We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, welcoming staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #120 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Hotel was easy to find - short walk from Southwark tube station (Jubilee line); easily accessible coming from Gatwick, via Victoria. Reception is quite informal, but staff were pleasant and helpful. We had a family room, on the second floor: queen bed and two single sofa beds. It was a bit tight for space, but otherwise perfectly fine. It would have been very good, as a double room. Facilities were top class - everything clean and contemporary. Breakfast is well worth it - don't go room only, as you won't beat it for value anywhere. Chamo was more than helpful - made sure we had everything we needed - organised free umbrellas before we headed out walking (and they can be dropped off at any other hotel in the chain, which is very smart). Free access to a PC and printer in the lobby was a bonus - ideal for printing any tickets/vouchers/boarding passes. Kids enjoyed the pool, which is a great facility in a London hotel. Overall, very impressed with the hotel and staff - and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Family rooms are on lower floors; Executive rooms on top, with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

THANK YOU Terry M for this amazing review, I am thrilled to read how well we looked after you. Chamo of course is thrilled with his mention and of course will be rewarded for this. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Many thanks. Jacqui McMillan & The Blackfriars Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 133 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

No minus, only plusses in this property. Location (you're at walking distance from the river bank, Tate Modern, Shakespeare's new Globe, National Theatre, Southbank Centre...), view (if you stay on the upper floors, you can wave to St Paul's Cathedral and the Shard), transportation (Blackfriars Underground and rail stations are on your doorstep and Southwark Underground station is just round the corner), design and comfort (whether in rooms or in public areas, neither too much nor too little), fitness facilities (gym, sauna and indoor pool), restaurant and bar, and, on top of it all, service. Professional, helpful and cheerful staff, with a special mention for Chamo, Alina and the whole breakfast team : quite frankly, they make you feel at home, no less ! Hope to see you soon, guys !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank severus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We absolutely love your review, thank you so much! I am so happy that we looked after you so well and I agree the location is fantastic. Alina is particularly thrilled with her mention as she has only been with us 3 weeks! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks again. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This hotel is in an excellent location, close to Central London but just that little bit quieter. It is just a few minutes walk from Southwark tube station (Jubilee line), travel zone 1. There is a Tesco Express just outside the station enabling you to pick up sandwiches, drinks and snacks for your day ahead, it stays open until 11pm. The walk from the station to the hotel is well lit and open, good for ladies or people on their own.

The hotel itself, is modern and clean. The reception area is always manned, with very helpful and efficient staff, quick to check you in, provide information and sort out any problems - and always with a friendly smile. The reception area has water to drink and provides biscuits and fruit.

Our room was on the 4th floor and we faced the main street, we noticed that there was a pub opposite and were concerned that this might be noisy, but we had no issues at all. The room was a good size with a double and a single bed for our family of 3 ladies, both beds were very comfortable, plenty of pillows provided. There was plenty of wardrobe space, and a hairdryer, ironing board and iron are provided. There was an in room fridge, big enough for us to store a few bottles of water to take out with us each day.

The bathroom was modern and clean and even had a glass wall to the shower that can be unfrosted at the touch of a button - a unique feature !

Breakfast was provided downstairs in the restaurant - this was buffet style and had a huge choice of items, both hot and cold. Only criticism would be that the scrambled eggs were overcooked, solid and rubbery. On the upside, one of our party had a particular cereal requirement, a health issue, and when we asked if they had this item they said no but that they would get if for us for the next day. The next day, the cereal was not there, so we asked, and they said it hadn't arrived yet with their stock but they sent a member of staff down the road to Tesco to get it for us - how's that for excellent customer service !

There is a bar area, we didn't use it ourselves, but it always seemed to have a few people in it each evening when we returned to the hotel.

The hotel does have a gym and a pool in the basement for guests use.

On our last day, as we were flying out later in the day, the hotel looked after all of our bags for us, a service they were happy to provide up until 9pm that day - a much longer time frame than a lot of London hotels do.

Overall,we found the hotel and its staff to be very good. All of the staff were friendly and willing to help with any problem, no matter how big or small - well done Novotel Blackfriars, we will be back to stay when next in London.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursetibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you Nursetibs for this fabulous 5 star review about your stay with us! I remember the issue we had with the cereal and it was myself that organised one of us to run to Tesco's :) for it! I am so pleased to read how well we looked after you and of course your specific feedback about my Team makes me so proud. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit London. Many thanks. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I was extremely delighted by the location and size of the room of this hotel. While it is extremely practical (no large flamboyant lobby or bare minimum amenities inside the room), it does its job very well of giving you a comfortable stay. I had a room on the upper floor with a view of The Shard, which was an added plus.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you Anjani for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you were looked after by us and of course I agree the location is perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I was warmly welcomed by the friendly receptionist who efficiently checked us in. There were even welcome biscuits, water and apples.

The room was comfortable and spacious and the pillows were perfect.
Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and the staff were upbeat even first thing in the morning. There is plenty available for vegetarians.
The hotel was perfectly located for exploring London by foot or metro. I loved the way it was near the river.

The icing on the cake was the birthday card and glass of Prosecco from the hotel which was a lovely surprise.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank McVeigh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBlackfriars, General Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are so thrilled that we made you birthday so special, it is often these small things that really make a difference. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a fantastic review and I really hope we can welcome you back in the future. Many thanks. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#271 of 1,077 in London
3,493 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#258 of 1,077 in London
2,261 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,077 in London
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#159 of 1,077 in London
1,496 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#326 of 1,077 in London
3,096 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#274 of 1,077 in London
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $223 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. Located just minutes away from the City and London's famous Southbank, you will be within walking distance of Waterloo Station and some of the capital's most famous landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern and St Pauls Cathedral. You can unwind in our Jamboree Foodfest & Bar, which celebrate flavours from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing