We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience The British Museum
from US$29.57
More Info
from US$70.92
More Info
from US$95.57
More Info
from US$14.09
More Info
Reviews (72,745)
Filter reviews
72,745 results
Traveller rating
52,821
15,417
3,434
707
366
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52,821
15,417
3,434
707
366
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosetta stone elgin marbles ancient egypt egyptian mummies sutton hoo amazing collection free entry few hours on display rainy day couple of hours audio guide beautiful building artifacts bm civilizations pantheon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 72,745 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the best exhibitions we've been to at the BM with a range of well-explained and presented artifacts providing an alternative look at one of Rome's most well-known emperors. Informative and laid out so that it was accessible to those in wheelchairs. An excellent couple of hour's worth!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank mtse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A big place where history never ends , you feel like you need a entire day to exlplore the whole museum , Great place for those who are attracted by the history.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Xhejms P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We pre-booked the free tickets and arrived an hour and half early, so found a little cafe (Giovanni's) and had a great lunch watching the world go by.

You are advised not to arrive earlier than ticket time as will not be let in, when we arrived we queued for 15 minutes, had a bag search, and no one checked our tickets - could have just walked in. Maybe because it was fairly quiet to their normal standards?

We'd been to the Tate in the morning and found the layout there much clearer - here it is difficult to know which direction to start and where to go - feel like you're missing things. Having said this, just to wander and look at the amazing artifacts (first one being the impressive Rosetta Stone!) was incredible.

Lots of sections were roped off and closed to the public - not sure why - possibly due to the pingdemic and low staffing numbers?

Anyway, we loved it and it is a must-see attraction when in London.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank RecliningBuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Even if you're not too interested in history, this museum is a must visit. Every corner and staircase has some form of ancient history attached to it. You can easily spend hours here.

Be aware, some parts may be closed. So if you're looking for a particular section, it'd be wise to ask prior to arrival.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank Lewis_Scott94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

We visited the museum on a Sunday afternoon in August and although we booked online we had to queue which seemed daft. You have your bags checked and wheeled luggage isn't permitted into the museum. The museum is huge and so impressive from the moment you step in. You could spend the day here and still not see everything. We only visited the general exhibitions but there are other exhibits which you can pay for.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank C2086UOlindaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews