth seeing. I would recommend starting the day with the Yeoman Warder's tour (included in admission) and then picking out where you want to go. The castle also offers some great views of Tower Bridge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tower of London also viewed

 

Been to Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing