We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London gem”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #281 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2015

What a great find!

My son and I are here for some business - but also Wimbledon, Ashes, "time in London" etc etc. The Sumner Hotel has been a wonderful find.

Major London streets (e.g. Oxford) are so busy - yet only 3 streets back, The Sumner is in a quiet yet well equipped neighbourhood. Pubs, food/wine shops, lots of different restaurants are literally within a few minutes walk - and the Marble Arch tube station is less than 5 minutes away.

Hyde Park is a similar distance away - making for lots of wonderful evening walks in the UK soft summer sunshine that continues on toward 10pm.

Apart from morning tea and coffee delivered whenever you ask (and quickly) - there's no room service - but that's about all that is missing (and really who needs it with such a well equipped neighbourhood). There is air conditioning, a fridge, and daily cooked and continental breakfast included as part of the package. The rooms are a good size for this close to the city - and kept spotlessly clean.

Staff couldn't be more helpful, and there's a real atmosphere staying in the 1820's Georgian terrace building. The Georgian feel is preserved - but no amenities are lacking.

The location alone is worth the price - but throw in the ambience, facilities, helpful service etc and you're on a winner.

Only improvement suggestion - arc up the (free) wifi to make it faster and more reliable. It was fine - but could have been better.

This is not a place for the kids - but if you're visiting London on business, or to soak it all up, it's hard to imagine a better hotel in this price range.

Room Tip: Ring and talk with them, rather than book online. Very approachable and keen to be of service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank bruceras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear Bruceras,

Thank you for lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

The team and I are absolutely delighted you and your son enjoyed your stay at The Sumner, the old charm preserved in modern surroundings, our central location and service from the team here.

Please let me know whenever you are planning another trip from Australia, we would be delighted to assist you with your reservation.

With warmest regards,

Mariya Tseluyko
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 132 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2015

A nice small very clean Hotel just round the corner from Marble Arch, all of the staff were friendly, attentive and happy. The Hotel was very secure with electronic card access to all rooms and the front door. The Hotel seemed to have high standards in all areas and which it is capable to maintain. The Hotel has a small lounge area with an assortment of interesting books. The breakfast area is well designed and produces a really varied selection of items in Cereals, breads, fresh fruit, cheeses and meats, cooked produce, yogurts, juices and beverages. With 24 hour room service to provide tea or coffee there's no more reaching for kettles in the middle of the night. We tried it and the service works. Well done the Sumner.
I would recommend to stay her

Room Tip: This is London enjoy the experience 4th floor is good and there are lifts to all levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear Michael W W,

Thank you for your beautiful review of The Sumner Hotel.

The team and I are absolutely delighted you found the hotel secure and comfortable. I will pass your lovely comments to our dedicated housekeeping team. I completely agree with you they are doing great job in keeping this place super clean.
I am very happy you enjoyed variety of our breakfast and I sincerely hope you will come and stay with us again.

With warmest regards from all of us,
Mariya and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

The Sumner is a lovely little boutique hotel in a really convenient location, close to the heart of London and Hyde Park. The room is spacious and the king size bed really comfortable. We stayed in room 109 and could not fault the cleanliness of the room. The room is very quiet once the windows were closed and we could not hear any street noise.
Breakfast is of a good standard for a small hotel. There was a choice of cereals with lots of breads and fruit as well as hot options. The tea or coffee service to the room at any time is great. We were given early access to our room despite arriving two hours early and everything was done to assist us in our jet lagged state. The personal service which makes you feel like an honoured guest is a highlight of this lovely little hotel.
Only negatives are the bathroom is small and the water pressure low in the top floor.
We would definitely come to the Sumner again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

It was not for the first time we stayed here. We are returning customers, always very satisfied. The place has fantastic atmosphere and is amazing with its style etc and the cozy atmosphere and warm staff more particularly Maria who ensures you are comfortable in all aspects. Also it is only short walk to Hyde park and the shopping streets. Thank you for very engaging experience.

Room Tip: Great Location, really comfortable and trendy rooms and Excellent staff and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Piyush S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear Piyush S,

Thank you for your amazing support, it is noted and very much appreciated.

Hopefully we will see you and your family soon again.

With warmest regards,
Mariya Tseluyko
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

I spent six nights in this hotel and it quickly felt like home. Very friendly staff, clean comfortable room and nice breakfast every morning. The wifi was superb and the cozy sitting room off the front hallway made a great perch to do last minute day planning. The generous touches of complimentary bags of crisps and water were so appreciated. Located just a couple of blocks away from Oxford Street and the Marble arch, this hotel was great for all of our London exploring.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Susancyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear Susancyb,

Thank you for taking time to compose such a nice feedback on your recent visit to the Sumner.

The team and I are truly delighted you felt very comfortable staying with us and enjoyed our cosy lounge with complimentary snacks on offer and freshly prepared breakfast in the morning.

Please come and stay with us again whenever your travels bring you back to London. If I can be of any assistance in arranging your future stays please e-mail me directly at mariya@thesumner.com

With warmest regards,
Mariya Tseluyko
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#238 of 1,081 in London
259 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#116 of 1,081 in London
782 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,081 in London
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#416 of 1,081 in London
697 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#313 of 1,081 in London
707 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#243 of 1,081 in London
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $230 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing