We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatrical History Lesson!”
Review of The London Dungeon

The London Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.21*
and up
London Dungeon Entrance Ticket
Ranked #60 of 427 Fun & Games in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The London Dungeon, one of the UK’s most iconic attractions, has reinvented itself now as a bigger, bolder and better attraction in the vast underground vaults of County Hall on the South Bank, next to the EDF Energy London Eye. The all new multi-million pound attraction will bring 1000 years of authentic London history to life with a unique mix of talented live actors performing in scarily funny shows, stunning special effects, edge of your seat surprises and two exciting thrill rides. Guests will embark on a journey through a dramatic London landscape going back ten centuries. They will be guided through ghastly plague-ridden streets, witness Guy Fawkes’ dramatic plot to blow up Parliament, travel back to Jack the Ripper’s bleak Whitechapel and walk beneath London’s foreboding medieval gates. There are new shows and rides which are more dramatic and surprising than ever, new funnier scripts, more theatrical costumes and styling and more talented actors to play even more colourful villains and blaggards.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a must do in London. We did not consider the Dungeons at first but it was an experience which I would never forget. Scary, funny, interactive and insightful! They cover British history and the staff/actors are excellent at what they do.

Thank ANTVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonDungeon1975, Guest Relations Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anton v,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 Star review.

The London Dungeon is an immersive experience taking you through London's gruesome history. This includes up to 19 live shows and 2 rides!

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our interactive experience, escaping the wrath of King Henry in the process!

Mrs Lovett cannot wait to MEAT you again!

Kind Regards,
Josh
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 598 reviews
"sweeney todd"
in 293 reviews
"free drink at the end"
in 102 reviews
"drop ride at the end"
in 93 reviews
"guy fawkes"
in 142 reviews
"great fun"
in 463 reviews
"actors and actresses"
in 93 reviews
"london's history"
in 170 reviews
"special effects"
in 167 reviews
"london eye"
in 410 reviews
"audience participation"
in 101 reviews
"time slot"
in 178 reviews
"history lesson"
in 100 reviews
"great attraction"
in 121 reviews
"ripper"
in 673 reviews
"jack"
in 679 reviews
"tickets"
in 956 reviews
Filter

65 - 69 of 9,090 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first visit here since they moved location some years ago. It was really good & left happy after being put through various old London events. The actors really do well in spooking you, definitely recommend it.

Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonDungeon1975, Guest Relations Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Julie M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

The London Dungeon is an immersive experience taking you through London's gruesome history. This includes up to 19 live shows and 2 rides!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our interactive experience, escaping the wrath of Sweeney Todd in the process!

Here at The London Dungeon we value all feedback, a we strive to improve our experience where we can.

The Torturer cannot wait to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was the first time I’ve been and it was a dream of mine for a very long time and it was definitely worth the wait!! It was amazing!! All the actors were brilliant and kept us on our toes! It was just fab and will definitely be going again!

Thank Amiie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonDungeon1975, Guest Relations Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Amiie J

Thank you for your brilliant review,

I am so gald that you had such an amazing visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to bowels of London's gruesome past, in fact the torturer is sharpening their tools in eager anticipation.

Kind regards
Jay
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recreates various gory and macabre historical events (story of famous London characters like Jack the Ripper, Sweeney Todd, etc.) in a gallows humor style. It uses a mixture of live actors, special effects and rides. Cost per person is 21 pounds. Good fun - but I would not advise taking children under 12. It took almost two hours (including wait time) and was good value for money. Only suggestion is that they could reduce the time to somewhere like 1.5 hours, then it would be flawless.

Thank martand86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonDungeon1975, Guest Relations Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear martand86

Thank you for your great review,

I am so glad that you had such a fabulous visit.

thank you for your recommendations and feedback which are always greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to bowels of London's gruesome past, in fact the torturer is sharpening their tools in eager anticipation.

Kind regards
Jay
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an absolute waste of time and money! A stupid, banal and idiotic travesty. The old dungeons were fun to visit, separate areas of torture displayed on manikins to watch at your leisure.
The first thing on offer is a water ride that doesn’t deliver anything.. it went wrong when we got on it, leaving us in perpetual darkness and eventually shunting us backwards. Don’t really know what it was supposed to do!
Now you are shuffled in groups from room to room in the dark to meet the next hammy actor who incoherently spouts on about irrelevant subjects! The only decent room was hosted by an older sensible actor showing some implements of torture and not over done theatrics.
If you can’t speak English you won’t have a clue what is going on!
This whole experience is an embarrassment and a sham.. save your money..go get a Mr Whippy!

1  Thank clarej2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonDungeon1975, Guest Relations Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear clarej2610,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

The London Dungeon features 19 interactive shows, 20 live actors and 1000 years of history. I can confirm that on the day in question our Tyrant Boat Ride was experiencing unforeseen technical difficulties which were quickly rectified.

Here at The London Dungeon we strive to ensure our experience is as immersive as possible. Our performance team are trained to embody London's gruesome history, therefore the use of historical jargon, grotesque body language is permitted. As we are not a scare attraction or horror maze, we do not intend to be 'scary' - rather, we promote 'scary fun'. We are a family attraction and welcome guests of all ages.

As stated on our website, all tours at The London Dungeon are conducted in English. We do not currently provide any form of audio guide for our tours.

I am very sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy your experience on this occasion.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The London Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing