We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$212
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$233
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$226
US$210
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$247
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$403
US$384
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
489
602
229
75
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
602
229
75
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovent gardensmall kitchengreat locationapartment hotelbritish museumone bedroom apartmentself cateringtube stationpizza expresssofa bedpiccadilly linegood sizewest endminute walkcentral locationoxford circuscoffee machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Wife and i have stayed in this and the Trafalgar properties a few times. Usually these are a cheap clean nicely located property we really enjoy staying at. Well that has all changed, we were looking at staying at either properties in June - July this year, our usual long stay. We always wait for a deal and get the room for around 85-120 pounds a night. Well this year we waited for the sale 50% off, advertised as all properties from 1st may - 31st December, only problem is we checked multiple countries and hotels with NO sale at all, it was a con. Now to add further insult to this, when we were not logged into our guaranteed members best price Ascott site, the price was 175 pounds per night, when logged in it went to 238.88 pounds!! I rand a number of times and was constantly given different rates, often MORE expensive that both of these prices! I was fobbed off, even called a liar! Unfortunately for them, i took screenshots of EVERYTHING. Finally the international reservations manager, Maricar ICASAS | Manager, Global Reservations Office contacted me, to say Yes they had made a mistake, but did he offer me any 50% off NO, did he offer me the standard 10% off for Members No. These people stuffed us around for days, i was called a liar i was told that price never existed and then NO flash sale for London at all, even whe that was part of the supposed sale. As someone who has literally stayed at hundreds if not thousands of Hotels around the world, i have NEVER encountered such fobbing off of a customer! Any other Hotel or chain ive ever stayed at would be mortified their staff called people liars and certainly would be price gauging with FALSE OFFERS like this...Disgusted , i have included screenshots with the 175 (not logged in) 238 (members price) and the 268 (after i sent screenshots)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank BboyWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BboyWizard

Thank you for sharing your experience on this platform. I am so sorry you found the Ascott site confusing but I am glad to learn that Maricar was able to assist you with your query.I hope we can change your mind about our chain and you will stay with us again. Regards Germana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay here for one night had a great night sleep and the room was great with the small but kitchen area. The only thing the room was not bright need more light. Hope to visit again as the hotel is right in the center which is good.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank omar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear omar d,

Thank you for your most generous and encouraging feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in making your stay a pleasant one.

We will look forward welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Germana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couple of night’s stay for business at Citadines in a studio apartment. The location is great, just across the road from Holborn station and a few minutes’ stroll from Covent Garden.

The fixtures and fittings aren’t luxurious but they are fine for a few night’s stay and the price is more than fair (about £75 per night less than some 4 star hotels I’ve stayed at in central London). Would have been nice to have a bit more wardrobe space, as there are just a few hangers in a small cupboard area where the ironing board is, but that’s a minor issue.

There’s a little Waitrose across the road and a Sainsbury’s and M&S about a 5 min walk away, so good for getting provisions. Microwave, hob, fridge, kettle and plenty of crockery and cutlery, but no glassware provided.

WiFi is free and speedy. I had no issues at all.

Very good sized gym, with a couple of treadmills, cross trainer and bike plus loads of free weights and plenty of space to use the weights / stretch, which was pleasantly surprising. I was the only person using the gym at about 6pm each night I stayed, which was great!

Extremely pleasant and helpful staff and the communal areas in the lobby were welcoming and well laid out for a change of scene from the apartment itself.

If you want a central base at a good price and aren’t expecting 4/5 star hotel luxury, these apartments are a good choice.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sue M
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Citadines Holborn. We’re thrilled to have been your choice of accommodation during your road trip. We pride ourselves on providing personalized service and I am proud that our team members managed to do just that.

We look forward to hearing from you when your travel plans next bring you to London as it would be our pleasure to be of service to you once again.

Regards

Germana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love the idea of hiring an apartment instead of a hotel. I really wanted to like this place.
The apartment was beautifully appointed, but the bed was terribly uncomfortable.
The apartment was at the front of the building so noisy. The air con was good but too loud to leave on over night.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank mooreruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mooreruth,

I am sorry we could not make your stay more comfortable. I hope you will come back giving us another chance to serve you better.

Regards
Germana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While there were several issues in the past, management has improved significantly and made the property an extremely desirable destination in Central London.
Previously the website had many problems with booking using the email subscriber discounts, but this has been corrected and you can actually book and utilize the discounts!
In the past, flying into London and arriving at the hotel early did you no good, as rooms were seldom ready before noon or later. Upon our recent arrival from an early international flight, the room was ready and the appropriate discounts applied to our bill.
Management has also improved the maids making lots of noise in the hallway (they are much quieter now), the towels are big and fluffy, and the extra pillows requested were placed in the room on arrival.
Things I wish they would work on are room lighting (the floor lamp in each room has a switch that is inaccessable as it is located behind furniture) and the heating/cooling system seems to work on its own schedule (and not in the middle of the night).
The property is located near Holborn Tube (easy Heathrow access), Sainsbury's food store, and the best theaters in the world! The kitchen and fridge make life in an hotel much more enjoyable.
Our favorite place to stay in London!

Room Tip: High floors are quieter. End of hallway have less traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear RNewOrleans
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Citadines Holborn. We’re thrilled to have been your choice of accommodation during your road trip once again. We pride ourselves on providing personalized service and I am proud that our team members managed to do just that.
I have noted your comments about the Air con and teh lighting and we are looking at ways to improve this.

We look forward to hearing from you when your travel plans next bring you to London as it would be our pleasure to be of service to you once again.
Regards

Germana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews