We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,049 results
Traveller rating
730
763
367
124
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
763
367
124
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greenwich park maritime museum train station charing cross lovely hotel bit dated cutty sark afternoon tea breakfast was excellent buffet style family room easy access one night stay would stay again full english central london breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 2,049 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Hotel in great position, staff very friendly & helpful, breakfast buffet style, lovely garden, fans in bedroom - no air conditioning, very clean & tidy, old fashioned hotel & great value, opposite open green which leads into beautiful Greenwich Park with Greenwich Observatory & Meridian Line about 20 minutes walk from hotel, a further 15 minute walk takes you to The Cutty Sark & Maritime museum, so much to see close by. We really liked Blackheath Village only 10 mins walk from hotel for many eating out options & friendly bars dotted all around without the usual hustle & bustle of London, we loved the position of the hotel & if we go to London again would definitely stay here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jillthornhill04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Mick & Jill, thank you for your review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding our amazing team, As you mention we are blessed with the wonderful Blackheath in front of the hotel and the many attractions of Greenwich nearby. I think you have summed up Blackheath perfectly 'without the (hustle and bustle) of London. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

2.time in this Hotel
Easy parking without fee
Nice room no. 257
Good english breakfast, sometimes busy when coming after 09.00 am
Nice walk through the park to Greenwich Downtown takes 20min
Busstop in front of hotel

Room Tip: Room 257 es Nice View into the Garden
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank famveit2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. 257 is one of our new Crown collection rooms. Great to have your feedback that you enjoyed this room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived around 12:30 so the room wasn’t ready, we managed to park which was great. Eventually at 1:15 we managed to check in. We were really pleased with this as we had a full day in London planned for my daughters birthday and wanted to freshen up after travelling for 4 hours.

The Good points...

Excellent location. Nearby bars and shops & about a 5 min walk to the train station.
Linda on reception is an angel & the bell boy who brings the iron etc was so polite & friendly.
The hotel itself is nice with quite a large bar with comfy settees to relax. A laundry room which came in handy. You can buy tokens and powder from reception. The Breakfast is very nice with a large selection of cold & hot. The fan in the room came in handy as it was very hot. They allowed us to leave the car there after Check out as we had another day planned in London Which was great.

The not so good points...

The rooms are very dated & basic but only a base for us as we like to explore. Breakfast the second morning after the hotel had a wedding the night before was absolute carnage. We waited 20 mins to be seated and after ordering poached eggs and waiting another 20 mins I gave up and had cereal. It wasn’t a nice experience as the waitress in charge was yelling back and fore telling the other girls what tables to make up etc. She was just doing her job but the shouting was unbearable although they did a good job getting everyone seated & we understood it was busy. This then set us back so had to rush to check out. The cleaner came in a few times and kept opening the door when we were getting ready, bearing in mind it was only 10:15 and check out wasn’t until 10:30 & breakfast had taken over an hour. A simple knock on the door would have sufficed.

I just want to say a big thank you to Linda, my husband became extremely ill on our first day and had to come back to the hotel. She provided me with anti bac spray and a cloth as he’d been sick. Nothing was too much trouble and you can see she is very good at her job and a people person. I managed to use the laundry to wash his things which was a god send.

Overall a nice little break, we would definitely book again for the location and ease of parking.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bizzird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Bizzird, thank you for your review. It is good to read that you found the hotel nice and our location good in the village. Thank you also for your comments regard Linda, I have shown her your review and personally thanked her. I am sorry that Sunday breakfast was busy, we did seem to be caught out this Sunday with everyone arriving at the same time. Hope to see you again. And best wishes to your husband.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We had a family party here and some of the family stayed. The rooms was clean and tidy. Me and my husband had room service the buns we had our chicken in was a bit burnt which was a bit disappointing as they was quite expensive but the chips was very nice. The staff at reception was friendly and helpful especially a lady called Linda ( i think that was her name) she got me more milks and tea bags as my husband love his tea. The only thing i would suggest it that there is a map to get to your rooms as you could get lots.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear maria, thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding our great team and of course Linda, I have noted your comments and will speak to our Head Chef now.
Mnay regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

this is a nice hotel in a lovely location, with friendly helpful staff. Comfortable bedrooms. Breakfast can be busy but the staff are always there to help and there is a good choice. Bar menu is also good.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mfandsjtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear mfandsjtaylor, thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed our location and bar food. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our amazing team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews