We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to share beds!”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #260 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We had to share beds!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my work colleagues as we were working at a show in Excel. We had booked 2 twin rooms as there were 4 of us. When we checked in at 6.30pm they said they didn’t have any twin rooms left even though we had pre booked them! I don’t understand how they could give away our rooms when we had already pre booked, this, to me, is very bad service! There was nothing they could do for us so we had to share beds. After a long day working at the show we were not happy about this but it was our only option. To compensate for this they gave us a free breakfast and free parking but this only really benefited our boss who was paying, not us who had to share beds. Luckily the beds were kingsize and the rooms were clean.
The breakfast in the morning was horrible. Tea from a paper cup is not what I’d expect from a hotel like this. You could pick three items from a range of cereals and sandwiches but we really we wanted a cooked breakfast; apparently this was an additional cost which we weren’t willing to pay.
Although this hotel is in a good location if you’re working at Excel I would advise checking in on the dot so that they don’t give away your room!

Room Tip: Check in on time or they will give away your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat_and_Dib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Hello TheDibbyMoles,
Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your experience. Please allow me to express our apologies again for not having a twin room available for you. We fully appreciate that you booked a room with two beds, which we are always committed to honouring. On this specific occasion a number of guests did not check out as planned and this led to a shortage.
We understand this was far from ideal, but in no way related to your check-in time. Please contact me directly for all future stays and any special requests you might have.

TOP TIP: Breakfast offers a variety of options within our Aloft concept: Re:fuel, our grab&go pantry, offers quick bites and breakfast charged per item. This is also available 'to go'. FEDE Restaurant on the second floor, offers a breakfast buffet for anyone looking for a Full English Breakfast. For all group bookings, we are happy to arrange either option as part of your rate.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
julia.harnischfeger@alofthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    728
    205
    56
    40
See reviews for
189
600
104
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights as i was working at the excel centre which is literally next door.
Everything in the hotel from the lifts to the rooms are modern and funky style. Staff very friendly and the supply of free wasabi nuts and spicy crisps were a nice surprise and very tasty i might add. Rooms had a very good layout with free wifi and safe, large lcd tv and coffee /tea making facilities along with fridge and bottled water. Liked the idea of the swipe card to use lifts and enter room. Large shower an ample hanging space in wardrobe. Only things that maybe the hotel could improve on would maybe be a small set of drawers (for those staying longer) and the prices of certain items in the grab and go shop..eg. small mars bar £1.50. All in all this is a very good hotel, clean , modern, with swimming and gym facilities and with a manageress who takes time out to speak to guests and i would recommend to anyone staying in the docklands area.

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking excel centre and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Hey David M,
It was great meeting you during your stay. Thank you for sharing the positive comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed for a weekend with my wife and kids whilst wife attended an event at the Excel centre. Let's get the bad bit out of the way, I specifically booked a room with 2 beds to accomodate my 2 young kids. On the Starwood web site it only asked for the number of adults in the room with no ability to add kids. I booked a room with 2 queen beds and had that confirmed on my reservation. When I checked in they only had a king room. The check in staff were very helpful and arranged 2 blow up beds in the room but it felt like campling rather than staying in a hotel. Apart from that our experience was excellent. It is steps away from Excel and Prince Regent station on the DLR is just a minute away from the 2nd floor exit. As the hotel is new everything is still in tip top shape. The room is well laid out but there is a complete lack of storage with only a small closet and 2 coat hangers. The bathroom is compact with an excellent shower but it is awkward to get in and out and there is nowhere to really hang towels. There is a bar and restaurant on site. If you want to avoid the expensive restaurant breakfast there is free coffee and tea in the room and a bagel and cream cheese is only a £1 from the small shop. The kids enjoyed the pool which was always deserted as was the gym. One piece of advice only stay here if you are planning to go elsewhere in the evening as it is pretty deserted. All the food places in the Excel close early and there are a few restaurants in the hotels and restaurants but they are all on the opposite side of the Excel centre and are all pretty expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanarkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Hey lanarkian,
Our apologies for the miscommunication with regards to the room choice. I am glad to hear that we were able to resolve this quickly and that you and your family enjoyed the stay. Splash, our pool, is always a big hit with all children.

For the benefit of everyone staying at Aloft London Excel is the future, we would like to point out that all our Aloft guestrooms accommodate a maximum of 2 adults and 1 child under 12years. For families, we recommend to book two connecting rooms, which will give you plenty of space and still be close to each other.

TOP TIP: check out the hotel website to see details on Camp Aloft, our "stay-in your parent's room" program for children under 12 yrs. It truly is like camping and super fun.

Thanks again for the comments and we hope to see you again.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here on a weekend in which the DLR line was undergoing engineering works. Traveling to the hotel from central London was a pain! Only option was the replacement bus which took forever to reach. I arrived at the hotel and the check in process was fast. Hotel is new and the rooms are very modern and fresh. Only odd part about the room is the fact that the wash basin is outside the bathroom and so its exposed. There was a nice big LCD TV with plenty of channels to choose from. Beds are very comfortable and even amenities were better than a hotel in the same range. Hotel is conveniently situated for anyone attending a trade fair but i personally think its way to far to travel to London on a daily basis.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VD7833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Hello VD7833,
We fully understand your comments and when the DLR is not running, getting to the Docklands can take a moment longer. All the work is related to the upgrade for the Olympics 2012 as our location is right in the heart of where it will all be happening. Therefore the upgrades should soon be over and Aloft London Excel will be even easier to reach (20-30min from Central London).

Our Front Desk talent will always have the up to date travel information and can assist to make your journey easier.

Thank you for the positive comments about the quality of the bed and the in-room amenities, great to hear that you feel this beats our competition.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Aloft London Excel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My fiance took me to the Brit Awards on my birthday so I was looking for a hotel close to the O2 at a reasonable price but nice to enough to meet our needs. The hotel was very impressive to look at on arrival, and was literally next to the tube station (so very easy to access all areas of London) it also had a large car park. It was only about 1 stop to the O2 so was excellent for us in this respect. The front desk team were very friendly and efficient, and the hallways and room were cool, funky and clean. There was no bath in our room, but the shower more than made up for it and was fab. The bed was comfy and the blinds were the most amazing thing ever, they were black out blinds built into the walls, (we woke up at about 10am and I thought it was still the middle of the night, we literally could not see anything, we thought these were so amazing we took a photo of them to get some in our house) There is also free wifi which is a winner in my book ! The hotel is located in such a great spot, we walked for about 10 mins down the side of the river and found lots of places to eat and a nisa local, although there is a restaurant attached to the hotel which they recommend. All in all the location is perfect the hotel is lovely and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. I will always choose this as my preferred hotel if I was travelling in or around London in future, and it is a definite for gigs at the O2.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Hey Louize69,
It has been great having you with us to celebrate your birthday and we know how much this special trip meant to you. The team at Aloft London Excel is very happy to have been part of it and we say thank you for the review and for your tweets. Judging by your comments, we got it right.

TOP TIP: for anyone visiting the O2, just take the DLR from Prince Regent (next to Aloft) to Canning Town, then change to the Jubilee Line. Easy-breezy.

We hope to be celebrating with you again next year.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#291 of 1,068 in London
2,223 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#480 of 1,068 in London
2,011 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#572 of 1,068 in London
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#193 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $122 - $499
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing