We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Above Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #537 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 3 October 2006

Just got back from staying at the Best Western Burns Hotel in Barkston Gardens, Kensington, London, right in Earls Court - ALL I CAN SAY IS...GREAT! The location was a two-minute walk to the Earls Court Tube station and the area is filled with some good little cafés and pubs.

We found the hotel to be very accommodating: we arrived at Heathrow at 630am on an overnight flight from Canada; from the airport, the tube ride to the Earls Court station was about 30 minutes. The front desk person was very helpful: she requested that housekeeping clean a room for us right away b/c she knew we'd come in on the red-eye...we were in our room and taking a nap within the hour. The room itself was fine, if a bit crowded (but not uncomfortably so). It was tidy, quiet and clean; we had no complaints.

We didn't opt to eat in the hotel as the breakfast prices seemed a bit high, but we found great places on the high street in front of the tube station where we bought coffees and breakfast buns to go.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a convenient and reasonably-priced location within a few minutes' tube ride to all the areas around London (you can walk too, of course, but those maps are deceptive sometimes and what looks to be a few stations away is actually an hour by foot!).

The tube line from Heathrow stops at Earls Court and if you need to get to Gatwick, it's a 3-station stop to the Gatwick Airport train at Victoria (is that right?) Station. Now I'm rambling so I'll stop, but I do recommend this hotel highly, as does my husband!

4  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 954 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2006

We (2 adults) spent 3 nights in the Best Western Burns Hotel in Kensington. Check-in was smooth and friendly, and room was ready on our arrival, even though we were about half an hour earlier than our advised check-in time

The room itself was small enough to not allow us to store our suitcases properly. We were flying off to Portugal for a week after London so had 2 decent sized suitcases and ended up standing them next to the bed when we were in the room. This then blocked our way to the door! Not ideal in the event of an emergency, but we never needed to leave the room for one so I guess it was ok with hindsight. Bathroom was clean, tidy and well presented

Breakfast - I had prebooked full english's, which were ok. Nothing too special, but not that bad either. Dining room was well-lit and airy and staff were friendly

Overall, the hotel was conveniently located a couple of minutes walk away form Earl's Court Tube Statiion, although I expect you could get very wet dragging suitcases there in the rain. There was also a good selection of shops for anything you needed between the Tube and the Hotel. The room and hotel could have done with a bit of TLC, but it served our needs perfectly

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank daztheracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I found this hotel to be pretty good. Probably the only real downside was the size of the room. My friend and booked a twin room and we could reach out and touch each other from any point in the room (and we're only 5,2 girls so the room was pretty small!)
Apart from this the beds were comfortable and clean and the cleaners were efficient. The bathroom was small but clean and adequate. The TV had a good range of channels.
The best thing about the hotel was the location. It was a 2 minute walk from the tube station and there were plently of cafes, pubs, restaurants, convenience store and a post office 1 minute away on earls court road. We found plenty of restaurants close by that were cheap (within a student budget) that werent mentioned in the guidebooks.
The continental breakfast was good and the wait staff were lovely.
All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We stayed at this Hotel from June 4th for six nights and did some sightseeing in London. When I made the reservation via internet (Best Western reservation system) I asked for "best price" and so I think that's the reason they gave us a tiny double room on the 4th floor (right under the roof).
We asked for a non-smoking room which was granted. The room was very small but clean. The bathroom was ridiculously small with no real ventilation - so one could see a mouldy ceiling. The towels were changed every day. There is no air-condition and it was getting quite hot in the afternoon but we could leave the window open during the night so it was bearable.

The English breakfast was superb and the continental breakfast buffet well equiped; the staff were very friendly both in the restaurant and at the front desk.

Although it's just a short walk down to Earl's Court station the hotel is located in a very quiet neighbourhood. And there are plenty of shops and restaurants around, even a 24h Sainsbury's supermarket!

We would stay at this hotel again but next time we would choose a bigger room - not on the top floor.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ck+dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

Have just returned from a theatre break. Stayed at this hotel, including full English breakfast (which was cokked fresh to order - so was all piping hot) and good tickets to Whistle Down the Wind - paid a total of £111.00 for two adults. Which i think is excellent value. Had a twin room - yes it was hot but opened the window beforewe went out so was fairly cool when we came back in the evening. The room was equipped with fresh towels, coffee and tea making facilites -so no real complaints. Staff were friendly. The tube station is a couple of minutes walk away. The show is excellent. All in all a good trip for a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#437 of 1,081 in London
438 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#498 of 1,081 in London
1,093 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#423 of 1,081 in London
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#433 of 1,081 in London
192 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $121 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing