We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Ranked #71 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 10 August 2017

we stayed in this hotel on June 3-6, 2017. we booked a room with a photo that showed two single beds that were joined together and one bunk bed. i traveled with my husband and our 4yr old daughter who doesnt sleep by herself whenever we are at a hotel. when we were given a room, i was disappointed to see two separately placed single beds and one bunk bed i asked for a room that was shown at the time of booking but was informed that they do not have any more available room like that. also, the room was warm. so i looked for the remote control of the aircon but was shocked when the lady at the reception told us that all the aircon of all the rooms were centralized and cannot be adjusted like in a regular hotel. there is also no complimentary water or glass or toiletries (except towels). the room was less than basic! my daughter ended up sleeping in the single bed which was too small for another person to sleep in. i so pity her coz she wanted to sleep beside me. she would usually sleep by herself in our own home but not in a strange place. worst, the room had very poor wall acoustics. you can perfectly hear every closing and opening of the doors of your neighbor rooms. we can even perfectly hear the people talking in the other room. some reviews say that this place is short walk from the Gloucester Road station which is not true esp if you are traveling with kids. The Museum of Natural History located just in front of the hotel doesnt even make it worth staying at. This place is misleading. It is not a hotel. it is a mere place for backpackers. I certainly regretted booking this hotel. for the same price, we could have booked a better hotel.

Room Tip: Just dont stay here. Find another hotel worth your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crushedviolet18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback. The MEININGER chain is developed for the urban traveller with basic needs. We offer rooms for an affordable price, with all necessities for a comfortable stay, but without a lot of extra services. The room layouts are all a bit different. The photos online also show rooms with the single beds apart. I understand the room you saw online was already booked out, however the two single beds in your room can be pushed together. All room aircons are controled from the reception desk. Our properties accommodate both dormitories and private rooms. Therefore we attract different type of guests, such as groups, families and backpackers. The Hostel is a short walk from Gloucesterr road station. We can imagine that not everyone likes our concept and we do find it unfortunate to read that we were not able to meet up to your expectations.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms and beds are spacious, light, not cramped or overcrowded. Everything feels new and tidy. My room had 2 bathrooms for 10 beds and both were great, with toilets and showers, which also had shower gel and hairdryers, and tissues. There is a drinking water tap in the hallway - very convenient! You can actually spend time in these rooms.

Very good value for the price. Right next to Victoria & Albert museum, brilliant location. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sunkissed1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. Nothing pleases us more than hearing that a guest has enjoyed their stay. We are glad that you were happy with so many aspects of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This is a dorm-style hotel. You can book a dorm-bed, or rooms. We were there as a 4-people family and I had booked a 5-people room, but actually got a 6-beds-room. It was clean, but beds were rather small. Breakfast is not worth it though. And cleaning personel came in to take the trash out, but did not clean anything, nor did they give us new towels - which was ok since we could use them again. I would have also liked a safe in the room which was not provided.
Check-in starts at 14, and when we came at 14:30 there was a shift change which made everybody wait. I think, when you have check-in starting at 2pm, your shift change should be before that. Location was good for us, central. For 600€ for 3 nights in London, this was the best option - although I already booked in December!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank difelidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Thank you for choosing the MEININGER Hotel. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay and have felt thoroughly “at home”. Your remarks and suggestions are more than welcome and allow us to introduce changes, wherever necessary. Check in time is from 3pm and not 2pm, which is why the shift change happens at 2:30pm. We look forwarding to seeing you again soon in london.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Benefits from being a part of a chain. A star awarded solely for its incredible location. Lots of families, some business people, and school trips. very safe, and great rate. Since you're going to be spending most of your time in the city anyways, I don't know why you'd stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: A room with 4 beds is very serviceable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for the great comments! We are thrilled to get such an awesome rating and so pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Very central location, close to museums, Hyde Park, Kensington Palace etc. Always clean, very friendly staff. Nice areas to just relax and watch the world go by! There is a lift, so no killing yourself trying to carry your suitcase upstairs!

Room Tip: Choose gender specific rooms as they are usually 4 per room. Just don't opt for the basic dorms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Thank you so much for your awesome review!
We are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that you liked the facilities and services we offer. I will let our staff members know that you appreciated their help. We hope to see you again soon in London.

Cheers
The Meininger London Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 928 in London
589 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 928 in London
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#20 of 928 in London
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Address: Baden-Powell House 65-67 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $53 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel is located centrally and even the Queen has visited it. Starting in South Kensington near Hyde Park it's easy to explore this European metropolis. And if you're staying in: there is a large terrace on the first floor for table tennis tournaments. Gorgeous! Lobby, hotel bar and bistro, a gaming area and seminar rooms - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. Welcome to London! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing