We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$318
US$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$339
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$199
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$258
US$194
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$123
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$131
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveller rating
1,310
144
32
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,310
144
32
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorengafternoon teabuckingham palacekate middletonlobster omeletteroyal weddingenglish hotelvictoria stationmoment you arrivebeautiful hotelconcierge deskbottle of champagneluxury hotelevery member of staffsmall hotelbirthday treatquiet street
Filter
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2015

The staff at this hotel is ranks in the top 2 we have stayed at. They are attentive, friendly and efficient. Your name is recognized by nearly everyone and when having a beverage in the bar, tea on the terrace or dinner, a bill is never presented unless requested as they know who you are. Ned & Kevin warrant special praise. We had a superb dinner in the dinning room and enjoyed every aspect of our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the smaller side so try for an upgrade if can.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart_Geddes, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear Bill N,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted to hear that all our staff from different areas of the hotel have gone above and beyond to make your stay special. Our staff take great pride in delivering service with the highest standards of hospitality.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Stuart Geddes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Generally speaking still a very good hotel which has recently been greatly refurbished. Unfortunately we found the warm and welcoming reception not as overwhelming as during previous vìsits.The refurbishing and partly new furniture did not fully meet with our expectations. The carpet in our room we were thankfully upgraded to was rather stained and due to the immense construction work at Victoria station the otherwise quiet surroundings were from time to time annoying. The bathroom was larger than before, but unfortunately the toilet did not refill quickly enough. There is still no hairdryer in the bathroom, which may be due to English legal regulations, but which is rather obsolete regarding international standard and uncomfortable as well. The staff in general is immensely friendly and polite. The food in the restaurant where we enjoyed our breakfast and dinner twice is excellent. A plus we found in the quiet atmosphere without the constant piped music you find nowadays in most places. We missed, however, the attention the former general manager, Mr. Graham Copeman, paid us and hope that this special unique service will be taken up by the new manager (we were given personal greetings by letter on arrival during other stays.) Another tip:the turning down service could deliver foot mats for the night and some information about the weather situation. As the arriving guests have to give their personal dates, like e.g. date of birth, a little note should this coincide with the stay, would be a nice gesture. We received such during our stays at Brown's, the Taj hotel in London. Not at The Goring, though returning guests.

Stayed: September 2015
3  Thank jocoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart_Geddes, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear JoCoiner,

Thank you for your stay at The Goring.

I am very sorry that many aspects of your recent stay were unsatisfactory and fell below your expectations.

At The Goring we take pride in recognising our guests and making them feel right home during their stay with us, and I am disappointed that you did not receive this recognition as our valued return guests. I have also made note of all the areas we fell short and the suggestions you have made. I will share your feedback with the relevant departments to get our standards up to the highest level where they should be.

I am so glad you enjoyed our exquisite cuisine, and the attentiveness of our staff, in the restaurant.

Rest assured we will be there to personally welcome you back on your next stay at The Goring, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

My best regards,

Stuart Geddes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

...I would. From the moment we arrived and were made to feel like royalty (special kudos to Poppy, who was the manager on duty who took care of our every need upon arrival) my husband and I agreed that we have never stayed at such a special place. This should not have been a surprise, however, since the head concierge, Mr. Andrews, had been unbelievably responsive in the weeks leading up to our arrival...with restaurant bookings, arranging for car services, etc. His courtesy and wisdom extended down through the concierge ranks, with special kudos to Patrick, who was the "go to" person in Mr. Andrew's absence.
We booked a splendid silk room, and it was, indeed, splendid. Immaculate, perfectly laid out, with every amenity imagineable, it was pricey, but worth every penny. We were delighted to overlook the garden, where other guests and business persons, sipping on champagne, etc., were always enjoying a quiet afternoon or evening. Service was impeccable...if we called for something, it would appear within minutes.
The bar and lounge are inviting beyond belief, with service to match. During our one week stay, we had cocktails there most evenings, and enjoyed lunch there as well. The staff there and in the lovely restaurant were trained to perfection and ALWAYS had smiles on their faces. No one seemed to understand the meaning of the word "no" when asked for an item or a service. The food in both the lounge and restaurant was delicious. We especially appreciated that our Continental breakfast was SERVED because neither of us likes the buffet route.
For our needs, the location of The Goring could not be improved...a five-minute walk to Buckingham Palace, ten minutes to Hyde Park Circle, five minutes to
Victoria Station, etc. The doormen were also charming and snapped to when asked for a taxi.
I could go on and on, but suffice it say we agreed that our "go to" hotel in London will always be The Goring, and that we would HIGHLY recommend it for any of our friends for whom budget is not an issue.

Room Tip: The rooms facing rear are pricey but worth it for the garden view if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart_Geddes, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Elena G,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback of your stay at The Goring.

It is a pleasure to know we have meet your expectations and more, and that The Goring will be your “go to” hotel in London.

I am certainly very pleased that our staff have looked after you and your husband extremely well, from your pre-stay requirements, right through every part of your experience with us during your stay. Our staff take immense pride in delivering the highest standards of service, attentive, and always anticipating our guests’ every need. I can tell you have been made to feel right at home by every department of the hotel, which is how every guest should be made to feel when they walk through our doors at The Goring.

Our Splendid Garden Rooms are indeed a delight with their exquisite silk-lined walls and views of the only largest private garden space of any five star luxury hotel in London.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again to your London ‘home’ so we can look after you, and pamper you, the way we do best at The Goring.

Best regards,

Stuart Geddes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

What a pleasure it was to stay at this 4 th generation private hotel. Shunning the usual big brand choices we chose The Goring and we're so pleased we did. A treasure so close to many famous landmarks not least Buckingham Palace and close to underground etc. the service was impeccable with staff of many years association with the hotel dedicated to their task. A friendly vibe mixed with a high level of professionalism gave us a warm fuzzy feeling and we felt right at home in this city oasis.
The restaurants formal and informal were impressive and we wish them well on their way to Michelin success which should be forthcoming ; if not there's something wrong with the system!
The rooms were traditionally appointed but not tired , very fresh with modern touches. We enjoyed everything and will be back .

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dnacingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart_Geddes, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2015

Dear dnacingqueen,

Thank you for your most delightful feedback of your stay at The Goring.

I am so glad to know that our staff have made you feel right at home, just like you would a family member. Our staff are highly trained to the finest standards of hospitality, many who are long standing with us.

Being located in one of London’s prime addresses we are in very close proximity to famous landmarks and public transportation, which makes it very convenient.

I am very happy you experienced our dining spaces which are very popular with our guests. Our Executive Chef, Shay Cooper, dishes out some of the finest flavoursome dishes attracting dining guests from far and wide.

Our rooms radiate refined traditional English design with state-of-the-art technology. We pride in every bedroom being individually designed with unique Gainsborough silk-lined walls, and furniture. We can’t wait for you to try another on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your London ‘home’ in the not so far future.

Best regards,

Stuart Geddes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We had an absolutely delightful stay! It was my first visit to London and a friend of mine, who happens to be a travel agent, highly recommended The Goring. I am so glad she did. We cannot say enough about the beautiful decor, lovely garden, delicious food and comfortable room, yet it was the outgoing and friendly staff who really made our visit outstanding. The Concierge staff were particularly helpful as we planned our sightseeing and dining experiences. Our stay at The Goring was one of the highlights of our trip which included stops in Paris and Belgium as well. Thank you for a wonderful travel experience!

Room Tip: Overlooking the beautiful garden!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart_Geddes, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2015

Dear Leslie B,

Thank you for such a wonderful post about your stay with us at The Goring.

I am delighted to to know you have thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our hotel, and that we have been the highlight of your European trip.

Our staff are passionate in delivering a service with excellence that make our guests feel right at home. Our Concierge are very experienced with being in the industry for years, more importantly making things happen for our guests’ requests.

I do hope you will return to us in the very near future.

Best regards,

Stuart Geddes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews