We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #91 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We recently stayed for a couple of nights. It's a really nice hotel with very friendly, efficient staff.

We had a standard room which was a good size, spotlessly clean, comfortable and exceptionally quiet.

The array of food at breakfast was impressive - the only slight niggle being that the hot plates were not keeping the recently prepared food very warm.

The location of the hotel is great being a very easy 5 minute walk from Victoria. A bonus for us was a visit to the Queens Gallery just a few yards from the hotel when we had a couple of free hours. The current Scott and Shackleton exhibition is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AardwolfUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,603
    890
    226
    92
    33
See reviews for
831
1,763
171
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have just arrived home from a family trip to London with our 12 year old son. The trip was a surprise for his birthday. Staying at Rubens made it an extra special treat.
On arrival we were met by the concierge who spoke personally to my son and referred to him by name and the fact that it was his Birthday which was a nice touch. We were all made to feel like special guests.
The room was fabulous we were in the "Executive King" and if you look on the hotel gallery it was the red and grey room with the red shiny chairs. My son had a pull out bed and ours was a huge super king - all extremely comfortable with crisp white bedding. We were then delivered a complimentary Birthday cake which was a lovely surprise - sumptuous chocolate and heavenly. We also had a complimentary fruit bowl which included pineapple, raspberries, kiwi and mango as well as all the usual. Tea and coffee making facilities were plentiful.
The hotel towels were thick and fluffy and there were slippers and robes. The toiletries were good quality and the room had plenty of wardrobe space, an iron and a hairdryer.
Breakfast was brilliant - continental cheeses and hams, breads buns and pastries, organic cereals, dried and fresh fruits, yogurts and every kind of freshly squeezed juice and all varieties of milk including soya. Three varieties of toast were brought to the table with jams. The cooked breakfast included black pudding, bacon, sausages, scrambled, fried or poached eggs - all freshly made on order, fried toast and hash browns. All was perfectly cooked and delicious.
The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from Victoria station and the Victoria Theatre - currently showing Billy Elliot. There are numerous lovely restraunts and cafes surrounding the hotel. We ate at Bbar next door which was second to none. The palace Mews are directly opposite and Buckingham Palace is a two minute walk. Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden etc are about a mile to a mile and a half away. Sloane Square in a 15 minute walk with all it's lovely shops and cafe's. We paid £18.00 in a taxi from Euston Station to the hotel and about £9 to Covent Garden.
The Bus tour stops immediately outside the door - we purchased the tickets from the concierge. We also visited the Dungeons which were a hoot -albeit a little scary and Shrek the Musical which was ace but a Panto like. The younger children were howling with laughter as were the adults but teenagers may not find it as cool! We ate at Jamies Italian in Covent Garden which was fabulous, a great atmosphere with attentive staff and wonderful food.
I have previously visited London both for business and pleasure on numerous occasions and our experience at Rubens was my favourite so far. I really felt the sincerity of the staff who couldn't do enough to help, the decor was impressive and Regal and it was well placed. Thankyou to all at Rubens for making our stay FABULOUS!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redsinger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

After a long flight nightmare, the king bed in our small but charming room was fabulous! And the tub in the marble bathroom was big enough for a good long soak. Helpful staff and a tremendous buffet breakfast along with its location makes this hotel worth a repeat stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheIndulgentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at The Rubens recently in February and first impressions did not disappoint us.The front of house staff were very welcoming and very helpful.The hotel is in an ideal location near Victoria station(2mins) and 5mins from Buckingham Palace.The bar and dining areas were nice but not as relaxing as they should for a bar & was more suited for meetings. There are good pubs and restaurants nearby.The room we had was small but comfortable.all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkCarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

One night room-only stay, celebrating our anniversary.
Faultless service from all the staff, from the guys out front to all in the lobby.
Had requested a quiet room and got one at the rear, perfect.
No personal need to look out over the Queens horses in the Royal Mews or Buckingham Palace gardens but doubtless a front room could provide these.
It's March, London and raining. The room was warm and spotless, the service 'genuine'.
5 minutes walk to 'Wicked' at the Appollo Victoria (but Les Mis is far far better if you only have time for one show).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#25 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#201 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,383 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#37 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $269 - $668
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing