We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection with Stunning Views”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #269 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I was looking for a hotel to celebrate my Dad's 80th birthday and noticed this hotel, as it had a suites it seemed perfect for the whole family to stay in luxury for our London trip. I contacted the reservation department and had marvellous service and advice from Djamilla who recommended a 3 bedroom suite with a river view with balcony for this extra special trip and how right she was. My Dad was thrilled when we entered the room and we started out stay enjoying the sunshine and views from the spacious balcony. The hotel sent up some bubbles, fruit platter and a lovely message in a card for my Dad, he was thrilled. There was plenty of room for 8 of us and the kitchen useful for tea and coffees and croissants the next morning, we didn't want to leave the room it was so lovely. All the staff we came across during our stay were excellent.
I live in South London but I almost wished I was a tourist from abroad, I think if you booked an apartment for a weeks holiday in London it would be perfect, there are excellent transport links and you are a ten minute walk from the Southbank, a very beautiful walk at that, along the river. It would be lovely to return there after a days sightseeing and with the kitchen you could self cater if you just wanted to relax.
We had a meal in a neighbouring pub called the Rose and that was lovely too and very convenient. Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to try out Chino Latino and the bar but walking past they looked very nice, very stylish with good views again.
I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and thank them for making my Dads birthday so great.

Room Tip: Book a river view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mum4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear mum4boys,

We are delighted that you chose our hotel to celebrate your Dad's 80th birthday and that your experience was 'amazing'.
We try our best to add the extra touches such as our welcome amenities and some special surprizes to ensure our guests have an exceptional experience.

We do hope that you will return to celebrate many more special occasions with us.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 435 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2016

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
1  Thank p0c07o
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel has varying forms of apartment. We had a combo that gave us three bedrooms for a family trip in London. Loads of space, great views and located just a little out of the centre.
Currently undergoing some building which might impact in the week but all quiet on weekend.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Oystermouthensis,


Thank you for your recent visit at Plaza on the River.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Nice place. Bit confusing to begin with as there 2 hotels at the same address. Real human from the lovely check in lady. Nice touch to be so friendly. Rooms nice.
One thing I would say is this place is not great for transport links so be aware that if you need to be somewhere early get a black cab otherwise its a 15 min walk to somewhere for train/tube.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SunSeekerwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear SunSeekerwithkids,

Thank you for comments and I am sorry to hear that you had trouble finding our check in area.

It is lovely to hear that the staff looked after you and assisted you.


Please kindly note that Vauxhall is approx. 5 minutes walk, alternately you can just hop on any of the buses stopping in front of our hotel.

We look forward welcoming you and your family back.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The hotel was everything to be expected of a 5 star hotel. Staff are brilliant. Rooms are great. They are adding rooms which I am sure will be fantastic. The newly relocated Chino Latino restaurant is fantastic. The views of the Thames, Big Ben , Houses of Parliament are incredible. And the food is good too!!

Room Tip: Don't forget to switch the door light to red if you don't want pampering!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Nick G,

Thank you for your beautiful feedback and I am so happy to read all the team members, areas and department being mentioned in one comment.

We are also excited to take on the newly added rooms shortly.

We look forward welcoming you back soon!


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#371 of 1,081 in London
5,725 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#198 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $312 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing