We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$328
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$195
US$164
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$160
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$289
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$167
US$139
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jesmond Dene Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$342
US$306
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,495)
Filter reviews
3,495 results
Traveller rating
542
1,063
926
514
450
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
1,063
926
514
450
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold street tube stationsteam roomtheatre breaktea and coffeegood nights sleepfull englishwest endtaxisshoreditchpubs
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 3,495 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In desperate need of modernization, public transport 18 mins walk through a not particularly nice part of town. No Air conditioning or double glazing, breakfast ok, chose not to eat evening meal as the tables were sticky and dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RDL2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear RDL2018

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican.

I am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and apologise for any inconvenience caused. I will address the issues you have highlighted with the service teams to understand what needs to be done better.

The closest station to our hotel is Old Street, which is a 9 minute walk away so it would seem that you went to a different station further away. For any future stays, please note that this is our closest station.

We have many renovation projects currently taking place to improve the hotel and I hope you will visit again to see this for yourself.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Chand
Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've spent many nights in hotels over the last 20 years, probably half of my life.
This is one of the ugliest and repellent places I've ever been. Even Hotels in Nigeria are better.
- No aircondition
- interior rubbish and looks like it was stolen in russia 40 years ago
- carpets are so dirty I couldn't walk bar feet.
- bathroom, oh my gosh....!
- bed, a nightmare, worn out and stinky
- breakfast, not everyone loves english breakfast. there are many different cultures in the world and not a single one was reflected in the breakfast buffet.
- staff, not worth to mention....

In germany this place would be rated with zero stars and the department of health would close it down immediately

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carlosR496NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear carlosR496NQ

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that you had a negative experience staying with us and that we did not meet your full expectations on this occasion. Feedback of this nature is exceptionally disappointing. I will be looking into the issues you have raised and investigate this thoroughly to understand how this happened. We strive for guest satisfaction and I apologise that you were everything but happy with your stay.

Please note that our reception team are available 24/7 to address any concerns or issues/enquiries our guests may have.

In spite of this, I sincerely hope that you might return so that you can see all the improvements we are making to our hotel. We currently have many ongoing renovation projects taking place and I hope you will visit again to see this for yourself.

Kind regards and best wishes
Chand
Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights at 150 pounds per night. Bedroom was the smallest I have ever stayed in and given the price extremely poor value . Had to bend down to get around bed as tv was on wall. The carpet was dirty and worn and the woodwork chipped and needed painting.
The only good thing were the staff who were very good and professional.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Pasquale2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Pasquale2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent stay with us. Whilst I am happy that there were good aspects to your stay I am concerned that we did not meet full expectation on this occasion.

Feedback of this nature is exceptionally disappointing. Rest assured that I will look into each of the issues you raise personally and take action as appropriate. I am sorry that you had this experience.

We are working hard to improve our services and I hope you will return in the future to see this for yourself.

My apologies once again.

Kind regards
Chand
Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My trip to London was amazing. The hotel is perfect, situated in a good position, well connected to the city-center.
The room was tidy and clean, the swimming pool is a ++ , really relaxing after a day out.
The staff is the best thing of this hotel, especially Mohammed(the manager) is the best, he literally saved me one night, even if it was really really late, he helped me out with a little problem in my room, and changed it!
I recommend this place to everyone visiting London, you will never find another hotel with this kind of quality/price in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Antonio R

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Chand
Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upvote: 1. Housekeeping service. 2. Can be accessible from all part without much effort. 3. Nice front desk staffs.
Downvote: 1. Shabby rooms.

I had a last moment booking so price they quoted was skyhigh compared to the room quality.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Abdullah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Abdullah M

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We have many renovation projects currently taking place to improve the hotel and I hope you will visit again to see this for yourself.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Chand
Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews