We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, bad night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Ranked #369 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great price, bad night”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights, after 'winning' the rooms for 2p a night on a tune hotel competion. Excellent for 2p. On arrival the staff were efficient and polite. We had a room without windows which was downstairs in the basement. The room was small, really only big enough or one person, as one side of the bed was gainst the wall, and no bedside table or light as there wasnt room. The bathroom was perfectly adequate for what you need to do! After going out for a meal ad coming back home aftera long day we were looking forward to a peaceful nights sleep....the noise from the 'fresh air inlet' was truly awful, it was like a air blower on full blast, we asked at reception if t could be turned off, she didnt know but investigated. Apparently its a health a safety requiremnt, because the rooms dont have windows and cant be turned off, she was very apologetic and offered us another room ,which we accepted. It was on the first floor and much bigger room, with a bed you could walk round, but the noise was still there, its a constant noise alnight, and you feel like you just want to tape a pillow over it! The next morning i woke up with a really bad headache and was glad to get out of the room.the second night we fiddled with the inlet and found out you could actually wind the cover up and almost close it off, it was still noisey but less so.so had a litte better sleep.i didnt wake up feeling refreshed and ready for the day! If i had paid full price for the room i would have complained further ,i think, about the noise as it was truly unbearable, maybe one of the executive staff need to sleep there (room 45) the staff dealt with it well and offered us free tv for the duration. I know the extras are extra income, but with all the nice tvs, posh beds, quality bathroom fittings, is it to much to ask just to havea small bar of soap in the bathroom. I know, you know, these are extras when you book here, but theres obviously been a far bit of money thrown at this hotel,so just a bar of soap would be great. Would i stay here again , yes in a room with a window, as the location was ideal for exploring london, but i wouldnt want to pay upwards of £40 for the room i had. Nice coffee!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djscott68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review, and congratulations on securing one of our promotional 2p rooms! It is encouraging to read positive comments about the customer service and that the location was convenient for your stay. In order to maintain such competitive room rates, we try to keep our operating costs relatively low so just provide the basics for a good night’s sleep, whilst offering add-ons such as the towel and toiletries set for just £1.50.
I am sorry to hear about the discomfort you experienced as a result of the air-vent in your room – as relayed by the Front Desk team it is a legal requirement to have an air supply but following your feedback, we are reviewing the air balance to find a quieter solution to implement as soon as possible.
I hope you will consider trying us again sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    1,062
    294
    94
    90
See reviews for
206
995
158
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A nice location just a short walk from Liverpool Street and various London bus routes, the hotel is fresh and very clean but you would expect this as the hotel is quite new.
The rooms are small but extremely functional so if you like space to sprawl this ain't the hotel for you, on the other hand if you just need a base this hotel is perfect.
The only problem we experienced was with the wifi which did not work down on the lower ground level! we got a full refund on the wifi. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Additionally the hotel is not to far from jack the ripper's old stomping grounds so if you do fancy a spooky night tour just wander down to Whitechapel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gazdocwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for reviewing Tune Hotel – Liverpool Street. As a new branch of Tune, we aim to uphold the high brand standards in terms of cleanliness, customer service and convenience and it is great to see from your review that we have succeeded.
Please accept my apologies for the Wi-Fi troubles that you experienced and be reassured that we are investigating this fully.

I look forward to exceeding your expectations once again on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Yes, it was definitely, as described in their website. Good value for a new hotel room with private power shower ensuite, across the road from Liverpool Street.
I shifted from Stansted Airport, London to Liverpool street in no time, and the hotel was just 1 bust stop away from "Terravision" shuttle buses.
Also true, that it is a small room but reserve a room with a window and pay the extra: it will allow you to wake up facing the interior garden and buildings (depending on the room of course).

I was looking for a good night's sleep and it worked!
I will certainly tell my friends and family!

Room Tip: a room facing the interior garden! a room with a window (and pay the extra).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresadelblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank very much for taking the time to write your review on the hotel. It is great to read that you had an easy transfer from Stansted airport to the hotel as our location boasts excellent transport connections. I am pleased that you enjoyed your garden view and hope that you will return again soon.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cracow
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The location is good and quite central near the Liverpool street and very close to bus/metro network. The hotel is new one, so the rooms are fresh and clean, however rather very simple and a little bit too small. The bathroom was clean and nice. The staff were friendly and competent. There was wifi in the room but not for free of course (1,5 Ł for an hour). We had only a problem with the heating/AC in the room, that was on when we arrived and we can't swich it off while sleeping. Tune Hotel is a good option for short stay on budget. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. I am pleased that you found our location convenient for your stay and experienced our great customer service. We offer very competitive room rates with an add-on system that allows guests to design their own stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Very good concept. For travellers looking for a nice rest, a cleaning Room, a good matress and a good price

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hernan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for posting a review. It’s great to read that we met your requirements for your stay in London and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street

Property: Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Address: 13 - 15 Folgate Street, London E1 6BX, England (Formerly Tune Hotel - London, Liverpool Street)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Spitalfields , East End / East London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $126 - $264
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point A Hotel London Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing