We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in London.”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #289 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the best in London.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here with a number of family members to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday.

From the moment we arrived we were looked after, catered for, welcomed, and made to feel like we were the only people staying there.

The hotel is in a great position just two-minute's walk from Great Portland tube station. Oxford Circus and Regent's Park are both close also.

The hotel is stunningly decorated; clean & modern yet with a combination of new and old art adorning the walls and tables. There is a calm, relaxed atmosphere the moment you walk in and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Our executive bedroom was fantastic; spacious, clean, modern, well-appointed with TV, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, and a lavish bathroom with all sorts of soaps, shampoo's & lotions. The bed was huge and comfy and there was no noise from outside, despite roads being pretty close.

There is a wonderful bar that serves afternoon tea as well as the usual beers, wines and cocktails in the evening but perhaps the highlight is the magnificent breakfast. Everything you could wish for is on offer, freshly-cooked, tasty, and lots of Spanish influence (but you still have the traditional English if that's what you're after).

The waiters and waitresses couldn't be more helpful and courteous and, throughout, we were made to feel special and valued as a customer.

This hotel is highly recommended and one of the best I've stayed in whilst travelling in London.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Matt R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Melia White House.

We are delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and thank you for your most kind comments about our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

With our kind regards
Yiorgos P Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Melia White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,735
    2,368
    830
    362
    224
See reviews for
1,475
2,253
290
1,537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel was a mixed experience. Let's start with the good. The breakfast choice and service was very extensive and nicely executed with cheery staff. Now the less good.The check in took ages, not because there was a queue but the check in agent struggled to get my booking identified at the rate I had prepaid - this was 15 mins! The room (upgraded apparently) was on the top floor and was, at first appearances nice. However the reality was the bathroom was tiny and one had to manouvre round to open the door; the room and bathroom needed a good dust; the room was showing signs of high wear; the towels had an aire of dry cleaning solvent;there was significant noise from the services on the roof above (extractor/lift machine room I assume).

Room Tip: Avoid top floor (roof services) and if you wish to avoid road noise get a back facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear TechnoProf,

Thank you for choosing the Meliá White House for your most recent stay in London.

We were extremely happy to see of your positive comments with regards to our breakfast and the staff at the restaurant. On the same note we would like to apologise for the inconveniences caused during your check in and the condition of your room. Our Rooms Division management will be looking onto these to ensure that similar incidents will not reoccur.

Once again thank you for your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back

With best regards
Yiorgos P Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in a classic double room on the 5th floor having booked direct through the Melia hotels website. The room was in the main clean and tidy however there were small areas of mould growth around the bath edge under the shower.

The room we stayed in was compact. There was not much room to navigate around the bed. The bed was advertised as a king size bed which it was but it was two mattresses together which meant a small gap down the middle which I hate. The bathroom was small and getting into and out of the bath/over shower was an art. The bath was deep so some agility was required getting in and out whilst remaining upright!

The check in and out process went well. The staff were fine and the reception and communal areas of the hotel were excellent.

The location is good just away from the main road so traffic noise is minimised. 3 underground stations are nearby - we mainly used Warren Street (10 mins walk) and Great Portland St (5 mins walk) which enabled quick access to most of the city. Buses run on the main road near the hotel.

We used room service - food was fine and promptly delivered. We ate once in one of the restaurants and the service was slow and the food quality was hit and miss. Some good and some not so good.

Overall the stay was fine but somehow felt short changed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AggyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in an executive room and although the room is not so impressive comparing with the lobby and resting ares, it is quite good. Bathroom needs renovation.
Breakfast buffet is great: great food and great service. Reception staff was very nice and helpful.
And if you come from Spain, you can speak spanish with almost every member of the staff.
If you stay in an executive room you have access to a special lounge where you can have a drink and rest comfortably for a while.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Bertismo,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to tahink you for your kind comments, especially the ones with regards to our staff.

Thank you for choosing the Melia White House and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Yiorgos P Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The location of the hotel is superb for anyone coming in from the north of England on the train and won't be too much trouble for those coming in from abroad. It's an ideal place to explore much of the tourist areas north of the river and was easy on the tube to the likes of Greenwich.
The reception, bar and restaurant were grand, as is the exterior, and hark back to a 30s style. On arriving the check in wasn't smooth as some rooms weren't ready but the cocktails in the bar were refreshing and the mellow atmosphere in there meant the delay didn't cause any stress.
The rooms are very cosy (maybe a bit tight for some), but at the end of the day I was in London and there are much better things to do than hang around a hotel room! The secondary glasing kept out enough of the traffic noise despite our room facing Grt Portland Stn and so there was no sleep disruption even for a light sleeper.
Breakfast is a substantial buffet with cava if you can get to it but at over £20 a pop it's not worth the money, even for the hungry. Best bet is walk over to the little cafe by the station which does decent coffee and breakfast stuff.
Service at the reception and at breakfast wasn't as good as I had expected from a 4* but wasn't bad. A good experience overall though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinsley_S_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Tinsley_S_D,

Thank you for choosing the Melia White House and for posting your review on tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind comments, especially the ones with regards to our staff. We are sorry to see that your experience during the breakfast time was not to your expecations. We will do our utmost to improve further.

Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back

With best wishes
Yiorgos P Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#279 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $238 - $595
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing