We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient in the East End”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #322 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 June 2017

This is a fairly typical low to medium standard hotel. It is convenient for the centre of London but is in the East End. The area it is in is very good for restaurants - particularly Indian and other Asian. It is readily accessible from London City Airport with Tower Gateway DLR station 5 minutes walk away and Aldgate East tube station just around the corner.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face onto Commercial Street. It is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giullaume D, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis London City - Shoreditch.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Elena Caraus
Front Office Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 4,076 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

Pros:
- GREAT wifi, got 30Mb down and 15Mb up in my room. No annoying limitations on devices, so I was able to connect a laptop and a phone.
- check in was quick and easy
- room was larger than I expected, and had everything I needed

Cons:
- bad service. I complained about a dripping air conditioner which stopped me sleeping and made a damp patch on the carpet. Nothing was done.
- the toilet flush button, which only had some tenuous connection to the actual flush and was embedded in a fake wall, stopped working.
- I brought these up again during checkout but the teenagers staffing the desk basically said "sorry" and that was that. I suspect they aren't authorised to do anything more.

Although I generally liked the hotel (and the price couldn't be beat!), and I really like the 'just the essentials' approach, I think the quality of construction shows through in the room fittings.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giullaume D, - at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Sir,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Ibis London City and I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations due to technical problems in your room.
The standard procedure in our hotel is, that if you report the problem during the day we pass it directly to the maintenance and if it is reported in the evening we try to sort it out on our own and if we do not succeed we report it to maintenance the following morning. If we have some rooms available, we can also offer our guests to change the room. I sincerely apologize if the situation was not handled properly. Please accept a free upgrade for our newly renovated room, in case you decide to give us a second chance. If you want to collect your free upgrade, please contact us via email h5011-rd@accor.com.

Best regards,
Anna Ferencikova
Front Office Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank joannemK9889EH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Giullaume D, - at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Nice for being an Ibis. There is nothing inside but at least clean. A bit pricey (200£ per night) but average for London City. The air conditioning was ok. Quiet room on the 6th floor. I didn't eat at the restaurant inside.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Francesco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giullaume D, Front House Team Member at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis London City - Shoreditch.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we are delighted to invite you to try our restaurant`s menu next time you will be here.

Sincerely,
Selene Trombatore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Great location just a minutes walk from Aldgate East and a 5 minute walk from Aldgate tube stations. Close to Spitalfields and Shoreditch for bars and restaurants.
Check in and out was smooth and easy and the staff were friendly.
Hotel lobby was modern and clean and a nice place to grab a drink.
The rooms were very basic but clean. The bathrooms were horrendous, very bright and looked like they belonged on a plane. For the price I expected something better.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giullaume D, FRONT HOUSE TEAM MEMBER at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Mr / Mrs traveler
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis London City - Shoreditch. I am sorry that your experience did not meet 100 % your expectations,
At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Selene Trombatore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#265 of 1,077 in London
3,418 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,077 in London
3,314 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#163 of 1,077 in London
738 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#264 Family Hotel in London
#314 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $120 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing