We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveller rating
212
649
389
139
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
649
389
139
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews earls court barkston gardens blackbird pub tube station full english breakfast piccadilly line quiet side street pubs and restaurants booked a single room would stay here again minute walk hotel is situated yogurt couple of nights location is excellent short stay london hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We (2 adults) spent 3 nights in the Best Western Burns Hotel in Kensington. Check-in was smooth and friendly, and room was ready on our arrival, even though we were about half an hour earlier than our advised check-in time

The room itself was small enough to not allow us to store our suitcases properly. We were flying off to Portugal for a week after London so had 2 decent sized suitcases and ended up standing them next to the bed when we were in the room. This then blocked our way to the door! Not ideal in the event of an emergency, but we never needed to leave the room for one so I guess it was ok with hindsight. Bathroom was clean, tidy and well presented

Breakfast - I had prebooked full english's, which were ok. Nothing too special, but not that bad either. Dining room was well-lit and airy and staff were friendly

Overall, the hotel was conveniently located a couple of minutes walk away form Earl's Court Tube Statiion, although I expect you could get very wet dragging suitcases there in the rain. There was also a good selection of shops for anything you needed between the Tube and the Hotel. The room and hotel could have done with a bit of TLC, but it served our needs perfectly

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank daztheracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I found this hotel to be pretty good. Probably the only real downside was the size of the room. My friend and booked a twin room and we could reach out and touch each other from any point in the room (and we're only 5,2 girls so the room was pretty small!)
Apart from this the beds were comfortable and clean and the cleaners were efficient. The bathroom was small but clean and adequate. The TV had a good range of channels.
The best thing about the hotel was the location. It was a 2 minute walk from the tube station and there were plently of cafes, pubs, restaurants, convenience store and a post office 1 minute away on earls court road. We found plenty of restaurants close by that were cheap (within a student budget) that werent mentioned in the guidebooks.
The continental breakfast was good and the wait staff were lovely.
All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We stayed at this Hotel from June 4th for six nights and did some sightseeing in London. When I made the reservation via internet (Best Western reservation system) I asked for "best price" and so I think that's the reason they gave us a tiny double room on the 4th floor (right under the roof).
We asked for a non-smoking room which was granted. The room was very small but clean. The bathroom was ridiculously small with no real ventilation - so one could see a mouldy ceiling. The towels were changed every day. There is no air-condition and it was getting quite hot in the afternoon but we could leave the window open during the night so it was bearable.

The English breakfast was superb and the continental breakfast buffet well equiped; the staff were very friendly both in the restaurant and at the front desk.

Although it's just a short walk down to Earl's Court station the hotel is located in a very quiet neighbourhood. And there are plenty of shops and restaurants around, even a 24h Sainsbury's supermarket!

We would stay at this hotel again but next time we would choose a bigger room - not on the top floor.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sightseer802799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

Have just returned from a theatre break. Stayed at this hotel, including full English breakfast (which was cokked fresh to order - so was all piping hot) and good tickets to Whistle Down the Wind - paid a total of £111.00 for two adults. Which i think is excellent value. Had a twin room - yes it was hot but opened the window beforewe went out so was fairly cool when we came back in the evening. The room was equipped with fresh towels, coffee and tea making facilites -so no real complaints. Staff were friendly. The tube station is a couple of minutes walk away. The show is excellent. All in all a good trip for a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

The hotel has a great location. Although it is so close to the tube station you can hear them in your room. We stayed for three nights and our family shared two rooms. Both rooms were tiny and had poor air circulation. It was unbearably hot. There was no air conditioning or fans. The hotel is clean but a little worn. There were holes in our curtains and duck tape on the carpet in the halls. The hall smelled of the cigarette ashtrays. I don't recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank nw6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews