We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #537 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Stayed at hotel with friend for just one night. No problems or complaints. Location is excellent, 2 minutes walk from Earls Court Tube Station which has direct links to Heathrow & West End. Staff very welcoming & helpful.

The breakfast was buffet style & very nice with plenty of choice. Again the staff on duty were both pleasant & helpful.

Not sure how suitable the hotel would be for anybody with a disability though. It is an old building & it seemed to be necessary to go up or down a step or two to get anywhere. Other reviews have mentioned small rooms but our's was fine. I suspect we were lucky here as it was a triple room & there was just two of us. Most importantly, the room was both clean & comfortable.

There is no air-conditioning in this hotel, I presume because of the age of the building but this would only be a problem if the weather were particularly hot. This was not a huge problem when we were there & opening the window resolved things. I have stayed in a number of other hotels in the area & none of them had air-conditioning either.

I would certainly stay here again & be willing to recommend to others, though I would prepare them about the above first.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vvvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 906 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2008

I was nervous about staying at the Burns for a holiday, following some earlier TripAdvisor postings, but we were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our stay. Remember that you are staying in a Victorian building, on a beautiful and quiet side street in Earls Court, and go with it! The location was absolutely perfect, near Earls Court Tube, and some fantastic pubs right around the corner. Since our stay was broken up by a day away from London, we had the chance to see what booking a "double" could result in, as the first room was absolutely tiny with a double bed, but crisp and clean, overlooking a quiet courtyard. Our second "double" was much bigger with a king size bed and a full-size bathroom. Same great courtyard view. The staff was most helpful, the included breakfasts were delicious, and the ambience was perfect for a first trip to London.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SDBSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My husband and I had 3 nights at this hotel at the very start of our 2 month european holiday, and what a great way to start our holiday. Fabulous location, great room overlooking the courtyard, lovely garden across the road from the hotel, and wonderful vibe on Earls Court Rd. Hotel staff were very helpful, internet access was cheap and the breakfast was plentiful. Easy walk to tube and shops. Rooms could do with a small fridge but other than that it was great. Other travellers have mentioned the rooms were small but we found ours to be fine. Recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mrs_Muzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

The Hotel was very clean, but very small.
We were a party of three; one couple and one lady. So we were surprised that more thought had not been given to the room allocation. The double room was on a different floor to the single room. We asked to be closer together and were given rooms on the same floor but one at the opposite end of the corridor to the other.
The double room was so small I had difficulity in getting my case around the door, there was only a tiny window which did open fully and no air-conditioing.
We asked for a larger room and were told they were all the same size but slighty different shapes, the duty manager helpfully showed us two other rooms, we settled on the second option which ended up next door to our friend's single room!
A group of American students took over the small lounge and foyer for the duration. We were tripping up over laptop cables and the management did nothing about it.
The second day we could not use the garden as the dining room furniture was outside as they varnished the dining room floor that day, so we had to go to the front door to smoke, this meant weaving our way through the students each time as they were spawled out on the floor in the foyer at this stage.
It was in a terrific area, but it is a pity that all the patrons were not taken into consideration.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IsabellaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Stayed here on a business trip to Earls court. Value wise ok. room clean and tidy and ok. Single room, could almost touch both walls. Had a superior single, can only think the bath made it superior!!!. Would not recommend or return.... In london it is hard to find quality at a low price but somewhere else will be better than this. Breakfast ok...

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zazablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#441 of 1,076 in London
398 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#497 of 1,076 in London
437 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#622 of 1,076 in London
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#505 of 1,076 in London
1,079 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#427 of 1,076 in London
835 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#408 of 1,076 in London
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $109 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing