We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“class, space, view but a little remote”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #260 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

yes you have to travel a bit to get to the main places. There is a bus stop just outside and they are frequent but takes longer. the tube is a little further to walk but more time efficient. The apartment was superb, we did get a free upgrade on arrival and those views both from inside the room and sitting on the balcony is fantastic. The little kitchen is very good even with a small coffee machine. All rooms can be closed off which gives you a nice feeling of individual rooms rather than a hotel with just one big room. The bar downstairs is great for a drink but its not noisy. The apartments are on one side then the hotel on another with the bar splitting it up in the middle which is an interesting concept but it works well. there is a small pool with some very nice lounges and daybeds. However it is expensive and you can still hear some traffic noise thats probably the downside. The windows are double glazed and when you open the doors to the balcony makes you realise how well it cuts down the traffic noise however when sleeping at night you can still hear some if your a light sleeper like me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaihappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Perth.
I would like to say thank you for your comments on trip advisor and making the time to leave us your positive experience. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future and have a lovely weekend.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,081 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were upgraded from a 1bed apt to a 2-bed apt which gave us that bit more welcoming space as we had a small birthday party gathering of friends and family. We had arranged in-room buffet dining and the food was scrumptious and so elegantly presented! The apartment had scenic views of the Thames and looked even better at night! Our room was decorated by prior arrangement with balloons and banners etc for a charge and we ordered a delicious Birthday cake gateau to share! The room decor was fresh, clean, bright and homely! There is plenty of storage space in the bedrooms as well as in the kitchen area. It is suitable for both short stay and long stay and is within walking distance of Vauxall tube station. The breakfast was an array of full English and continental delicacies. All the staff were extremely attentive, especially the Reception Manager and very accommodating with our requests. We were given complimentary drinks to have at the bar and we ordered some Tempura which was made to perfection and very well presented. The Lounge Bar area had a modern artistic flair with imagination! A great place to stay for so many reasons!

Room Tip: Higher floors give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank time2chillout321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear timetochillout321,
Thank you for your message on Trip Advisor and as always very please to see you had a brilliant Birtday with us.
Have a great weekend and we look forward seeing you soon.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at this classy apartment/hotel over the last weekend in February.

Gabriella at reception was superb and checked us in to a 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor with a lovely view of the River Thames. The apartment was very clean including both bathrooms. The walk-in shower was brilliant. One of the sinks in the bathroom didn't seem to drain the water properly but wasn't a problem given that we had another bathroom. The range of complimentary toileteries was excellent. The Nespresso machine was a very nice touch but they missed a trick by not providing any milk.

Fellow travellers should note that overnight parking on Plaza's secure on-site car parking will cost £26.00 per night. There was some confusion regarding this prior to our booking so we ended up parking on the side street given that it was a Saturday night.

We would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: 4th floor upwards should be high enough for a good view and ask for the apartments facing the Big Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheekymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Cheekymonk,
I do enjoy when my team goes that extra mile to deserve a personal mention on Trip Advisor. We will continue to ensure we keep Plaza on the River "classy" and look forward to your next visit.
Have a great weekend.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently stayed in the Albert Embankment Hotel in London in Feb, in one of the 1 bedroom appartment.The reception on arrival was very good and professional, as you would expect from a very good hotel in London. Our room was very elegant and clean.

Our stay had been planned since October, as part of our Valentines break, and we soon left for our dinner reservation. We got back to our room approximately around 12am, where we got greeted by a heat of 29 degrees (as the hotel provides thermometers in the rooms).
We tried to reduce the heat by engaging the air conditioning, which we found out later from the front desk, does not work in the winter (as only providing hot air).

We called the reception to provide a solution and help at approx 12.30am, who confirmed they would send someone.By 1.30am, we still had not seen anyone. We therefore called again, to no avail and had to call again approx 2.15am.

The only help the staff member could provide was to open the windows, as locked for safety requirements.
Having required a quite room (as per the booking in October), we then realised (when the first trains started running at 5.30am), that our quiet room was in fact the closest to a major train line in the hotel. I do not have to say that between 2.15 and 5.30, we did not get much sleep, which is appalling when you consider the number of different hotels we could have chosen in London.

The next morning, we went to the reception in order to review our situation with the receptionist. She confirmed that she was sorry and could only provide us with a free breakfast (£15 per person).
We therefore asked to meet the manager in order to explain our issues who after a long a varied conversation, confirmed that our complaint was not serious enough (her exact words) to offer any other compensation than a free upgrade (according to availability on our next stay).
Her exact words: I can give you a free stay but your complaint is not serious enough so you will only receive this free upgrade.
We did clearly explain that in those circumstances there would not be a next time (to which she said it is our problem).

Our overall feeling and perception about this hotel were great prior to our stay and actual accommodation was great but after our stay we can only say that the overall service and customer support has been so appalling with dealing with our request that we can only say at the moment, we will never stay in our of your hotels again.

Room Tip: ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Froggylondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear FroggyLondon,

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you with regards to the room being too hot. I know that my Team has explained how our system works however I would personally like to apologise for the way in which we handled the issue and I have ensured that all our Heads of Department have received your feedback and remedial training is currently taking place.

With regards to the request of a River view unfortunately this is only ever a request and cannot be guaranteed unless that room type is booked at the initial reservation stage.

After reviewing your hotel invoice I have seen that the hotel team made an adjustment on the day and furthermore we have offered a 25% discount off your rate and a complimentary upgrade to a River view on your next stay.

We do look forward to welcome you back in the near future and please do contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights and had ajoining rooms for 6 guests. Bags of room with lounge areas and bedrooms. Great service and excellent location.
Just need to sort out air conditioning as rooms hot in winter

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 622MDP622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear 622,
Thank you for your email and comments on Trip Advisor. Very please to read that your Family enjoyed our hospitality and that the location was of benefit. We are currently looking into ways of improving our air conditioning which at times do not allow us exactly what we would like to offer. However I'm sure you will not let this spoil your decision to not return?!
Have a pleasant weekend and we are looking forward to see you back.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#389 of 1,077 in London
5,595 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $249 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing