We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful ”

SEA LIFE London Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.43*
and up
Skip the Line: Sea Life London Aquarium
Ranked #568 of 1,815 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Let your imagination soar as you explore the wonderful riches of underwater life, from the beautiful coral reefs of the Indian Ocean to the dark, mysterious depths of the Atlantic and Pacific. During your visit be sure to take in a feed or two! There are animal feeds taking place throughout the day in different areas of the attraction so you can see for yourself just how sharp a Piranhas teeth are, what a Seahorse eats and how many fish it takes to satisfy a hungry Gentoo Penguin! Every feed is accompanied by a family-friendly, fact-filled talk by a member of our Guest Experience team; To ensure that you leave with a head filled with amazing discoveries and cool creature facts! Talk and feed times are subject to change. To be sure you won't miss a thing, please enquire about your favourite animal feed on entry.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The tanks in the ‘Rainforest’ part were empty! There was no green snake, no beetles and we saw a glimpse of a blue frog but that was it. Even the worker couldn’t spot anything and said they were hiding but I’m sure they were empty. Surely you would have more than one thing???? The cues were big and it was too busy to get near anything. The tanks all seemed too small for the creatures especially the penguins. It was just a horrible day out.

1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Product Excellence at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Amy W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your experience at SEA LIFE London.

I do apologise if you felt disappointed with your recent visit to SEA LIFE London. We do have a variety of amazing creatures to see. As the worker did advise, it may have been the case that some of the animals were somewhere else in the enclosure. I am sorry to hear that you felt disappointed about the number of guests in the attraction. On certain days, such as long weekends, we do have a higher guest volume than usual, although please be rest assured that we do limit the amount of guests who are inside, and our guests are also more than welcome to take their time around the aquarium during the normal opening hours.

Thank you for also getting in touch about our Gentoo penguin enclosure, we think guest feedback is really important. If you want more information please contact us at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz.

Kind Regards,
Luke
Product Excellence
SEA LIFE London | County Hall | Westminster Bridge Road | SE1 7PB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shark tank"
in 206 reviews
"star fish"
in 75 reviews
"big tank"
in 51 reviews
"different species"
in 64 reviews
"london eye"
in 324 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 103 reviews
"merlin pass"
in 62 reviews
"glass floor"
in 91 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 111 reviews
"london dungeon"
in 52 reviews
"great attraction"
in 49 reviews
"rainy day"
in 68 reviews
"other attractions"
in 50 reviews
"jellyfish"
in 180 reviews
"creatures"
in 154 reviews
"voucher"
in 250 reviews
"seahorse"
in 56 reviews
Filter

65 - 69 of 5,657 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went there on Sunday we were very lucky as there was barely any queue. Family of six three small children three adults. The photo bit as you anger the building is not great. You don’t even have time to pose and smile properly as the queue quickly builds up. We ended up with a horrible photos where none of us actually smiled. So we did not take it. The staff are very friendly everyone was willing to help if we had questions. There is plenty to see and very interesting. Children loved it. You can buy the explorer pack where they need to tick what they saw as you go around aquarium. The large aquarium with sharks is amazing. We really liked the penguins part as well.

Thank MaggieJarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Product Excellence at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MaggieJarz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at SEA LIFE London.

I am pleased to hear that your family enjoyed making some amazing discoveries during your visit, particularly finding the sharks 'jawsome', and the penguins enjoyable to see. Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding other aspects of your experience, such as the children enjoying using the 'Ranger Packs' as they explore the depths of the aquarium, as well as finding our expert team both friendly and helpful.

It takes time and trouble to write feedback, and it is very important to us to hear what our guests think.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review, and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the future!

Best Fishes,
Luke
Product Excellence
SEA LIFE London | County Hall | Westminster Bridge Road | SE1 7PB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is only one big aquarium And a lot of small aquarium. The best fish fór me were a horsefish. I think that there is a better choices for spending your time.

Thank Kateřina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Product Excellence at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kateřina M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of SEA LIFE London.

I do apologise if you felt that your visit did not live up to your full expectations on this occasion. We do have a variety of amazing creatures to see in addition to sea horses, such as rays, jellyfish, and starfish. We also do invest in the attraction with new and exciting opportunities to get up and close with some great creatures, such as 'Rainforest Adventure', which has recently opened.

If you would like to discuss your feedback, please do contact us directly at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz.

Kind Regards,
Luke
Product Excellence
SEA LIFE London | County Hall | Westminster Bridge Road | SE1 7PB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I visited Sea Life on a Monday morning.

We purchased our Ultimate Aquarium Tickets in advance, expecting priority admission so that we would be able to enter well in time for our 10:15 scheduled Behind the Scene tour.

We arrived prior to the 10:00 GMT opening, then were told to wait in a queue in order to collect our tickets (despite having priority admission, and why was this not available online for self printing?!). The queue took a full 15 minutes, followed by time at the ticket desk, so we thought we were already late for our tour. We then had to go through the security scan, and were further held up by the queue there, then had to wait in another queue to for people to have their pictures taken in order to access the elevator to get downstairs to the exhibits (which we ended up sprinting past in order to get to the tour meet-up point, only to find that the tour actually started at 10:30 and not 10:15 as stated on website and at ticket desk, so we weren't late after all)

Note: Rating points have therefore been deducted for the above-mentioned lapses - namely lack of ability to print tickets online, lack of priority admission despite being charged for it, and incorrect information published regarding tour start times.

Reviewing the actual attraction, The Behind the Scenes Tour conducted by Daisy and Pete was actually completely amazing. They were both friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic in their descriptions of what kind of effort goes into the workings of Sea Life and environmental conservation. I highly recommend taking this 45-minute tour for the additional £7 per person.

Upon completion of the tour, we moved back to the beginning of the Sea Life exhibits (it's no joke trying to move against the human horde crowd of one-way traffic!) and made our way through from point to point (in time to watch the manta feeding and the penguin feeding sessions). The penguin feeding session was probably a second highlight after the tour.

Thank Adeline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Product Excellence at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Adeline T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at SEA LIFE London.

I do apologise if you felt that it was not clear in terms of the the process of purchasing and collecting V.I.P. tickets for SEA LIFE London. We do currently have this as a 'collect@attraction' option only as 'Behind the Scenes' tickets also need to be collected as well. We do advise our guests to get to the 'Behind the Scenes' area approximately 15 minutes before the tour starts, so that everyone is ready for the tour to begin. We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide some feedback on this though as we do consider feedback valuable in terms of looking at how to improve the overall experience. We will pass your feedback onto the relevant people to look into further. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the 'Behind the Scenes' tour itself. Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback about Pete and Daisy. Please be rest assured that I have passed this part of the feedback onto the relevant people for it to be celebrated.

It takes time and trouble to write some feedback, and it is very important to hear what our guests think.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review, and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Luke
Product Excellence
SEA LIFE London | County Hall | Westminster Bridge Road | SE1 7PB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The aquarium is beautiful and there are lots of learning opportunities for children. The shark tank has to be the highlight for us. We visited near the end of the day and did feel a little bit pushed out as a security guard followed us around to close up. Some of the areas were closed off such as penguins and I’m not sure if they’d already been closed due to end of the day or if it wasn’t open on that day. I’d probably advise people with children to go or people particularly interested in sea life. But it wasn’t particularly awe inspiring.

Thank Smg0991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Product Excellence at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Smg0991,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at SEA LIFE London.

It is great to hear that you did find the aquarium beautiful, and great for children as well. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed seeing our 'jawsome' sharks in particular. I do apologise if you felt disappointed about about some aspects of your experience. With regards to the penguins, they do usually go to sleep late afternoon as part of their lunar cycle, so we would advise that if you would like to see the penguins in particular to perhaps go earlier on in the day during our normal opening hours. We do apologise if you felt a bit rushed at the end. Our guests are more than welcome to take their time around the aquarium during our normal operating hours. We will pass your feedback onto the relevant department.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Luke
Product Excellence
SEA LIFE London | County Hall | Westminster Bridge Road | SE1 7PB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SEA LIFE London Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to SEA LIFE London Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing