We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in London”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #568 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in London”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were travelling to London for a family vacation (3 kids/2 adults) and didn't want to spend all of our money on a hotel that we were only planning to sleep at. The Amsterdam worked out fine. They accomodated our request (requested ahead of time) for us all to stay in one suite. We were on the top floor-lots of climbing as the elevator is a bit small! We had a 2 bedroom suite, with a kitchenette and a nice size sitting room w/ a blow-up twin mattress, tv and 2 small sofas and a small, yet functional bathroom. The hot water was a bit of a challenge, you never wanted to be shower taker #4 or 5, but that can be worked around w/ some taking showers a night, some in the morning.
Breakfast in the morning was good, although sometimes crowded. Not like in the states with lots of choices, but enough- cereals, yogurts, toast, juice, coffee sometimes some cut up meat and cheese. You can't beat the area for convience as Earls Court tube is a 2 min walk away and the #74 and C1 buses stop almost in front of Trebovir Rd. 2 small supermarkets nearby and a big Tesco farther down the road made getting extra food for our kitchenette easy. Our room (& the whole hotel for that matter) was clean and neat. We didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff, but were greated warmly upon our arrival and when we did have a question they were very helpful. Earls Court is a bit noisy during the day and at night, but we were not terribly bothered by the noise at night.
If you are looking or are used to staying in the big US style Marriotts or Hyatts, this might not be the place for you. We have stayed in those as well and our kids were a bit taken back, but this hotel worked out perfect for us. I would stay here again- no second thoughts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    309
    113
    27
    18
See reviews for
190
174
61
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great location, friendly and helpfull staff. Great for a couple of days stays. Will go again!

Helpful?
Thank TeeFoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in September 2011. Two couples two rooms.
A little outdated but the location was good. Had some trouble with one of the rooms but Management put us in a suite in the basement. Suite was good. Breakfast was Continental but adequate especially as we had spent two weeks on full English breakfasts while travelling. Management were very concerned and did a good job. Location of hotel was close to restaurants and Earls Court Underground station. This waqs the most expensive of all the Hotels stayed at in the UK which included Hiltons and Crown Plazas BUT this was London so expect to pay more for less.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernized room. Street is quiet apart from early morning - alarm clock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianClark33928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Have stayed here 4 times in the past when a lady called Judith ran the place. This time things were somewhat less perfect. The bed top cover was not clean (although the sheets were spotless) and the toilet seat had definitely seen better days! The radiators were off in the day, but as we were out & about this did not matter - but then they were on all night long, and the thermostat on ours didn't work so we had to sleep with the window open. Didn't complain about these things as had already complained about breakfast. Although we had breakfast at 8.30 all the baguettes had already gone - with an hour to go! The morning after complaining at reception there were still no baguettes when we got there...only crumbs. Toast just seems a bit sad on holiday... We had asked the waitress for more but just got a shrug - which I think was to do with her lack of English rather than manners to be fair.
It is still value for money and the location is great - but I think its time for us to find a new place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayteey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#576 of 1,068 in London
457 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#851 of 1,068 in London
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#536 of 1,068 in London
437 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#695 of 1,068 in London
957 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#735 of 1,068 in London
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $158 - $439
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing