We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the honesty bar”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2009

what a wonderful place.. the entrance is stunning! Our suite was fabulous. We were dining out so didn't sample the restaurant and when we got home (very very late) the normal bar was closed - we were directly to "the honesty bar" where you help yourself and write down what you have had. What a wonderful idea - reminded me of country pub lock ins where the landlord would slope of to bed and leave you to it. so much better than waiting around for a half asleep night porter to serve another drink like most 24 hour bars...

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capitalL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,227 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2009

First thing that hits you about this place is its friendliness. From the Australian receptionist to the room service, all the hotel staff have a warmth of character which immediately makes you feel relaxed and at home. Though the Soho is not large in terms of scale, it is a hotel with a big heart. And there seems to be a sense of teamwork permeating the place which is dedicated to high calibre customer service.

I was allocated a great room on the fourth floor of the hotel. The rooms are large with latticed windows which run the whole length of the bedroom. There's a brightness about the place (both in terms of decor and natural light) which makes you feel good. It was snowing outside when I arrived and the room was alluringly warm. Given the cold weather conditions outside, I decided to take it easy for a while and watch the live Liverpool-Chelsea match on their high tech flat screen television. There's also a stereo sound system/radio in the room ; but it sounds a bit more tinny than the more authentic sound delivered by the television.

The hotel has Soho as its natural hinterland. It is just off Dean Street and quite close to Gerrard Street. The night I arrived, there was a restaurant roasting three or four suckling pigs in an outside atrium (in honour of the Chinese New Year) and the smell was divine. Not surprisingly, I called in later on to sample this most succulent of pork. But, having read Timothy Mo's Sour Sweet novel (about an unfortunate London victim of the Triad gangs) many years ago, my imagination was in overdrive as I walked through Chinatown, wondering whether there was a more dangerous underbelly to this most sociable of places. But if it exists, I did not discover it.

It was really a relief to be cocooned in this wonderful hotel as the weather conditions deteriorated outside. Though my view over the rooftops occasionally stretched way beyond Oxford Street, the burgeoning snowfall would reduce my visibility from the window to almost nothing in the space of seconds. The room was so comfortable that it made me reluctant to leave it in the morning.

And the hotel has a great selection of breakfast dishes to suit all tastes. More importantly, however, the total cost of breakfast (of £20) was not unreasonable in the London scheme of things. If I had to describe it, I would place the food in the "very good" as opposed to "great" category. But incredible skill is required to produce hotel breakfasts which reach the guest's room in optimum condition.

All in all, I had a highly relaxing stay at the Soho Hotel. My positive evaluation is also influenced by the fact that the room was available at a rate of Euro 250 a night. Not inexpensive. But worth it for the degree of comfort and service provided by the Soho Hotel.

Stayed: February 2009
2  Thank Insightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Stayed here with my husband for two nights on 9th and 10th January to celebrate a special birthday for me.Fabulous room on the 4th floor with huge windows looking over the rooftops of London. Location is perfect and considering the hotel is so central was surprisingly quiet at night ,ensuring a good nights sleep.All the staff were friendly and helpful.Check in was dealt with quickly and efficiently and, as it was my birthday we were offered complimentary champagne at the bar.On our first night we ate in the restaurant. The food was ok - nothing special. We ate breakfast in our room, which was fine. I particularly liked the extensive choice for breakfast.Overall a lovely place to stay and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

I booked into this hotel for three days to meet with business colleagues from abroad. In the past I’ve used the Covent Garden Hotel for such a purpose; but having read the rave reviews on TripAdvisor, this time I thought I’d take the chance and switch to the Soho Hotel.

The Covent Garden is certainly a tough act to follow but I was not disappointed. Enough superlatives have already been written about the Soho to benefit from further expansion here. All I can do is confirm that it is indeed rare to find a hotel as good as this and point out what for me are some of its best features. In no particular order, these are:-

The location. Right in the heart of things and within easy walking distance of some of the best restaurants, theatres, cinemas and other entertainment spots in London! Surely no one could be bored while staying here.

The rooms. These are spacious, kitted out with all mod cons (high quality flat-screen TV, DVD player, power shower, etc.) and furnished with traditional and modern items. The style is apparently known as ‘Contemporary London’. In any event, the elegant blend of the best of the traditional and modern is a winning combination and provides a relaxing home-from-home environment. The rooms are serviced twice daily and the bed linen and towels are changed every day, which is exactly how it should be in a deluxe hotel. The common parts are also kept in immaculate order.

The staff. The people who work here are always keen to help and are clearly dedicated to maintaining the highest standards. They ensure the whole place runs like clockwork even when it is vibrant and busy

I would agree with a previous reviewer that the hotel restaurant is a long way from being the best in London. However, the bistro-style food that it serves is very good value, particularly if you go for the set menu option. The restaurant is certainly vibrant, being separated from the hotel bar by just a glass screen.

Are there any downsides? Well, one slight quibble during my stay concerned the refurbished of a nearby room. This resulted in some noise and the corridor being blocked on a couple of occasions by some ill-mannered and shifty looking workmen. This was an annoyance most certainly, but I guess nowhere is perfect. The Soho Hotel, however, comes very close. I’m already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank TedMeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

I just returned from a four night stay at the Soho hotel and couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. First, the location is great - very close to the British Museum with tons of shops and restaurants within walking distance. One nice thing about this is that if you're there on a Sunday the area isn't totally dead like most of the rest of the city. Second, the hotel is just beautiful - it's modern without being overly hip and just very comfortable and cozy. There's a nice mix of traditional English florals with modern design - definitely not the sort of granny-nice that some high priced hotels seem to favor. Also, the rooms are enormous - we had a deluxe room and the bedroom portion was about 20 feet by 16 feet and an 8 by 10 bath. The best thing about this hotel is the service though. We arranged our trip somewhat last minute and so we didn't have all our details worked out before we left. The concierge made dinner reservations for us every night we were there at at nice places (Hakasan, Tom's Kitchen) and got us theater tickets as well. The service is what made this place stand out and made us feel at home so when we come back to London we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#40 of 1,078 in London
2,359 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,078 in London
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,078 in London
2,880 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#13 of 1,078 in London
2,608 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#16 of 1,078 in London
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $581 - $2,575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing