We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #57 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Location was great for this hotel, just off the main shopping road so very convenient. Staff were very good. Rooms nice.

Price for breakfast was over the top but there are a couple of cafes just a few doors down.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay at the hotel. It is always lovely to hear when we meet expectations and thank you for recognising the staff and the rooms. I am sorry to hear that you found breakfast a little pricey but I would like to assure you that we constantly reviewing our prices against those in our neighbourhood to ensure that we do offer excellent value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,257
    761
    172
    45
    16
See reviews for
448
1,584
172
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel was just very bog standard really for a 4 star London hotel. Nothing terrible about it, but nothing particularly great either.

Our bathroom (room 519) needed some attention. The bathroom door would not open unless pushed hard because it became jammed against the floor. I mentioned this to Reception who said they would ask Maintenance to sort it out. Maintenance did nothing & I had no further response from Reception about this complaint. We were staying for 3 nights & having to practically charge at the bathroom door became very tedious & annoying. Had we been elderly we probably wouldn't have had the strength to even access the bathroom. The sink tap is positioned too close to the mirror which means you can't turn the hot water on properly, & the sealing strip at the bottom of the glass divide in the bath/shower kept falling off. These are small things but not acceptable.

On the positive, the room was spotlessly clean & sufficient for our needs. Also, a very big ''well done'' for the free wi-fi. I find it a real con when hotels charge for wi-fi access, so this was very welcomed - thank you.

The staff were friendly & largely efficient, but that can't include Reception or Maintenance as they didn't sort out the door problem. The doormen were particularly cheerful, friendly & efficient. The location is good as the nearest tube station is just around the corner.

I work within the travel industry & own two unrelated travel companies. I communicated with the hotel before my arrival & advised that I was looking to find a new quality 4 star London hotel to offer to my off-shore clients. My trip was personal & not for business, but at the same time whilst I was staying at The Bloomsbury I was viewing it to put future business their way. I made them aware of this but they obviously still thought it acceptable to put me in a room with a sub-standard bathroom. Needless to say, I will not be recommending this hotel to my clients & The Bloomsbury have lost out on a great deal of future bookings.

There are better 4 star London hotels out there.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Mangement at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for posting such an honest review of your recent stay. Naturally I am very disappointed to read your comments and would like to say how sorry I am that neither Maintenance nor Reception took ownership of your issue and resolved it. I would however, like to thank you for being fair in your review and for recognising the friendly and efficient staff here at the hotel and in particular the doormen. I would be delighted to discuss your stay further with you and please do contact me on beccy_gunn@doylecollection.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We recently spent three nights at the Bloomsbury Hotel and had a wonderful experience. The location is great--just up the street from the British Museum and a couple of minutes from the Tube and buses. The hotel itself is very attractive, with comfortable rooms. (I loved the radiant heat in the tile floors of the bathroom!) Only negative was the lighting in the bathroom, overhead halogen spots over the sink, that make putting on makeup difficult.
The most amazing thing here is the staff. They went far beyond efficiency, being genuinely friendly and eager to please. We really put them to the test, as it happened. A day after we moved on to a hotel in Oxford, I realized I had forgotten my pillbox with my blood pressure medication back at the Bloomsbury. I phoned in a panic, and they said they would talk to the cleaning staff. I figured that they would have thrown it away, and worried about how I could get the medicine in the UK. Then, they called back, and I was delighted to hear that the cleaners had kept it, "Just in case it was important." What are the chances? The wonderful concierge and his assistant sent it on to me by courier and I got it the next morning. They even called the following day to make sure I had gotten it. What wonderful service! I love everything about this place! We'll be back.

Room Tip: I don't mind noise, but I like to see the street. They were great about making sure I got a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for posting such a positive review. I am delighted that we were able to help with your pillpox and it is always fabulous to read when we have met and indeed exceeded guest expectations. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was just in London for two days for a shopping and theatre visit, and stayed for one night at the Bloomsbury. It was a bit of a treat to stay centrally (normally I'd choose something perhaps in Greater London or even travel back home the same evening.)

The location of the hotel is perfect. Short stroll to theatres, restaurants, to all kinds of interesting shops along Denmark Street and Charing Cross et al. Excellent for visiting the British Museum.

I stayed in a room on the third floor and it was a very decent size. The bathroom was delightful, with black marble and large shower. Various nice bathroom toiletries and small bits you tend to forget at home (such as cotton buds!)

The bed was comfortable, with various pillows for choice. After I came back in the evening, I found my bed had been turned down and already the few items I'd used (e.g. cream in my tea) had been re-stocked. I slept well overall, although at times I found it got a little too hot in my room. Probably I could have had a look at the air con and turned it up, but it wasn't as bad for me to do that, and I soon fell into a peaceful sleep.

I didn't have dinner at the hotel, but breakfast the next morning. I chose Continental, and it was a buffet with similar choices as I'd seen in other hotels. The coffee was very good, as were the range of juices and marmalade/jams available.

Overall it was a nice (if short) stay and I would choose this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for writing such a thorough review of the hotel and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear that you found the location to be so perfect and the room to meet your every need. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel several times in the last year (2011) for business.
Rooms are great, service is excellent and the location is unbeatable - on SOHO and Covent Garden, and within walking distance from everywhere else (unless you prefer the tube of course).
Only issue is that pricing can vary a lot (which is also true for other hotels in London) - I have paid anything from 180 pounds to 280 pounds (occasionally prices went even higher, but that's where i drew the line). Trick is to book at least 2-3 weeks in advance (which is doable if you can plan ahead, unlike my situation in some cases), and of course depends on the season

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for posting such a positive review of the hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us in 2011. Thank you also for praising the service and rooms alongside the location - it is always great to hear! As you can appreciate London hotels now use the airline booking model and indeed alongside the early booking promotions we also run special packages to ensure that we always remaining very competitive in the area. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,217 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#67 of 1,069 in London
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
The Marylebone
#64 of 1,069 in London
3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $288 - $560
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing