We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good but service terribly slow”

Maharaja Indian Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 19/09
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #566 of 24,035 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Reviewed 14 August 2021

We decided to eat hereas menu looked good and it was close to our hotel. restaurant was not busy but despite this it took almost an hour for our main courses to arrive. Were on the point of saying we would just pay for starters, leave and go elsewhere. When they finally arrived they were very good. Obviously lot of fresh ingredients and very tasty. Be warned though, despite what it says on their card, they do not appear to be licenced and would not allow us to bring in own drink and pay corkage. Had to rely on alcohol free Cobra. Had food not been so tasty, would have scored them even lower.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MMACInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

We visited this restaurant as were staying nearby & fancied a curry. Restaurant quite small & at full capacity I would feel quite enclosed. Luckily we went early evening (7pm) so it was quiet. Staff not over friendly but did their job in a polite manner. Food was delicious - no complaints. No alcohol sold in the premises but you can pop over the road to Sainsbury’s & get what ever takes your fancy & bring it to your table. I would return.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

Chicken was grey, hard and just plain awful. Food in general bar the Nann bread was just awful. Left feeling sick afterwards. Service so slow despite being only couple within the restaurant itself. Would avoid unless you want to be left with a sore tummy. Would give zero stars if possible. Complained to management on leaving and offered no discount or reimbursement.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Sarap8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

The food was fresh and tasty with warm and welcoming service! I definitely will be returning. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank ChristieTravels130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2021

The friendliest service, wonderful food, and an overall first rate experience. I have had this restaurant's business card in my wallet for 2 years - waiting for the moment I'm back in London and can head their way again. Highly recommend, thanks for a yummy, yummy dinner!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PhinaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Maharaja Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maharaja Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.