We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and disappointing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Ranked #559 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Upgrading breakfast from the included continental to full required various discussions among staff and a cash payment instead of being added to the bill. It's 2017. You can pay for a coffee with contactless in most places...

Our booking for 3 people (2 adults and a child) was on the system but we still had to wait in the lobby while the child bed was made up. Once up, the mattress was so thin that the mechanism could be felt. And this was £24 extra per night when we checked out. Strangely no problem adding this to the room bill. Adult bed also creaky and not especially comfortable.

Rooms hot with no aircon.

Bathroom tired and in need of tlc. Hard to get into the high sided bath. Notice telling you that towels hung up will not be replaced (and urging you to protect the environment) was ignored, with fresh towels automatically provided after just one night.

Fridge present but locked with no key. TV Remote control didn't work. Tea bags not replenished.

Brasswork throughout hotel unpolished and covered in fingerprints.

Staff polite but distant and not overly friendly. Many struggled with English to the point where you found yourself failing to make yourself understood.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Timreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your comments which have been noted. If you do not leave a deposit or credit card pre-authorisation any extras including food and beveages will be charge for at the time of consumption. We regret that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

A quick one night visit to London saw us stay here.

Very easy to get too on public transport, close to restaurants, bars and coffee shops, but not on top of these places so it was nice and quiet. Sainsburys local around the corner for any of your needs.

We booked an executive room as it had a queen sized bed in and it was big enough for me to share with my 2 small daughters, room was big, clean and tidy, bathroom too.

Plenty of room to chill out.

Only downside I would say is there was no air con and our room was quite hot even with a window open, didn't really bother us

Staff were polite and helpful

Would stay again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you and your daughters enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you all back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

I do like this classy place - hidden away in the back streets - but wish it had air-conditioning.

Room 405 had a nicer bathroom than other rooms I have stayed in before, but having to leave the windows open to try and keep the room cool lets in the traffic noise - and I still had to sleep on top of the bed covers...

Disappointed to only have a tiny bottle of water in the room too - and no Tea!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank julesO736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall however thank you for your comments. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We had a really good stay, our room was nice, clean and quiet. Given its location and rates, it's safe to say that this hotel offers a well-above average service. Can not comment on other aspects of the hotel, such as the food/breakfast etc.. which we did not experience, but we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I've been staying here for more than 20 years since it's been a reliable place in an excellent location. But both the service and the room have gone down. It was even a challenge to receive phone calls. Either the phone didn't work or my caller was put on hold until a competent receptionist could put the call through.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank woggles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#535 of 1,077 in London
611 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#280 of 1,077 in London
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#543 of 1,077 in London
554 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#599 of 1,077 in London
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Fitzrovia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Address: 20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#337 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $149 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Fitzrovia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Fitzrovia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Fitzrovia London
Hotel Grange Fitzrovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing