We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not bowled over, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Ranked #562 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We chose this hotel as it was convenient for a meeting in Portland Place and only a short walk from Oxford Street.

We'd initially tried to book over the phone, but it was a painful process, with the first person not understanding English and the second person telling us no rooms were available, despite us seeing rooms available to book via laterooms and other websites.

Upon arrival, check-in was painfully slow – the system surely needs updating - but the foreign staff friendly and helpful. Nice glass lifts and we had an average-sized (for London) room with dated dark decor and carpets but very nice fabrics for curtains and bed throw. Bathroom was roomier than expected, shower hot and fast, bed comfortable, TV with plenty of channels... a comfortable room for a good price.

Breakfast was included in the price we'd paid, but it was a bit of a shambles. Basic cheese & ham plate (with no salami left, despite the room not being busy - had to ask for more to be brought out), tinned fruits (grapefruit, orange, peaches), yoghurts - but again, none left, pastries (yep, you guessed it, none left so had to ask), cereals, juices (plenty of them, but no glasses out - had to ask), pleasant coffee and tea (but had to ask twice for milk to be brought). Nice enough but wouldn't have paid extra for it. People next to us paid the very reasonable £6 for a cooked breakfast, although the mushrooms looked shrunken, bacon had seen better days and sausage and egg were very greasy.

Breakfast moaning aside, it was a comfortable hotel in a good location with a slightly longer than necessary check-in process. Check-out was painless, and we were able to store our luggage there until we came back later.

Probably would stay again, but give the breakfast a miss.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmcoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 636 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night in December. The room itself was very nice - comfortable, spacious but still cosy and traditional. The bathroom worked and was clean, though maybe slightly tired. The common areas of the hotel (especially corridors) could do with a lick of paint and general spruce up, and the breakfast was fine but could have been better. Overall, my experience was highly positive with only one complaint - I ordered a rose on the bed from the 'extras' page and paid for it, but sadly the rose never materialised. Check-in/out was all very efficient and painless. All in all, go for it if you are looking for a comfortable and convenient hotel in central London, but not if you're looking for a special treat or 'wow factor'.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank in80days__12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Grange Fitzrovia is a short walk from several tube stations. Easy access to the west end, restaurants, bars etc. The first impressions are very good - clean, bright, welcoming efficient reception staff. Two glass elevators with polished brass detail in the middle of the hall. Like any conversion, layout is slightly quirky...the obligatory two/three steps up and down here and there! My room (#217) was large and comfortable. A long bathroom with side-by-side basins. A shame the bath has old fashioned glass shower screens all round - a bit like bathing in a phone box. Room service was quick, food good. Breakfast fresh with responsive service. Hotel clean throughout with friendly atmosphere. Having stayed in dozens of London hotels in last year alone, happy to return to the Fitzrovia - it's well located, does the basics well and has a degree of character & atmosphere so often lacking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wingostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed here in Feb 2012 while attending a wedding and really would call this a typical London hotel. While there was nothing amazing about it, there was certainly nothing nasty about it and it provides a comfortable stay whilst in London. Despite not being in the heart of the action it is really close to 2 tube stations giving easy access to everywhere you would want to go. I was able to see a number of rooms that were various different sizes so it's really just a case of pot luck. My room was a fair size and all areas of the hotel were lovely and clean with nice sheets and comfy reasonably sized beds! The service was great and they were excellent at accommodating our wedding party in the months running up to our stay. We had breakfast in the hotel which was full English and a continental buffet. This hotel won't blow your mind away but is a comfy good value stay whilst in London that I would Deffinatly use again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaffyBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I am occasionally made to stay at this hotel by my employer rather than the Holiday Inn across the road. Unfortunately I find it all fur coat and no pants. Reception and staff are all fine it's the rooms that drive me mad. In 4 stays they have all been completely different and the layout completely crazy. Sometimes you get a chair sometimes not. TV could be anywhere as could kettle etc. Beds in strange positions.

The rooms are usually too hot but last Wednesday my room was freezing. Asked for some extra heating and the receptionist looked at me as if I was slightly mad. Anyway will try avoid staying here if I can. The non exec rooms have no Air con and must be hellish in mid summer. The Holiday Inn is no palace but at least you know what you are going to get.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#539 of 1,077 in London
611 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#281 of 1,077 in London
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#548 of 1,077 in London
554 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#600 of 1,077 in London
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Fitzrovia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Address: 20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $147 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Fitzrovia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Fitzrovia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Fitzrovia London
Hotel Grange Fitzrovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing