We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent doesn't do it justice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #11 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent doesn't do it justice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Haymarket Hotel is just perfect; the door staff and concierge are helpful and knowledgeable, the front of house team, welcoming and friendly, the restaurant team, discreet and efficient, the housekeeping team meticulous in their attention to detail, maintaining a spotless hotel and finally, the management team just superb in how they run the hotel and motivate their team.

This is my number 1 destination in London; I try not to stay anywhere else; it really is just perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEdwards99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    88
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
175
318
55
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is perfectly located for the traveler that wants to be in the center of things. It is in a very touristy part of town, but as soon as you walk into the hotel, you are removed from the hustle and bustle of SOHO / SW1 and you are whisked into a hotel of comfortable elegance. There is a lot of attention to detail at the Haymarket. The first being the staff. They are very attentive to your needs. Making reservations, recommending a new hot spot as well.

Lots of the decor is modern, but one does not get a cold vibe from the place. The sitting room with honor bar is such a nice place to unwind and relax after a day of hitting the streets of London town. I recommend bringing a good book and pouring yourself a well aged scotch.

The underground pool is a very refreshing temperature with awesome lighting. Lots of time empty and left to be splashed around in or to swim laps.

I stayed in a very basic room, but it was more than I needed for being right in the center of things. Nice bathroom with separate tub / shower. Comfy bed and good heating.

I will be staying at the Haymarket again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cugiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We got married at the Haymarket in November because we loved the colour, vibrancy and energy of the hotel. It is ultra-modern, immaculate and beautiful. The reception area has that 'wow' factor as you walk in. The staff are friendly and efficient. We had a couple of cocktails in the Brummus bar and a lovely dinner in the restaurant. It is everything you expect from an expensive, boutique hotel in the centre of London, so if you want to treat yourself, you will not be disappointed - everything here, the atmosphere, the service, the guest rooms, bathrooms (with dressing gown, slippers, TV at end of bath), bar, restaurant and location is amazing!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CClarke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I had our wedding at the Haymarket in August of 2010 and, living in London, we have since visited the hotel on a number of occasions with friends for lunch, afternoon tea or drinks in the bar.

The property is located between Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square, an absolutelly prime location for sightseeing, access throughout London and a great place to be if you're catching a show. The hotel, while retaining a classical exterior facade is extremely modern and chic inside but without taking itself too serious nor being pretentious in any way. The public spaces, restaurant and bar are all beautifully furnished with very quirky decorations and artwork, while the event spaces such as the Library and the Shooting Gallery where we held our wedding ceremony and reception are simply stunning. We also had a number of family and friends staying with us at the hotel for the wedding and all were extremely impressed with the quality of the rooms (especially the soundproofing in what is a very busy part of town!), the quality and friendliness of the service as well as the general feel of the hotel. All the rooms are individually furnished and even the lowest grades of room are a good size for this part of London.

The hotel also benefits from a stunning indoor pool which, although we did not use, would make an excellent spot to relax in after a day's sightseeing.

Overall, this hotel would be a great choice when visiting London, although the thing that really set it appart for us however, was the level of service and the amount of assistance which my wife and I received over the months leading up to our wedding as well as on the day itself. The events coordinator Victoria was fantastic in keeping us on track with everything which needed to be done, while Marco, the events manager on the day worked tirelesly to ensure that everthing ran smoothly and without a hitch! Little touches such as the maids fully re-cleaning my parent's room (which my ushers and I used to get ready in) before my parents arrived even without being asked, are a sign of a superior level of service and attention to detail. Last but certainly not least, a mention must go out to the chefs and waiting staff for the absolute quality of food which was produced - 60 giant portions of on-the-bone steak arrived at the same time for everyone, all warm and perfectly cooked medium rare - this is a feat that many restaurants would struggle to recreate for 6 people let alone 60!!

An absolutely fantastic hotel and although certainly not cheap, if you want a special place to stay in London, you cannot go far wrong with the Haymarket!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

First time we have stayed at this hotel. From the moment we arrived until our departure three days later we enjoyed every minute and were rather sad to leave. We stayed there during the night of the disco mentioned in one of the earlier reviews but we were not aware of it happening-obviously just your luck where your room is situated.

Our room was spacious, more like a suite, and immaculately clean. The bathroom was luxurious, with a massive square shaped shower, as well as a fantastic relaxing bath with a built in large flat TV screen above it.

The swimmimg pool in the basement area was an amazing size for a city centre hotel pool. We swam early in the morning so had it totally to ourselves and were served hot tea and mince pies at the side of the pool afterwards. However one day the pool was closed for a private function, which was a bit disappointing.

The service was extremely friendly, not pretentious in the least, with everyone making you feel a bit special for staying there. Only one minor quibble was with an over zealous room maid who disposed of the tray of unfinished chocolate covered strawberries we had not eaten the previous evening.

The adjoining bar and restaurant was also of a good standard too. Quiet on occasion, it burst into life after the theatre next door empties. Tasty bar snacks such as Italian antipasti platters are served all night.

Mention must also be made of the location, two minutes from Trafalgar square, which looked especially beautiful at Christmas time.

We hope to stay at the Haymarket hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one far removed from the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $585 - $2,910
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing