We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal National Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$267
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park(London)(Great Value!)
US$157
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$257
US$182
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Indigo London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (8,662)
Filter reviews
8,662 results
Traveller rating
408
1,866
3,479
1,456
1,453
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
1,866
3,479
1,456
1,453
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 8,662 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 nights, was an average hotel. Was booked in for a double room ended up with 2 single beds - after asking about this after 2 nights we were able to move to a double room which was much appreciated. Was in a convenient location to the underground which made sightseeing easy. Breakfast however was not up to scratch.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank emsnathw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room comfortable and you appreciated our central location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station, convenient for visiting London's tourist attractions. Equally, our hotel has a limited number of double rooms available, this should be reiterated by the booking agent themselves. Any requests can be made either via the booking agent or directly to the hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your booking with us further.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful. It is what it is. You get what you pay for. If you want a place to put your head down after an eheptic day out in London and don't want to break the bank...this is the place. Basic

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Once I’d found my room (no easy task, this is one MASSIVE hotel) and got over the slightly musty odour and lack of shower gel and the fact that TV in my room didn’t work, I was actually very impressed. Comfortable, cleaned every day, tea and coffee making facilities replenished, helpful staff and a fantastic location. A stones throw from Russell Sq Tube station, walking distance to High Holborn, and a 10 minute walk to Euston Sq tube as well. All for £88/ night including continental breakfast. Absolute bargain. If I can get that rate again I’ll definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank mcbunsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room comfortable and our facilities adequate and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. We are also delighted that you appreciated our fantastic location, only a few minutes away from Russell Square Station and a ten minute walk to Euston Station. Equally, as stated in our Guest Service Directories, shampoo and shower gel are available from our housekeeping office, on request, so we apologise if you unaware of this at the time. Our concierge staff are also available twenty-four hours a day to assist guests to their room, maps are also displayed on all corridors of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Rave review, Great location within five minutes walk of Russell Square tube, great value, huge unlimited continental breakfast with four kinds of cereal, grapefruit and orange sections, toast and rolls, orange and apple juice, coffee and tea, comfortable large bed, immaculately clean room and toilet which includes a large bathtub, elevators close enough to room to make it easy to handle luggage, secure luggage storage room with attendant to leave stuff until you are ready to catch your flight, currency exchange and sightseeing tour booking office on premises, tea and coffee making facilities in room and lastly, they were kind enough to let me have the room at noon without charging me for an extra night. I wish the room was quieter since the large groups of young people who arrive and depart on buses tend to be noisy, well past midnight. It was cold because even though they have 24 hour heat, they need double insulated windows to keep it warmer and quieter. They need to have a clock radio in the room, since I like to know the time and to listen to music. The noise and the cold were the two worst issues. You don't expect snow in London in March and the front location of my room made it noisy. I can't recommend it highly enough because the good outweighs the bad. I definitely would come to the Royal National again.

Room Tip: I had a front room and it probably picked up all the arriving bus groups and the noise
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EllenNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your kind comments regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are so pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay, our continental breakfast, found your room adequate and comfortable and you appreciated our immaculately clean rooms. Our hotel is often praised for its value for money, in such a central location, so we are delighted you found ours great, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station, in the heart of Bloomsbury. Equally, we will be sure to forward your suggestion regarding a clock in the room, onto our design team for when we next renovate. We have also spoken to our concierge team to ensure any noise from guests in the courtyard is kept to a minimum.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Well where do I start. Check in was terrible stodd in line for ages and greeted by a receptionist who couldn't have been less interested. Found our way to the room via dank and tired corridors (its huge). Got in the room to find a very basic affair. No duvets instead old itchy blankets... old beds. Leaking tap in bathroom and timescale and mould all over bath and shower. Stained carpet... view from window was some sort of ventilation system and the bins down below... now onto the real treat... Breakfast! The tea comes out a tap stewed to high heaven and with the milk already in it (my mother's face!!) Sausages and bacon are the cheapest of the cheap and more grease than meat. The eggs could be successfully used as ping pong balls they are that rubbery. The bread is hard the juice is watered down and the tables are crammed so you are on top of each other... real intimate in the worst possible way. Needless to say never again. Down the road even closer to the amenities you can go to premier inn... where you get clean duvets and a fab breakfast and pay less. Just avoid this hell hole its awful. Truly awful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Our English breakfast is generally praised by our guests, prepared and cooked daily from good quality ingredients which offers a variety and choice, we apologise if you did not enjoy ours on this occasion. Our breakfast staff are on hand throughout the breakfast service and would have been able to provide you with an additional pot of tea, had you requested this at the time. We were also disappointed to learn that you found a member of our front desk team came across as dismissive, as this was not their intention. Our staff are also on hand twenty-four hours a day and would have been able to assist with any of your concerns, regarding the room and they could not recall any report with the taps in the bathroom. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay with us. Equally, perhaps you may have been better suited in one of our family rooms in our newly refurbished modern City Sleeper rooms, at our Royal National Hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay with us.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews