We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with great views of the Thames”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #272 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2015

This is a great hotel in London, with a good location overviewing the Thames. The rooms are very spacious, especially for London and if you get a room with a view of the river it is magnificent. I got upgraded to a two bedroom suite and it was huge, with the added bonus of a balcony with magnificent views of the river and the houses of Parliament. The staff is very friendly and efficient and there is also a good bar in the lobby. There are two hotels at the same address and I recommend spending the few extra pence and staying at Plaza on the River.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the river is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Dear Christian A C,

Thank you for your great feedback and I'm delighted we were able to meet your expectations. It was a pleasure having you with us and I hope you will return in the future.

Best Regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 536 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2015

My sisters and I booked the family suite for our 3 day trip to London. It was quite easy getting there from the tube taken from Heathrow. The room was ready even though we were early and it was so big! the double bed felt more like a queen and the sofa bed was perfect for the youngest sister. We had a microwave, fridge and even a washer which would be great for larger families. service and management were always very helpful and room was spotless every night we returned from sight seeing. we took ubers everywhere, and we ventured mostly into Westminster which cost us around 8 pounds. We did the tower of london one day and the cab cost us around 20 pounds. overall great location to big ben, the abbey, regent/bond/oxford street. and there's a convenience store right next door which is great.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rabia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Dear Rabia B,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay.
I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the festive season at Plaza on the River.

We look forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Excellent service especially for someone with kids apartment space is perfect along with facilities of dish washer and clothes washing and drying normally such a rip off on holiday.. Breakfast is good although 4 star one is better value than 5 star one

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Omar H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a great 5 star review on TripAdvisor. It was great to hear that your first stay with us was comfortable and memorable. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to stay again and have any preferences.
Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Normally, I tend to post positive reviews on TA and tend to say very little if I'm not happy with a hotel -preferring to give "bouquets rather than brickbats". However, after voicing my grievances privately through the hotel's review engine and getting a passive aggressive response from the manager it made me feel compelled to write this negative or not.
Our first impressions of our room were not good . The carpet in the bedroom was nothing short of filthy (pale carpet covered in grimy, black marks, stains.). The floor inside the front door was sticky, clearly something had been spilt on the floor and not been cleaned. The windows looking out onto the "iconic view" that we had paid so dearly for were filthy, so much so that you could hardly see the view.
We had rented a 1 BR apartment with sofa bed in the "lounge" area for our daughter, however, once the sofa bed was made up there was basically nowhere to sit comfortably especially as there were 3 of us trying to look for a space.
Overall, it was an extremely disappointing choice, overpriced and really lacking any charm or character. The building works surround you, beware this is happening on top, either side and in front - you cannot escape it and is probably responsible for the filth covering the windows ( the hotel are aware of this and they do clean the windows they claim but perhaps at least whilst the renovations continue they should "up" the cleaning frequency).
At first it seemed that we may be able to change rooms to a room that had had a carpet "upgrade" (they are also aware of the filthy carpet situation). However, when the next receptionist was on duty suddenly no rooms had had carpet refurbishments only some had been cleaned more recently than others but none of these were available now. When I gave feedback re this receptionists surly response the manager told me she was surprised as no one else ever had a problem with the front desk staff - only me apparently.
Trying to find a positive - the concierges attached to the hotel were helpful, I used the gym daily and it was well equipped. The bar area in the foyer is very nice and serving good food from Chino Latino.
These apartments could be so much better, but at the moment too many issues are letting it down badly. Look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lindyvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Dear lindyvee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay.

As you can see from the other reviews posted on this site, most of our comments are really positive, for this reason as well I was surprized to read your comments.

We would highly appreciate if you could forward your feedback to our Guest Relations team at guestrelations@plazaontheriver.co.uk, so that we can take a further look into your comments.

In a lighter note, please note that we also offer Two bedroom apartments for families. In this case the third person can sleep in the second bedroom and keep the sofa facilities in the living room.

We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you very much in advance.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Went on a quick break with my wife and 2 kids 7 and 10. The staff were truly amazing and attentive. Check in was a breeze and very pleasant. The room was spacious and the views of the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben were the perfect . Breakfast and the service at breakfast was excellent. We felt looked after and pampered throughout breakfast. Best scrambled eggs in London! A few negatives. The kids sofa bed was a tad uncomfortable and a more major thing ....when we came back to our room after a day out it felt as though someone had come into our room to use our microwave!? The room smelt of food and the microwave was slightly warm. We chose not to complain because everyone had been so nice to us . We conveniently blamed the scent on our paranoia. All that said I can say the experience was 10/10!! We will definitelybe back!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Dear Ben M,


Thank you for your comment about your recent stay. I was glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
I was naturally concerned about your comment about the microwave. Please note that no staff member is allowed to access any rooms unless they are there to clean, refill minibar or you requested any items to be delivered to your room. Housekeeping Department however may use the micro to ensure it is in fully working order.
Should you like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact us.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#371 of 1,081 in London
5,723 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: S$317 - S$536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing