We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one deserves to stay in this place, no matter how small their budget is”
Review of Notting Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Notting Hill Hotel
Ranked #878 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“No one deserves to stay in this place, no matter how small their budget is”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The only 2 things I found ok about this place is their location (near the underground, bus stations, restaurants and tourist shops), and the neighbourhood (quiet, relatively safe). Yes, the room rates are cheap, but you also get cheap service and accommodations. The rooms are miniscule. Between the bed and the small dressing table, you only have room for one person to move around. The bathroom is so small you can touch both sides of the walls with only one arm extended. The "shower" is only as big as a large wash basin. You need to wait for hot water to come on for more than 5 minutes. The first single room they gave me had such an uncomfortable bed I had to request for another room, which they did, but the mattress was only marginally better than the first one. The walls need to be repainted. Breakfast is so basic, might as well go eat at the nearby McDonald's. Seriously, if you want to stay in the Notting Hill/Portobello Rd area, find another place to stay in. You have been warned.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aforeignaffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    51
    42
    72
See reviews for
27
52
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2011

we stayed here early december.we found this b&b the worst ever experience as there was .it was mould on the walls the curtains were hanging off the rails the sheets were ripped and we were to affried to use the shower in case we got legionairs . The lift was only big enough for 1 person it that small. then we caught the porter sleeping in the coffee lounge breackfast was cold toast and fruit cocktail out of a tin STAY HERE AT OWN RISK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from room 56 or better advice dont go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

edinburgh, uk
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

this is a relatively cheap hotel for the area, if one books it online through the right site.
the room is for monks, and drunks,, the bathroom for the contortionist the constipated.
the shower did have hot water (5-10 minute wait),,the bed mattress was probably made from the re cycled Corn Flakes boxes from the "dining room". Breakfast here gets the all star no where in the western world worst , cold old toast, instant coffee, mystery fruit cocktail, and the pre-mattress boxed Corn Flakes. Cannot beat the location, at the top of Portobello road,seconds from the Central Line tube, quiet, nice neighborhood, comfy TV lounge, pleasant employees. Basically dumped off bags, went out till late, crashed onto bed, woke up, left . 55 pounds, so far nothing communicable, no bed bugs. would go back.

Room Tip: has an elevator so high rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larrydeluxe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laihia
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

There were three of us, travelling with limited budget, and we wanted a decent, cheap hotel to stay in but with good location (tube station nearby) and own bathroom. And we got all that. Portobello road and Notting hill was a charmig area to stay on vacation, and it only took like two minutes to get to the tube station. There were also several restaurants and pubs from which to choose.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming when we arrived, the receptionist gave us a map and explained the bus services and things like that. We were also able to pay the bill separately.

Our room was a very compact one, with three single beds, a desk and a bedside table between two of the beds. We had our own bathroom, the shower was okay and we got hot water any time we wanted. Cleaning was good, our beds were done every day and rubbish took out.

Breakfast was served in a spacious room, there were always free tables and room for us. We could have as much bread as we wanted, and there were jams, juice, cereals and tea and coffee.

We had to check out at ten o'clock, but as our flight left in the evening, we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel, but with our own risk.

This was a hotel that we could recommend and stay in again! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RousRauno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place! A total dump. I wish I had just stayed in the car. The beds are like concrete and the rooms are like a run down brothel!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1356890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#826 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#609 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#345 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#349 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#569 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notting Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notting Hill Hotel

Property: Notting Hill Hotel
Address: 2 Pembridge Square | Bayswater, London W2 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #878 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $114 - $231
Hotel Class:2 star — Notting Hill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Notting Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notting Hill
Notting Hill London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing