We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive for averageness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Ranked #643 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 February 2012

normally stay here when on business. The rooms are ok, nothing to shout home about. The location is good.

Service is slightly above average, always seems to be understaffed. Breakfast is poor, please avoid this on the weekends, way too busy, and not worth the wait.

Expensive too. Dont really recommend this, but if you have no other choice, its still choose-able.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

ChrisCheung,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 766 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

A beautiful building from the outside however the grace has lapsed on the inside. It was however clean and the staff were helpful. The breakfast was plentiful however avoid the bready substandard sausages and the boiled mushrooms - and some of the waiting staff who, whilst being very attentive and friendly could have used anti-perspirant. The room itself was big enough with a decent shower and always plenty of hot water - the downside was that the plug didn't fit so shaving was a problem and when the plug was wedged shut with a flannel we found that the overflow wasn't attached and the water poured out over the floor. Generally though we had a good stay and would revisit. Interestingly the basement toilet facilities were extremely modern and newly fitted - if this standard were to be applied to the rest of the hotel then this would be a gem as the location is central but quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Jason M,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was OK, the bathroom was clean and there was a window which opened which is always a nice thing in these over heated hotels. The hotel however is in an excellent area with a conveninet ncp car park just down the street, its just behind Debenhams on oxford street. The check in staff were rushed off their feet and got interrupted all the time - the concierge who should have been handling some of the problems kept wandering off. The breakfast was nothing special considering this is a reasonably classed hotel, the sausages were cheap and nasty. We stayed here on a business trip and would stay here again for it's convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadowfaxlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel on a special offer. We had to pay for one night and then got the second free. We booked into a double room and asked the hotel to add a third bed for my four year old son, which they did after we reminded housekeeping.
The room itself was fairly compact, more so with the extra bed, but clean and all in working order. The bathroom was perfectly clean and everything worked. We appreciated the flat screen tv and a range of channels for us and my son.
All in all a good location, we could see the back of Debenhams on Oxford street and walk to Bond street tube in 10 minutes. We were` pleasently surprised for the price and would stay again if they ran similar offers (looking at the full price tariff then I would say it seemed a bit expensive for what the hotel was). But in general good location, perfectly acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloucesterTracyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed 1 night on business.

From the outside the hotel looked promising but inside it is dated (seems to be undergoing a refurb as many hallways smelt strongly of paint)

Check in set the tone - the person checking me in was constantly distracted - when another guest came down as their key card was not working despite being midway through checking me in she left me standing there as she went off to serve them! - she seemed to keep getting distracted by lots of other things and at no time did I feel I had her full attention. My colleague was being checked in (by another front desk clerk) at the same time but my check in took more than twice as long. Also despite confirming my loyalty card number she failed to enter it - I am now trying to get the pointed added retrospectively.

Location:
Good for tourists who wish to shop - located behind Debenhams, close to tube station.

Room:
I was assigned a room facing the road (my colleague was given a room towards the back & reported later her room was very quiet) As the location is set away from the main road (hotel is on a street behind Debenhams) I did not give it a second thought but would regret this later when I returned to the room to sleep.

Room was on 2nd floor
Colour palette of room was quite dark/dated decor
Cheap looking dark wood furniture (table, chair, bedside cabinet etc)
Window was single glazed and so provided no noise insulation (did not realise how bad this was till I tried to sleep - at night I could hear every car go by, peoples conversations on the street as they walked by etc) - I lost count of the number of times I woke up during the night.
Bathroom had bath & shower - No mini toiletries - just a large tube of Dove attached to the wall
Sheets - ave - low quality - added bonus was the hairs (not mine) I later discovered on one side of the bed :- (
Flatscreen TV - picture quality was so poor that on some channels it was barely watchable

My colleague had a room set back from the road - and whilst their room had a similarly dated decor, it was super quiet - so might be worth asking for a quiet room when checking in.

We had an early meeting so decided to skip breakfast so can't comment on that

Compared to the other Holiday Inn I usual stay at in London (Bloomsbury) this was quite poor, given the choice I will not return here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear ljn_uk,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford Circus. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy good night sleep because of the traffic noise. Our receptionists can be very busy but we certainly can find way to improve our check-in service. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to London.

Sincerely,
Lin S.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#171 of 1,073 in London
1,985 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#753 of 1,073 in London
658 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#60 of 1,073 in London
3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Price Range: $216 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing