We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel a bit off the beaten track but well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #220 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed as a couple and really enjoyed the hotel. It's not a budget hotel and they do pre-charge your card for extras when you arrive, but as it happened that was soon used up and exceeded. The room we had was beautiful, very clean, luxurious and it had a fantastic bathroom. The food in the restaurant was pricey but good and a good spot to watch the helicopters come and go from next doors heliport.

It is away from the city centre by 40 - 45 mins in a taxi, but a private hire Addison Lee taxi got us there and back fairly cheaply (by London standards)

If I had a few gripes it would be the 12.5% "discretionary" service charge added to drinks and meals, breakfast is £17.50 Continental - £19.50 English and there's a weighty charge for some TV channels and WiFi

It's not cheap, but it is nice and the staff were perfectly civil and helpful with us

Room Tip: we stayed in room 418, all seemed newly done
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yosserwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,353 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel with family and had several rooms. Reception staff are among the rudest people I've ever encountered. Our party checked in at different times and all had a similar experience. They demanded money as soon as we got through the door with no greeting and due to the receptionist's lack of english skills she was unable to properly explain what this was for. Really long queue to check in; there were about 5 members of staff behind the desk but only two actually doing anything. No smile, no greeting, no offer to carry luggage even with babies, pushchairs, suitcases etc. They didn't even offer directions to the lift!

Room looked lovely on inital impression but the bathroom was literally falling apart (the shower taps and bathroom plug came away in my hand) and the room was so dusty with a sort of musty smell. We had a lovely view of the heliport but you can still hear the noise through the quadruple glazzing (incedently this also means you can't open the window to get some much needed fresh air) and whilst the choppers stop at 9pm at night, they get going pretty early so if you're a light sleeper like I am, forget any chance of a lie-in! The mini-bar was empty and there was note left with it that implied you had to ring room-service if you wanted it stocked up but it was difficult to understand due the extremely poor standard of written English. Room service didn't answer the phone and reception were again, very unhelpful so forget about it if you do want anything.

It was altogether shoddy and embarrasing. There was no turn down service, just a confused looking maid knocking on the door asking if we needed any more toiletries. The room also came with a nespresso machine which was a lovely touch but no one had bothered to fill it up with water.

All in all, it was an embarrassment and it comes as no suprise to learn this place is in administration. The only good thing to say about the place is that the bar staff are very nice and mix a lovely cocktail!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hpy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

An awful experience, looked very nice on the website, but nothing like what we expected. It is based right opposite an industrial estate with a pizza warehouse.
The staff hardly spoke English and getting to town from there took nearly 45 mins by taxi.
Although relatively new, needs major refurbishment.
Apparently under administrators due to Hotel being bankrupt.

Save your money guys and use the Holiday Inn down the road.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I recently visited London and stayed at the Hotel Verta. Located on the River Thames and only a 15 minute walk from Clapham Junction Station it was an awesome experience.
Breakfast was amazing
Rooms very spacious for London standards
The Staff more than helpfull and friendly.
I requested an early check-in and this was not an issue for the hotel. Especially after an eleven hour flight this was highly appreciated.

Room Tip: As a single traveller I stayed in a Metropolitan room. My room had a view of the river and the Londo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last weekend as a 40th birthday treat, we like quiet living, so we found it to be an ideal location to stay in, close to the bustle of the city for shopping and socialising but quiet enough to relax, we stayed on the fifth floor and the view of the river Thames and the surrounding city was fantastic if you looked beyond the large building overlooking you, we watched many helicopters we lost count of how many we saw and the triple glazing allowed us not to hear them land, the bed was very huge and very comfortable, furnishing beautiful and the room was perfect, only 1 chair so we took it in turns to sit on the bed, it took as many hours to locate the tea and coffee facilities (In a little cupboard above the glasses) as the expresso machine wasnt working, we also received a call from reception to tell us our taxi had arrived and we hadnt even booked one as we had just got back from a walk along the river. Everything apart from the expresso machine worked and we found not being able to control the AC difficult as the room temperature would either be extremely hot or cold. All other controls high tech but not to difficult once you had played with them,Towels were replaced when we were out and we were not disturbed by anyone when we were in our hotel room. We never used the restaurant as it was so quiet and empty everytime we walked past it we decided we wouldnt use it, we also never used the bar or the spa. Corridors in the hotel were very hot. Check out was efficient. Due to disability we travelled to London on the train and then used public transport buses and the underground - We arrived on the 170 bus from Victoria and got off at York Gardens but we soon realised it wasnt the quickest way to travel in and out of the hotel and Central London, Lombard Road stop was very near by? The quickest route we found was over the wooden walkway next to the helipad and a stroll along the River Thames and you can hop on the bus stop at Battersea South which had various buses running into London using the public transport from this stop we managed to visit many areas of London - Piccadly Circus, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Trafalgar Square and Chinatown. We experienced 3 problems during our stay the first was with check in, when we booked we were led to believe that we would pay for our first nights stay as a pre authorisation on our card and then the rest of the bill on check out so we were a little surprised with a pre authorisation request of £125 more than our total stay, then my card was declined twice although we knew there was more in our bank account than what they were asking us to pay? Resolved by paying half of what they wanted on my card and half in cash? The staff were quite rude to us for even suggesting this may work and by looking at us as though we were 2nd class? Not a good start? Our 2nd problem was on checkout when we noticed other customers having their cards declined??? So we were not alone with card problems when we checked in? It took over 24 hours after we had checked out for the pre authorisation to be removed from our bank account and we dont know if it was the bank or the hotel withholding our money and it wasnt until we received our total invoice that we noticed they were in administration? Which may of explained the quietness of the hotel in general? Our 3rd problem was no mobile phone signal at all within the hotel complex although we managed if we were business customers this could of been a major problem?

We may think about booking this hotel again as the room was exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: We booked a standard double room and it was much more beautiful and comfortable than we could of ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Eddy237111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#189 of 1,077 in London
2,447 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#801 of 1,077 in London
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $154 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing