We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated Hotel ”
Review of Shakespeare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shakespeare Hotel
Ranked #643 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

The rooms were extremely small and bathroom felt like an airplane bathroom with a shower added to it. There is no elevator, which mean you have to make a very tough exercise with your luggage as weight (pulling you down). Last, breakfast was the worse I have had for the 24 days I stayed in the UK. You can find a hotel next to it for the same price with bigger room and better breakfast.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fatemah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Great for an overnight stay the staff are very friendly and the hotel is close to Paddington station and the main sites of London there are also some nice bars and restaurants around the area I would recommend this hotel

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Fortunately picked up the good price for this hotel at booking.com. Spent there two nights. What to say? Good place at Norfolk square. Welcoming reception. Room was too small, but it's London! The breakfast is poor, very continental. Certainly "B" mark!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

OK so this isn't a great hotel but it is great for access to Paddington station if you have a train or flight to catch. I didn't get the room I booked, had to carry my heavy bag up 4 flights of narrow stairs, the bathroom is tiny even for a skinny person and the Wi-Fi is terrible. However my travel companion got a better and bigger ground floor room on the return visit when he was staying a few nights.
A basic breakfast is provided, and there are several cheap eats and pubs in the surrounding streets. Two minutes walk from the station is it's best asset.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you can't get yourself or bags up very narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed for a night. It was a long night. Got a tiny closet for a room. No lifts, had to carry my own luggage upstairs. That was a backpack and carry-on as well as a suitcase. I had to do that in two trips. I asked for help and was looked at as if I was speaking Martian. In the morning I called and asked for help. That was hesitant. Great location. Beautiful building. I wouldn’t recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank kimplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear kimplym,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We must apologise you did not receive the service you should have when asked for help to carry to your luggage. It is for sure unacceptable and definitely not our standard policy. We are aware that stairs can be hard especially with luggage and on the busiest days we plan a porter service, nevertheless we usually take pride of our friendly and courteous staff that are keen to assist when needed. If you kindly send me over an email some detail about your stay (check in/out date, room number, arrival time) I am going to investigate personally how this happened; please address your email to: customer-service@shakespearehotel.co.uk. In regards to the small room, I am afraid lack of space is typical in London and especially if you booked one of our economy rooms they are usually small. I am glad the location worked well for you and appreciated our building. We would be very happy If you chose us on your next London visit and we had the opportunity to restore your good faith.

All the best
Shakespeare Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0 km away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#608 of 1,081 in London
614 reviews
0 km away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#664 of 1,081 in London
614 reviews
0 km away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#863 of 1,081 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#641 of 1,081 in London
444 reviews
0.8 km away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#552 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
0 km away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#685 of 1,081 in London
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Hotel

Address: 22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $112 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to stay during your visit in London. Very nice neighborhood, a personal favourite, with nice cafes and restaurants. A very nice walk to Hyde Park is recommended or to Oxford Street for those shopping lovers, both are walking distance away. Rooms have been upgraded and there is always someone to help. The price is very low, for what you get, so be sure to check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn London
Shakespeare Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing