We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad hotel! And fraud!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Court Hotel
Ranked #941 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in April 2017 with a group of students. We payed a £5000 deposit before arrival. The rooms were in a really bad condition. 2 of the bed bottoms broke as we sat down in them, and something on one of the showers fell off as one of the students were going to lift the shower head off. Before check out we were told to pay around £1000 because of these minor things. Now, 6 months later we haven't received any of the £5000 deposit...(!) The manager "Mahmood" keeps telling me excuses why he can't pay. "The bank won't accept your account" and so on. I advice everyone who are considering this hotel not to do it!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Margunn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Firstly they put rates up for Weekend (Radio 2 live at Hyde Park), it is very conveniently located. We arrived to find a hotel in the middle of a refit (no advance notice) booked in OK and negotiated the building works to our room (which as luck would have it - had been refitted). Room was a bit small as expected, it was clean and tidy. However, door to balcony could not be locked and even it could have been a strong wind would have blown it apart ! We went out to central London for a meal and returned for a relatively quiet nights sleep, THEN the shock of our 'inclusive' breakfast which consisted of cheap cornflakes and toast (NOT continental or English), the staff conveniently either forgot or could not speak English other than to repeat sorry as they scuttled away when every guest asked about breakfast !!!!!
The refit looked to have been going on for some time, bare walls, bare electric cables hanging for holes in the walls, terrible carpets and plastic sheeting. No clear fire exits or emergency lighting and generally very tired décor. Would not recommend ....

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank compuwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this wonderful hotel again and my God - it was even more wonderful this time - as they had completed some more of their renovations and refurbishments of the common areas . It's not completed yet but it looks amazing already and clean and fresh . They have brought it into the 21st century !
It will no doubt look fabulous once it's completed fully .
The rooms are all individual and totally fabulous with rain water showers in some of them .
The decor is practical and 7 stars .
The staff are truly outstanding and so so helpful . They were baby sitting my young ones when I popped out to buy groceries .

The location is the very best in London . The park opposite is just amazing too and is 1 minutes walk across from the hotel .

The balcony rooms are to die for .

The breakfast is good . Very decent of them to provide it free of charge .

They have parking spaces in front of the hotel too at a very reasonable charge of only £30 per day . Cheapest in the area .
They have 24 hour reception desk always manned .

They have a free luggage storage area too for guests which is so handy - and free !!

The cleanliness of the rooms we have had now on 2 occasions is just unbelievably good and super clean .

I would highly recommend this 7 stars hotel for such a budget price - to anyone .

I could have stayed at the Hilton for £300 per night but this was much better at only £95 per night with the owner personally greeting all his guests by their first name !

I thought it was amazing .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank monicabellucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

i was so impressed by the quality and standard of the rooms which had been recently renovated to a very high standard indeed. the location is superb next to 2 major stations - i.e. lancaster gate and paddington. so easy to get to all the airports. the breakfast was amazing and free - lots of premium coffee and lashings of toast . simple but hit the spot. so close to fantastic restaurants and the owner even gave us a voucher for 20% off food at the great italian restaurant next door.
the indian restaurant also offered the same to us.
hyde park is 2 mins walk across from the hotel.
you have to stay here!
you will be amazed by their friendliness. the staff are all extremely helpful and kind. i had 5 children with me and boy oh boy they really looked after us so well- i cannot sing their praises loud enough.!! 7 star at a very reasonable budget price.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room or the ground floor rooms. Higher floors also have lovely rain water showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlesharvey7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterCourtHotel, General Manager at Lancaster Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We always thrive to greet all our customers with the best service to make their stay with us as comfortable and great as possible. Offering the best stay is our priority and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Booked Accommodation for 3 nights over the telephone spoke to receptionist by name of Rafael, who agreed price for duration but charged higher to my account. Then had the cheek to explain it was a mis understanding on my part!
Incredible. So be warned.

Room was small and dark foul smell coming from hand basin and shower, ceiling was leaking.
The staircase leading down to the basement had a foul smell which first thing in the morning was not good.
Building Work going on till gone 9pm. Staff failed knowledge and gave excuses about poor Wifi single which did not work.
Breakfast if you could call it that was substandard and the toast was anemic!

I would most defiantly not use this Hotel for Future Stays in London and Not even Recommend.
Hence no star rating for this Hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank polrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#725 of 1,077 in London
399 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#420 of 1,077 in London
1,083 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#537 of 1,077 in London
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rhodes Hotel
#349 of 1,077 in London
1,459 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#752 of 1,077 in London
666 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#661 of 1,077 in London
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Court Hotel

Address: 202-204 Sussex Gardens, London W2 3UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #941 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $109 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lancaster Court Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking central London's 630-acre Hyde Park, the family-run Lancaster Court is set along a tree-lined street in the heart of central London. With parking and WiFi, this listed Victorian building is just 2 minutes' walk from London Paddington Railway Station with its Heathrow Express Service. Individually designed, each room at Lancaster Court features a flat-screen Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities. All en-suite shower rooms have a hairdryer. In the mornings, guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast. For lunch and evening meals, there are numerous restaurants, bars, and cafes within a 5-minute stroll of the hotel. With a free luggage storage facility, Lancaster Court is also only 5 minutes' walk from Lancaster Gate Tube Station. Many of London's top tourist attractions are easily accessible after a 15-minute Tube journey, including iconic Westminster's London Eye, the Houses of Parliament, and historic Westminster Abbey. Westminster Borough is a great choice for travellers interested in parks, theatre and monuments. We speak your language! Hotel Rooms: 40 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lancaster Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Court London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing