We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pull down bed ! Noisy room in the basement !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Ranked #554 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Not impressed - the room I had was in the basement and had a pull down bed - not very inviting at all. Plenty of space and the bathroom Ok but I agree with the other reviews on here - noisy noisy noisy. Much better options nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aluakea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 703 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed here with my daughter for 1 night for a trip to the theatre. Only booked room only intended to eat breakfast elsewhere. Hotel was very good, room very nice, beds very comfortable no fault with room at all. Decided to have breakfast at the hotel to save time as we were only staying the one day (didn't want to waste valuable shopping time). The menu on the table in the restaurant didnt show any prices but couldnt be that expensive could it!!!! Both my daughter and I had cereal, toast and jam, I had 1 cup of coffee my daughter juice, the price was a jaw dropping £35. I am not a tight person but even taking into account that we were in London the price was outrageous. My advise to anyone staying at this hotel is make sure you have breakfast included in the price or eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthiao2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I stayed here in a group of 13, just for one night. Twin rooms were good size, double room adequate. Hotel was clean. Continental breakfast good. Bar stayed open very late one night for a few of us!! Easy to walk to Great Portland Street tube station, Regent St and all nearby streets. Small high street supermarkets within 2 mins walk, classic British pubs within 4 mins walk. We had discount deal on rooms and overall, in comparison to other accomodation I have stayed in in London, the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisab78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed here for a night recently on a business trip. The place looks pretty ordinary from the outside, not dissimilar to the nearby orthopaedic hospital. Lobby is small but fairly smart, but lift is from the Sherlock Holmes era, if not before. Internet access seemed to cost something astronomical - didn't bother.
My room was tiny, but I guess this is not uncommon for Central London Hotels. The main problem though was the heating/ventilation. The bathroom was totally unheated (had a radiator - sadly which never worked), while the room had two ancient radiators (strategically hidden behind thick curtains) which were turned off when I arrived in my room - which was therefore freezing. Turning these on resulted in the room metamorphosing into an oven at 03.00 - necessitating opening one of the ancient sash windows - fine at first, but resulted in my being awoken 3 hours later at 06.00 by the enthusiastic London bin men indulging in their favourite pastime of hurling empty bottles into a garbage lorry! Not great night.
Fortunately, I did not have to pay the advertised £220 price for the room - if I had, I would have been mightily unimpressed with the whole package - expensive net access, freezing bathroom, boiling tiny room, disturbed night...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewickChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

While the hotel is close to Euston ( two stops on the tube or bus ) it is in a quiet, upmarket area. We had a room at the front of the hotel and there was no traffic noise at all. The room was small, but well laid out with good quality furniture and a very comfortable bed. The room was very clean, with a full length bath and powerful shower. Only slight gripe with that is as a small person, it is difficult to step into and out of the bath!
We did not eat at the hotel, but there were lots of places to get breakfast within a short walk.
But we did have the best value cup of tea in London as we waited to return to the station. Only £ 2.50 for a pot of tea for two! Definately a four star hotel.
The city centre attractions, are a short tube ride or better still bus ride from the hotel. Check out the number 88 bus to Trafalgar Sq.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebraChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#539 of 1,077 in London
611 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#281 of 1,077 in London
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#544 of 1,077 in London
554 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#602 of 1,077 in London
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Fitzrovia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Address: 20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#337 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $147 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Fitzrovia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Fitzrovia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Fitzrovia London
Hotel Grange Fitzrovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing