We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent location, superb service, very professional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #586 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location, superb service, very professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stunning hotel with first class service nothing was too much trouble.
Very comfortable room with huge comfy bed.
Location was perfect front of the hotel faced the end of Carnaby Street.
Can not comment on food didn't eat there but plenty of restaurants close by.
Would stay here again without a doubt.
Well done Courthouse doubletree Hilton
When in London we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvhols99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    431
    258
    156
    113
See reviews for
190
560
62
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here for just one night.

Location Excellent.

Hotel Good (Could have been better for the price paid, but it's central london so you end up paying over the top for average hotels).

We was in a good, large room looking out from the front of the hotel, with a big fireplace. It was a bit like staying in someones living room, but converted into a bedroom. It was a bit different to normal hotel rooms so that was a bonus, but I think this was the exception because most rooms seemed to be in the more modern block at the back.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

Recommended, I would willingly stay here again, but if i got a good deal at another hotel it would probably be enought to persuade me to try a different hotel, rather than thinking i must come back to this one.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front if you want a room that is a little bit different to the run of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenHenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Excellent location for shopping and only a few minutes from Oxford Circus tube station. Loads of pubs and restaurants around - but look beyond the main street frontages if you want to find something that isn't premium tourist priced!

The hotel itself, looks just fine. I'd expected a "cheap" Hilton, but the quality was just as good as any other Hilton hotel. Very helpful concierges who outshone the rather surly reception staff. The room was fine and a remarkably large size given a very central London location, but my room (116) had an awful noise from the aircon or something outside the window, so much so that I left the tv on all night to drown the constant humming out.

Oh, and the bar looks fine, but doesn't sell any draught beers than Guinness - but there are plenty of options within a few hundred yards of the front door.

Room Tip: make sure your room doesn't face out onto plant machinery
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I booked a day spa and afternoon tea deal for two on travelzoo at this hotel, and admittedly it was cheap at £89.00 for two people which included an hour long massage or facial. However it very soon became apparent that it was a cheap deal because the facilities were pretty poor / shabby and crammed into a tiny space in the basement. We arrived late morning and made our way down to the "Spa" which consisted of a tiny entrance hall, one treatment room with two beds, a tiny changing area with one toilet and shower, a small pool and sauna and a "relaxation area" that had two loungers overlooking the pool, there was also a small area with some gym equipment, the only other seating was two shell shaped chairs overlooking the pool. Given we counted 8 other guests who appeared to have booked the same deal, there was no space for us all to sit and relax and so we took turns at having a go on the loungers.

We had our treatments shortly after we arrived, it was not particularly relaxing as the therapists left the room several times and at one point somebody (I think another member of staff) knocked on the door and entered to whisper something to my therapist, despite the fact there was a sign up outside clearly telling people that treatments were in progess and not to disturb.

After the treatement we got dressed and went upstairs for afternoon tea early, which was just as dissapointing, there was supposed to be three types of sandwiches but we were bluntly told that only two types were being served, the scones were small and dry / stale, there was four small slices of cake per person, again the ginger slice was hard / dry / stale.

We left shortly after and went to a lovely bar for champagne and to spend the rest of the day relaxing.

It is true that you pay for what you get, I have had some amazing spa days and afternoon tea's in and around London, and yes they were more expensive but at least the experience met expectation. In this case I was not expecting perhaps the same luxury as I have previously experienced, but I my expectations were certainly higher than what was delivered.

I can't comment on the rest of the hotel i.e. rooms etc, but this experience has certainly put me off ever returning.

I have given a poor rating rather than terrible as the location was good, and my skin did feel nice in the days that followed.

Management - if you are going to advertise offers the point should be to showcase your facilities / service which will entice people back later on at full price, not offer a sub standard service / facilities which cause people dissapointment. One off gain rather than long term loyalty is all you have achieved.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlefrog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel is well appointed for central London shops, theatres and the metro system being 5 minutes from Oxford Street tube station and under 15 from Picaddily Circus.
The welcome by the staff was friendly and efficient, as it was my birthday then even gave us 4 cookies and applogised that they had no candles!
We arrived early and as the room was already prepared, we were allowed to check in early (10am).
Rooms are quiet, clean and well fitted out.
This is the second time I have stayed and I will return.
Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#570 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#431 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#21 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#317 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#51 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in London
#344 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $284 - $589
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing