We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$298
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$298
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jesmond Dene Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$131
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$312
US$296
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,733)
Filter reviews
2,733 results
Traveller rating
1,458
1,009
191
55
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,458
1,009
191
55
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming pooljubilee linesouth banklondon eyeexecutive roomtube stationtate modernmodern hotelexcellent hotelbirthday cardminute walkgood sizeborough markettesco expresslate checkconvenient locationfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 2,733 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

No minus, only plusses in this property. Location (you're at walking distance from the river bank, Tate Modern, Shakespeare's new Globe, National Theatre, Southbank Centre...), view (if you stay on the upper floors, you can wave to St Paul's Cathedral and the Shard), transportation (Blackfriars Underground and rail stations are on your doorstep and Southwark Underground station is just round the corner), design and comfort (whether in rooms or in public areas, neither too much nor too little), fitness facilities (gym, sauna and indoor pool), restaurant and bar, and, on top of it all, service. Professional, helpful and cheerful staff, with a special mention for Chamo, Alina and the whole breakfast team : quite frankly, they make you feel at home, no less ! Hope to see you soon, guys !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank severus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We absolutely love your review, thank you so much! I am so happy that we looked after you so well and I agree the location is fantastic. Alina is particularly thrilled with her mention as she has only been with us 3 weeks! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks again. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This hotel is in an excellent location, close to Central London but just that little bit quieter. It is just a few minutes walk from Southwark tube station (Jubilee line), travel zone 1. There is a Tesco Express just outside the station enabling you to pick up sandwiches, drinks and snacks for your day ahead, it stays open until 11pm. The walk from the station to the hotel is well lit and open, good for ladies or people on their own.

The hotel itself, is modern and clean. The reception area is always manned, with very helpful and efficient staff, quick to check you in, provide information and sort out any problems - and always with a friendly smile. The reception area has water to drink and provides biscuits and fruit.

Our room was on the 4th floor and we faced the main street, we noticed that there was a pub opposite and were concerned that this might be noisy, but we had no issues at all. The room was a good size with a double and a single bed for our family of 3 ladies, both beds were very comfortable, plenty of pillows provided. There was plenty of wardrobe space, and a hairdryer, ironing board and iron are provided. There was an in room fridge, big enough for us to store a few bottles of water to take out with us each day.

The bathroom was modern and clean and even had a glass wall to the shower that can be unfrosted at the touch of a button - a unique feature !

Breakfast was provided downstairs in the restaurant - this was buffet style and had a huge choice of items, both hot and cold. Only criticism would be that the scrambled eggs were overcooked, solid and rubbery. On the upside, one of our party had a particular cereal requirement, a health issue, and when we asked if they had this item they said no but that they would get if for us for the next day. The next day, the cereal was not there, so we asked, and they said it hadn't arrived yet with their stock but they sent a member of staff down the road to Tesco to get it for us - how's that for excellent customer service !

There is a bar area, we didn't use it ourselves, but it always seemed to have a few people in it each evening when we returned to the hotel.

The hotel does have a gym and a pool in the basement for guests use.

On our last day, as we were flying out later in the day, the hotel looked after all of our bags for us, a service they were happy to provide up until 9pm that day - a much longer time frame than a lot of London hotels do.

Overall,we found the hotel and its staff to be very good. All of the staff were friendly and willing to help with any problem, no matter how big or small - well done Novotel Blackfriars, we will be back to stay when next in London.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nursetibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you Nursetibs for this fabulous 5 star review about your stay with us! I remember the issue we had with the cereal and it was myself that organised one of us to run to Tesco's :) for it! I am so pleased to read how well we looked after you and of course your specific feedback about my Team makes me so proud. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit London. Many thanks. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I was extremely delighted by the location and size of the room of this hotel. While it is extremely practical (no large flamboyant lobby or bare minimum amenities inside the room), it does its job very well of giving you a comfortable stay. I had a room on the upper floor with a view of The Shard, which was an added plus.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you Anjani for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you were looked after by us and of course I agree the location is perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I was warmly welcomed by the friendly receptionist who efficiently checked us in. There were even welcome biscuits, water and apples.

The room was comfortable and spacious and the pillows were perfect.
Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and the staff were upbeat even first thing in the morning. There is plenty available for vegetarians.
The hotel was perfectly located for exploring London by foot or metro. I loved the way it was near the river.

The icing on the cake was the birthday card and glass of Prosecco from the hotel which was a lovely surprise.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank McVeigh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are so thrilled that we made you birthday so special, it is often these small things that really make a difference. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a fantastic review and I really hope we can welcome you back in the future. Many thanks. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a very central location, with walking distances of about 3 minutes to Southwark station or less than 10 minutes to Blackfriars station. This makes the Novotel easily reachable from London City Airport.

Just footsteps away towards Waterloo Station or over the bridge towards Blackfriars station are restaurants and bars. The the hotel itself features a nice restaurant. They serve a very good breakfast.

Arriving at the hotel, the welcoming experience was brilliant. Sara at reception welcomed guests already when they waited in line for check-in. I later found that Sarah and her colleagues provided an excellent and super friendly service at all times.

The hotel lobby is quite small but looked modern, the room was very clean, quiet and decorated nicely. The whole hotel building has a clean and modern look.

They also have a nice Fitness area which we did not use.

Given the overall experience with staff at the Novotel as well as the nice appearance of everything, I give the maximum rating.

Particularly Sara made Accor's slogan "feel welcome" come to life.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beats-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Wow, thank you so much for this amazing review, we are just thrilled to read your feedback on how well we looked after you. Sara is amazing and is such a star to work with! I get so many comments about her and how genuinely welcoming she is. Of course she will be rewarded for delivering such amazing service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews