We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning stay & perfect for couples.”
Review of Sunborn London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunborn London
Ranked #169 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Visited as a Christmas present, greeted professionally by the front desk. Decor in the lobby is a bit 70's but still very lovely and clean. Rooms were the same, very clean and luxurious. Stunning view from our balcony helped by lovely weather.

Enjoyed prosecco in the VIP lounge with stunning views of the 02 and Canary Wharf as the sunset. To our embarrassment we accidentally smashed a glass whilst enjoying the view and the clear up was no problem at all.

Buffet style breakfast was really tasty and plenty of choice.

Had drinks in the bar after dinner, £28 for two drinks which was slightly on the pricey side and neither of us really enjoyed the cocktails, but that was down to personal preference.

Had such a nice time we didn't want to leave! Only gave 4 stars for sleep quality due to the air con going from 19c to 24c during the night, might have been our error though.

Room Tip: Ask for river side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sammi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 654 of 2,967 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

While there's no question it's a beautiful boat, great location (we were at Excel during the day), and the reviews are very complimentary, due to the price point I just expected more, particularly in the service

Had it beef half the price I'd have given them 5 stars be here and now paying what I did I wasn't blown away

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Jay A,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with other travellers.

We are sorry to read that you were not blown away however happy to read you find our Yacht beautiful and in a great location.

We would like to inform you are prices reflect the novelty of the Yacht and are in line other 4 star properties in London.

We have forwarded your comments to our team on board, regarding the services to improve on the services we strive to provide.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future, please contact me directly on maryiam.tahir@sunbornlondon.com for any further assistance.

Best Regards,

Maryiam Tahir
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Hubby and I had an evening meal and the whole experience was a delight. The yacht is fabulous with a winding stairway which is awesome. The restaurant is on the upper deck and the view across the Docklands was beautiful. The staff were very attentive and the food was just amazing. It was a highlight experience.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank TwoHappyTravellers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Visited the hotel for a night with my boyfriend and it was so lovely. The staff were very friendly, the room was beautiful and spacious, the view from the room was lovely...the breakfast buffet was amazing as it had great variety!! All in all I'd say our experience was Amazing!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phoebed18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We stayed at the hotel for two nights when attending the Brit Awards at the O2. Booked a standard suite, but upgraded to an executive suite with a balcony, which allows you to get some fresh air in. No problem, and just 60 pounds extra per night. Breakfast is then included, which it was not in the standard suite price. So actual price difference was just 20 pounds! Breakfast is ok - not like we are used to in Scandinavia, but I guess OK for UK standard. Should fill up much more with breakfast buns - the standard toast loaf is not 5* standard....We tried the restaurant one night, and the food was very good. One of the most tender meats I have had in a restaurant. Good wine list, but the staff are not very attentive when serving. You always make sure the guests have wine in the glass BEFORE you serve the food. And you just don´t assume the guests do not want another bottle even though not all of the people around the table of 14 have had a top up..... We had to ask for this. Lack of skills. Room service was disastrous! Ordered a pizza when we got back from the concert. It took 45-50 min before the showed up at our room at 2 am., and the pizza was a Dr.Oetker which had barely been in the oven, with a small part of a salad leaf on each bite! It said rocket salad on the menu, but this was "a part of a leaf of a plain salad"! How much does rocket salad cost in the UK?.... Just not good enough for a hotel of this standard. Otherwise, nice sized suites, and even bathroom - considered on a boat. Molton Browns toiletries is never wrong! But not suitable for a city/shopping break! We spent like 1 hour in a car just to get to Piccadilly Circus - and same back - two days in a row.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a water view! And ask for an upgrade on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank monaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear monaos,

Thank you for taking for taking your time in sharing your experience with other travellers and staying with us at the Sunborn London Hotel.

We are sorry to read the service was not as expected whilst dining in our restaurant as well as the room service standards.

Due to high demand during room service we experienced a delay, however we have forwarded your feedback to both our Food and Beverage Manager and also our Executive Head Chef to improve on the services we strive to provide.

Our location has easy access to the city centre via public transport such as Emirate Cable cars, River Taxis, DLR and more.

We are happy to hear you took advantage of the upgrade from our Classic room to our Executive room which included breakfast and enjoyed the fresh air from the balcony, and found our bathrooms of a nice size.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, please feel free to contact me directly on maryiam.tahir@sunbornlondon.com for any further assistance.

Best Regards,

Maryiam Tahir
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#266 of 1,081 in London
2,386 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#285 of 1,081 in London
1,941 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#141 of 1,081 in London
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunborn London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunborn London

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1XL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $175 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunborn London 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunborn London is located at the western end of the Royal Victoria Dock overlooking the Docklands, Canary Wharf O2 Arena, London City Airport, and the ExCel where one can enjoy the panoramic views of their private settings. Travelling on the DLR towards Beckton alighting from Custom House Excel DLR station, it is a 3-5 minute walk which is a short distance from the main entrance of the ExCel London. For a more scenic journey one can enjoy taking the Emirates Cable Car journey from the North Greenwich O2 Arena to the Royal Victoria Dock, where you can enjoy a walk along the pier t taking in what the local area has to offer whilst visiting Sunborn London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunborn London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing