We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Mayfair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #493 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

We only stayed one night, for London it is in one of the less busy streets, yet well located. The Ritz and Langans restaurant within easy walking distance. Boris bicycles right opposite the entrance if you fancy cycling around London. The hotel is of a good standard, the room was ok, bathroom also ok, the shower is located within the bath, with a screen (never my favourite)

The buffet breakfast was the usual average standard, so the fired eggs having been sitting around for a while are hard, the rest just luke warm. It's a shame that most hotels are going this way with breakfast. Food should be hot and an egg station for freshly cooked produce should be implemented in my view.

We went out for the night and returned to the hotel around midnight, the bar would not accept cash and only had one person working behind it, we turned up just as about 20 others did and gave up after waiting for about 20 minutes to be served

London prices do mean you don't get the same standard for your money as else where in the UK. It is a good hotel but could improve on service levels, that said I would return and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 352 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

I have been to this hotel many times and everytime I enjoy the hospitality. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff is very very courteous. It's a perfect home away from and specially for us we like the Indian touch of the hotel. Extremely well located and just a 10min walk from Oxford Street this hotel is a gem. Our home in London for sure

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Mohini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Perfect location, an easy level walk from Green Park Underground, on the Piccadilly line, straight from Heathrow, no changes, three stops from Euston station. Warm welcome, clean comfortable rooms, and a great price, miles better than other hotels in Mayfair and little or no traffic noise in the bedrooms. Great restaurants and bars close by. Husband's birthday, champagne and a handwritten note in the room!
Our favourite hotel in London.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank nickpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annettestaunton, General Manager at Washington Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Dear nickpix

Wow! A huge thank you for your marvellous review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Even more satisfying is the fact that we are your ‘favourite hotel in London’. How about that!

Thank you for your patronage and loyalty. We would love to continue spoiling you on your visits so we hope to see you again very soon!

With kind regards,
Annette Staunton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We stayed at the Washington Mayfair Hotel for a birthday celebration, our stay was superb. The staff are extremely friendly and approachable, our rooms where a good size and the beds extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was fantastic, a great choice.
Location is really good just a short walk to Green Park tube, Oxford Street and Hyde Park.
Had a lovely stay made the weekend really special. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnCalthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annettestaunton, General Manager at Washington Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Dear JohnCalthorpe

‘Superb stay’, superb review! Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely thrilled that you had a ‘lovely stay’ and so proud to have contributed to the special birthday weekend. Not only is it so rewarding to receive such wonderful feedback as yours but it is even more satisfying to convey it to all the staff concerned who contributed to your full enjoyment. They were delighted indeed!

Come back soon!

With kind regards,
Annette Staunton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Booked a double room for a night in London with my wife. At checking in we got told we had been upgraded to a King size double...what a complete lie that turned out to be. The bed was in fact 2 old single mattresses put together. The springs on both sides had pretty much given away so we had an awful night's sleep. I suspect that most double rooms are not actually doubles...do not believe what you are booking! See photo

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
6  Thank LeonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annettestaunton, General Manager at Washington Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Dear LeonyG

In the interest of fair reviewing I would like to point out the following:

1. These mattresses are less than 2 years old and in excellent condition.
2. A number of our king size beds are ‘zip and link’ which means they can be zipped together as a king or separated to make a twin. It is an extremely common and practical bed configuration in many hotels which not only enables maximum flexibility but also allows hotels to offer a king bed in rooms where access may not permit a large mattress. It is unusual for anyone to notice, much less complain as it is a true king size bed and very comfortable.
3. However we also have rooms with one king size mattress and an alternative could have been offered on Friday had we known there was a problem.

Not everyone likes all rooms and all locations – we can always offer alternatives but sadly we are not mind readers. Waiting, as in this case, until check out to tell us that you didn’t like the room and unless we reduced the bill by 50% we would get a bad review on Trip Advisor is negative, unhelpful and unfair.

Needless to say, we did not agree and if this is why you gave such a poor review then I am very sorry to see it but feel that threats of this nature are unethical and will leave it to readers to make their own judgement on your feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to read this response.

Regards,
Annette Staunton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#642 of 1,077 in London
2,375 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#115 of 1,077 in London
1,881 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#391 of 1,077 in London
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,359 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#352 of 1,077 in London
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#314 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $195 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing