We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not see anything ”
Review of Big Ben

Big Ben
Ranked #22 of 1,908 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Temporarily Closed Elizabeth Tower is the name of the famous clock tower which stands at the Houses of Parliament. The name Big Ben is often used to describe the tower, the clock and the bell but the name was first given to the Great Bell. The Elizabeth Tower was completed in 1859 and the Great Clock started on 31 May. The Great Bell's strikes were heard for the first time on 11 July and the quarter bells first chimed on 7 September. All visits to Big Ben and the Elizabeth Tower tours are now suspended due to refurbishment with the last tour having taken place on 16 December 2016. Tours are scheduled to resume in early 2020 once the work is complete. Visitors can still book tickets for a number of other tours at the Houses of Parliament which take place on Saturdays throughout the year and on weekdays during Parliamentary recesses.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Big Ben is under renovation. We could not see anything. From outside of Westminster,we just saw a tower clock.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank somas260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"clock tower"
in 693 reviews
"elizabeth tower"
in 556 reviews
"big clock"
in 225 reviews
"clock face"
in 202 reviews
"westminster bridge"
in 468 reviews
"london eye"
in 1,091 reviews
"iconic landmark"
in 270 reviews
"visit london"
in 258 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 167 reviews
"take pictures"
in 163 reviews
"chimes"
in 910 reviews
"symbol"
in 399 reviews
"mp"
in 170 reviews
"selfie"
in 228 reviews
"architecture"
in 525 reviews
"tourists"
in 503 reviews
"monument"
in 206 reviews
Filter

852 - 856 of 30,184 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

If you are dying to see the beautiful architecture of Big Ben, you will need to return to London some other time. Right now, it is covered in scaffolding and you can barely see anything resembling the tower. SKIP and do something else!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Currently the building that holds Big Ben is surrounded by scaffolding. So not much to see. Bad timing for us.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ChadF693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Nothing to see but scaffoldings... it is next to Westminster Abbey so we saw the metal structure. Otherwise we would not have gone of course.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sbernmd7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

You must to see Big Ben its one symbol of London i think. Its something special, located in busy area but hey its London

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank kristir766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Ben also viewed

 

Been to Big Ben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing