We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique hotel”
Review of Avo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avo Hotel
Ranked #121 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Within walking distance (20 mins) of the Emirates Stadium, the reason for our visit.
Jeanette, particularly helpful and friendly receptionist, is a real font of local info. You are in for a treat if she is on duty when you visit.
This is a nice quiet hotel with all you need in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Good value and people were friendly. Price very competitive, however there are some stairs to negotiate, our stay was for two nights, room was clean and tidy. We didn't like the gimmicks however, infra.red mirrors, coloured lighting, and the layout could be improved particularly TV location, an unusual placement of a toilet roll OK not everyone's priority but one shouldn't be a contortionist? No chairs, the sofa bed much too low to provide comfortable seating. The only bench is completely taken up by the kettle and tea facilities, which were welcome. Close to an underground and plenty of bus service are two advantages. This would suit a younger, tech savvy and more agile couple!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ozzietyke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Friendly welcome at this family run hotel who were hsappy to explain the local area. Whilst the room was small, it was modern well decorated and very clean. Close to the A10 and very handy for the London Stadium via the Overground.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Booked the boutique for a 2 night weekend away for myself and hubby to see the local Burlesque festival in Hackney. With the best prices and quite good looking pics, it seemed right up my street.

Good for the money and I suppose you get what you pay for.

Bad bits:
• room 001 was very very small, to the extent you can't open the bedroom door without hitting the bed.
• USB Sockets didn't work
• Air con is too big for the room, so the second you turn it on, you freeze to death
• instead opened the window only to find the Dalsten neighbourhood to be extremely noisy (lots of sirens and traffic due to the On street location)
• found bathroom swarming with ants, which were noticed to staff who sprayed the room with any killer, only to then remove it the next morning and have them all return.
• drippy shower
• excessively noisy toilets heard through walls and doors very heavy slamming all morning.

So yes, had I paid slightly more I would have been very peeved, but given it was one of the cheapest hotel, you get what you pay for.

Aka no sleep.

On the plus side, lovely spa shower head and the kitchen food smelled fantastic.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mi33y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as we were going for a night out in the area. The price was pretty good for London, staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and very nicely decorated. The only slight let down was the size of the room. We were in a compact double and had checked previous reviews so were expecting a small room but it may catch some people out. The room was perfect for one night.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rosco0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you liked our decor (Mum's efforts!) and found our staff helpful!
See you again we hope,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Premier Inn London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#301 of 1,078 in London
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#597 of 1,078 in London
179 reviews
Saint Gabriel's Road B&B
#200 of 572 in London
10 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#9 of 572 in London
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avo Hotel

Address: 82 Dalston Lane | Dalston Hackney, London E8 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $157 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian Vogue calls Dalston "the coolest place in Britain". Avo Dalston, a boutique hotel in the heart of vibrant Hackney, caters to savvy locals and tourists with special touches like memory-foam mattresses, luxury Elemis toiletries and a showcase of local art and photography. Our values are based around exemplary service and environmental responsibility. For example, our menus are animal friendly, and we provide travel aluminum water bottles for our guests to use during their ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing