We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms great views lovely staff so why a 2?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #220 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This was sooo disappointing. The rooms were lovely. Comfortable large bed, really well appointed bathroom, middle tap a nice touch for eg, great tea (tea pigs) for the meetings and reasonable free WiFi. Would be great to have tea pigs bags in the room but good sized mugs makes up for that (pet hate tiny cups).

But the food was just rubbish. Really really rubbish. The business lunch managed to create sandwiches which had literally no taste. The tempura was borderline a diplomatic incident in its insult to Asia it was so bland. And the chicken burgers looked (I couldn’t bring myself to eat one) like KFC meets Poundland in a dark alley.

Then breakfast in my room as I had a conference call. Ok five-ten minutes late I can let go. Missing Cumberland sausage, stewed tea, cold barely toasted bread I can’t. Nor having no marmalade, only really poor jam. And the scrambled egg was almost crunchy but without the crunch? I don’t actually know how you do that so maybe congratulations are in order I don’t know. But hey the black pudding had some flavour.

So those were bad. But dinner was the icing on the cake. No. I like icing. Dinner was the dregs at the bottom of a slops tray under a tap of cheap mild in a grim pub that time forgot.

The starter was beautifully coloured salmon with no taste. Tiny portions need to come with maximum flavour. This had one but unfortunately not the other.

Then we waited. And waited. And then started waiting. No waiters pouring wine so we started doing that ourselves. And getting water from the fridges when that ran out. And then eventually after about 40 minutes, we tracked the waiters down who were hiding, I presume embarrassed, in the serving area.

Much activity followed. Lots of wine lots of apologies but still no food. About an hour after the first course was cleared the mains started to arrive.

Worth the wait? Only if you were a culinary masochist. I would rather have eaten a cold Birdseye fish finger sandwich than the lukewarm rubbery cod which faced me. Coupled with it like a marriage of convenience was a flavourless bunch of cabbage leaves which were busy proving their h2o content, and a shocking lack of carbs. I know, wine is a rich source of carbs. But vast quantities of it without other carbs is a no.

I actually think the “chef” managed to create anti-food. We were more hungry after than before. Maybe my fault, I couldn’t eat the fish.

In the end we ordered bread at our table and leapt on it like wolves.

To briefly finish on the lemon posset. It was lemony. Tick. It was halfway between custard and angel delight in texture. Untick.

No tea. No coffee.

I’m currently waiting to have repeat lunch from yesterday. I’m not sure I can face it.


Shambles, people, sort it out.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank domhaslam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi domhaslam123!

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience. It's delightful to read your kind words for our comfortable rooms and reliable Internet service. I'm very sorry to learn though that there were issues with our restaurant's service and food selections. This is certainly not what our hotel strives for, nor is this our usual or our best. I'll surely pass this feedback to our dining team as a reference in our continued effort to be better at what we do.

We appreciate you for making our hotel your home away from home! We hope you can stay with us again so we can give the hotel experience that many of our guests have grown fond of.

Many thanks,

Gian M
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I needed to attend an event near Battersea / Clapham Junction area.

From arrival the staff were friendly and helpful - I asked for a quiet room which they discussed between them before making my room allocation (and I was given an upgrade). They also provided some toothpaste which I had forgotten.

The room was lovely too - Espa toiletries and ‘sleep solution’ goodies from This Works which were a nice touch.

I went to the spa in the morning which was really nice. I was there very early and the steam room and foot baths werent working but other than that it was very relaxing.

All in all, I was impressed and would stay again.



  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mld812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I've had a nice stay at this hotel. Room was clean and comfortable.
Other than that the staff was really polite and very professional.

One negative aspect who everyone should be aware of is the hotel being not in a central area and the next metro station is not close. This should be considered when booking this hotel.

Finally I can recommend it to everyone who is visiting London by car.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MerleTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Satisfied With the stay of my famely. We sleep well and the room was good and comfy. The hotell staff was helpfull and the spa was ok. We also think the room had Nice location. It was a just a short walk to the nearest pub.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kjell62300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Really a good spot to spend with friends and family! The spa, the restaurant and the recepcionist staff was really professional and warmfull! I felt really confortable all the time I spent in this resort little resort! I recomend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Quintino F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#176 of 1,077 in London
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#686 of 1,077 in London
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $155 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing