We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,770)
Filter reviews
1,770 results
Traveller rating
304
665
475
191
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
665
475
191
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews custom house dlr station budget hotel excel exhibition centre attached pub close to london city airport canning town the emirates cable car breakfast room breakfast was included twin room shower cubicle building work buffet style transport links jubilee line would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,770 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Awful rooms. Poor quality. Dirty, tiny showers. Poor decor.
Very poor customer service. The reception staff are rude and indifferent.
On coming back after being out on day 2, housekeeping had left no towels. Reception told us to come down to pick some up (even though not our fault) but then they had none and just offered us some hand towels. Turned out they had no towels in the hotel and had run out! I’ve never heard it ever! A hotel with no towels! Amazing . Never ever heard of this pathetic situation. . After being promised they’d sort it, they didn’t so had to go down again.
Eventually the supervisor bought some towels.
But seriously, this is appalling.
Suggest you give this hotel a miss.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank visit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Front Office Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear visit10,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We do work hard to ensure every guest has an enjoyable stay at the hotel. However, due to unforeseen circumstances there was a delay in the deliveries of towels, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused to you.

Our hotel is in the process of refurbishment, we still hope that you will consider staying with us in the future in our newly refurbished rooms.

We wish you well and hope to serve you better in future.

Kind regards,

Siddharth Tailor
Front Office Manager
The Ibis Styles London Excel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Just returned spent 2 nights, as OAPS we used our bus passes, traveled from Euston on the No 205 to Mile end crossroads then 323 to Canning Town then 147 or 241 to hotel easy check in room fine basic but clean tea/coffee making, hairdryer free wifi, clean towels, we witness no noise at all very peaceful, the brekki was lovely continental, lots of choice with toast & coffe etc ...over the road is the overhead train DLR so easy buy ticket £4.80 single jump on at platform 4 to Tower gate right by London tower bridge etc takes about 20 mins from the hotel ...walk or jump on the bus into Trafalgar Square, nice Weatherspoons for a cheap meal & drink by tower gate ....or get bus outside hotel to Canning Town depot, then quick walk to crossroads turn right bus into the city ...lots of ways ....we found it no problem being outside the city but we wernt staying out very late got bk about 10pm ....for the price it's good value would we stay again most definately ...if you have to pay for transport best get a Oyster card ....worth a try ...there's a bar attached for a tipple

Room Tip: We were 2nd floor no problem
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Front Office Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear christine d,

Thank you taking time to share your experience. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and suited your purpose of visit.

We really do appreciate the kind words and the staff are especially thankful.

We do look forward to welcoming you back next time you're over our way.

Regards,

Siddharth Tailor
Front Office Manager
The Ibis Styles Excel London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Rooms are clean but AC wasn't very good. Great location for metro which is across the street. It's an hour from Heathrow airport
Breakfast is included but it's just cereal and yogurt. Around the corner there's a small place for breakfast which was very good.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank bibiliz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Front Office Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear bibiliz123,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

We have staff 24 hour who can assist with maintenance issues. I am not sure if you contacted Reception regarding those two issues.

We do look forward to welcoming you back next time you're over our way.

Kind Regards,

Siddharth Tailor
Front Office Manager
The Ibis Styles Excel London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here whilst my partner took part in the triathalon, location was great for thatand the staff were lovely. HOWEVER the room was so rundown and shabby, all the furniture was scuffed and chipped, the tv and air con didn’t work. We had the window open all night but was woken at 6.30am by serviceman outside the hotel who were very loud!! The bathroom is tiny and you strangely have to go up a step, the floor creaked so much even if you didn’t move! It has a very hostel basic run down feel to it. Wouldn’t stay again sorry

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacko_Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Jacko_Nurse,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms with an up to date look.
We have staff 24 hour who can assist with maintenance issues. I am not sure if you contacted Reception regarding those two issues.
They would have been happy to help.
Regards,
O.Renard
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

room isn't cleaned right, tight baths, slow and limited wifi, wrong tv location with broken speaker, resto that seldom opens. Proximity to the tram and excel is good though. Nice places are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AttyBillyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Atty Billy S,
Thank you for your comments. We are addressing some of the points you raised.
New bedrooms will have a bigger bathroom, a larger TV screens placed on the wall.
Our WiFi is being updated this year for better signal and ease of access.
We have a PUB as well as a restaurant so that there is always an alternative option.
Regards,
O. Renard
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews