We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant never disappoints ”

The Colony Grill Room
Ranked #1,012 of 24,837 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I love this restaurant My wife particularly enjoys The Colony Grill
The food is lovely and the service excellent
I definitely recommend The Colony Grill

Thank ADR1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeaumontHotel, Food and Beverage Operations Manager at The Colony Grill Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear ADR1958,

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit at The Colony Grill.

We are delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your meal. Your kind words about the food and service will be definitely shared with the teams, as it is a great reward for them.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Emmanuel Guinard
Food and Beverage Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Good service, good atmosphere and a comfortable setting. The steak tartare prepared tableside was really good. So is the mac and cheese. But the buttermilk fried chicken was too salty and came with a horrible remoulade. The chicken pot pie was dried to the point of being glued up with no sauce. The ice cream sundae was really good. It is a convenient location and the menu is varied but it is not really the place for high culinary expectations.

Thank Splendid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeaumontHotel, Food and Beverage Operations Manager at The Colony Grill Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Splendid C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit at The Colony Grill.

We are pleased to read your positive comments on the service and cuisine, on the other hand we are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the buttermilk fried chicken and the chicken pot pie.

We have taken your feedback in consideration and we will certainly discuss your points with our Head Chef.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Emmanuel Guinard
Food and Bevarage Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

I had read the reviews about this place and being a resident in Marylebone was excited to see someone promising so much. We are inundated presently with steak and burger restaurants popping up and promising the world and then, sadly, un-delivering. Well suprise, suprise!!!! Another one. Quite possibly one of the worst. Staff didn't have clue about the menu, what the dry and wet aged was, what breed the cows were for the exponentially expensive USDA prime was, or even what breed and the age of the mince for the burger was. As this was the case i brushed past the, Grill speciality, and headed for the popcorn chicken. Its better at KFC. My friend ordered the Hot Dog, Its better on any New York corner, or Chicago Street corner for that fact. Chips were frozen and fried to within an inch of their lives and the kitchen must have been on cut backs because nothing was seasoned. Well, salt is expensive and the place was completely dead! Although, trying to get something to eat afterwards, McDonalds had a queue 10 deep. How long before a hotel bothers to do a decent meal and stop paying for press, you have the greatest garden of England for produce and the best beef producers wanting to supply. Train staff and produce something better than a burger bar of old and something you and the staff can be proud of.

In short, visit McDonalds, KFC if you are really stuck

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mattgregsonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeaumontHotel, Food and Beverage Operations Manager at The Colony Grill Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

“Dear Mattgregsonjones,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit at The Beaumont.

I’m really sorry that we didn’t not meet your expectations on that occasion in terms of service and cuisine.

I was disappointed and surprised to read your comments. We will discuss your feedback on the cuisine with our Head Chef. Regarding the products knowledge, our teams are thoroughly trained, however rest ensured that we will brief the teams and provide extra training.

If you wish to discuss your visit further, you can contact me at emmanuel.guinard@thebeaumont.com”

Kind regards

Emmanuel Guinard
Food and Beverage Operations Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

I have eaten here on several occasions and haven’t been disappointed. Every couple of months I go out with a group of friends and we each select somewhere to book.
It’s always risky recommending somewhere but the excellent service we received really helped us have a lovely evening. The food we had was very good - I’m a sucker for the chicken pot pie - which was delicious. There are nice touches like the steak tartare prepared at the table and the ice cream sundaes excellent. Thank you.

Thank Linda and John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeaumontHotel, Food and Beverage Operations Manager at The Colony Grill Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Linda and John H,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review following your visit at The Colony Grill.

It is a pleasure to read your kind words about the service and cuisine. Our Head Chef Christian Turner will be delighted to know that you found the Chicken pot pie delicious.

We hope to have the chance to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Emmanuel Guinard
Food and Beverage Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Nice food. A bit pretentious and rather overly produced. Food and service very efficient and friendly.

Thank 69Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeaumontHotel, Food and Beverage Operations Manager at The Colony Grill Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear 69Armstrong,

We'd like to thank you for writing a review following your recent visit at The Colony Grill.

We are glad to read your positive comments about food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Emmanuel Guinard
Food and Beverage Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colony Grill Room also viewed

 

Been to The Colony Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing